HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 04, 2012, 06:13 PM
Still flying a desk..
ChilternFlyer's Avatar
United Kingdom, High Wycombe
Joined Sep 2001
2,064 Posts
Best ESC ??

Hi guys, what are the safest ESC's to buy right now?

I'm ordering some for 2 projects and not sure what to get (my last batch of Turnigy's have the Si labs chip )
Now I'm reading things like the HK SS series are locked..

What's a safe bet (10a and 18A ESC's requred) from either HK or RCTimer??
ChilternFlyer is online now Find More Posts by ChilternFlyer
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 04, 2012, 06:21 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
to the two posts above: how do you manage to find this thread, but at the same time fail to read more than 1 page of it and order garbage.

your usual plush 25s? maybe you don't need this thread after all?
the guy asking recommended esc - try reading the thread. hk f10,20,30,40a stuff has been linked like 9000 times....
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 04, 2012, 06:25 PM
Registered User
Xnaron's Avatar
Joined Feb 2003
3,759 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChilternFlyer View Post
Hi guys, what are the safest ESC's to buy right now?

I'm ordering some for 2 projects and not sure what to get (my last batch of Turnigy's have the Si labs chip )
Now I'm reading things like the HK SS series are locked..

What's a safe bet (10a and 18A ESC's requred) from either HK or RCTimer??
I just ordered a bunch of f-30a's from Hobbyking. I flashed 6 of them. These are 30a esc's and they have the coveted external oscillator.
Xnaron is offline Find More Posts by Xnaron
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 04, 2012, 06:38 PM
hacker
Canada, BC, North Vancouver
Joined Dec 2010
936 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by e_lm_70 View Post
This ESC sometime under full load, especially with fresh battery, was resetting ... not nice to get a ESC reset while flying, but at leas BEC was kept alive
...
What I don't understand are the 3 chip with 8 pin each, S2003 032P I@R ... maybe some "amplifier" for control the N-FET ?
These are the FET driver chips I was talking about in my previous post. On boards with them, the pins from the AVR are often not inverted, so you don't need an _nfet variant. However, you should check the datasheet and make sure there is no line above the "LIN" and "HIN" pins; if there is, those lines are inverted:

http://www.irf.com/product-info/data...irs2003pbf.pdf

If that's really an IRS2003 FET driver, you can see there is a line above LIN, which immediately excludes most .inc files as possible matches for that board, as that is fairly uncommon. This means that the INIT_P lines would need to have the low side (called "N" in my tree) FETs initialized to HIGH (on) rather low (off), in order turn the FETs off. grep can tell us potential targets for this board:

> grep INIT_ *.inc | grep AnFET
dlu40a.inc:.equ INIT_PD = (1<<AnFET)+(1<<BnFET)+(1<<CnFET)+(1<<rcp_in)
tp_nfet.inc:.equ INIT_PB = (1<<AnFET)+(1<<BnFET)+(1<<CnFET)

It might be tp_nfet.inc, but check the pin arrangements. If it is actually resetting, I kind of doubt that the firmware is really that buggy. Does it happen right near full throttle? The FET drivers draw the most power there and that is the most likely point where the whole circuit would draw too much power from the logic voltage regulator.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Truglodite View Post
Do all the programmable HK-SSxx-HW (aka HK-HWxxA) escs have the same pinouts as labeled in this pic?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Truglodite View Post
My understanding is I first should hook up an esc in question to my rx/motor/lipo, then connect RESET to GND while the motor is running, and see what happens. If it keeps running, hooray the esc is flashable. If it stops, oh well, it still works just can't be flashed... correct?
Yeah, but be careful if you power it from a LiPo...a current-limited power supply is better. In particular, stock firmware on boards with external oscillators (yours doesn't have one) can easily lock up if you touch the oscillator, and may leave the FETs on. tgy releases since enabling the watchdog should protect against this, but most stock code doesn't.

Anyway, you can start the motor at a low speed to make it more obvious, but if you don't, you can still just wait for the start-up beeps again after briefly connecting the reset pin to ground. When they set the RSTDISBL fuse, it just ignores all input on the pin.
simonk is offline Find More Posts by simonk
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 04, 2012, 09:15 PM
Registered Aircraft Offender
Truglodite's Avatar
Carmichael, CA
Joined Feb 2007
3,532 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonk View Post
Yeah, but be careful if you power it from a LiPo...a current-limited power supply is better. In particular, stock firmware on boards with external oscillators (yours doesn't have one) can easily lock up if you touch the oscillator, and may leave the FETs on. tgy releases since enabling the watchdog should protect against this, but most stock code doesn't.

Anyway, you can start the motor at a low speed to make it more obvious, but if you don't, you can still just wait for the start-up beeps again after briefly connecting the reset pin to ground. When they set the RSTDISBL fuse, it just ignores all input on the pin.
Thanks Simon!

It appears I misread your initial post and reversed the diagnosis. The confusion is my fault, so to set the record straight... to verify if an esc has "locked firmware", I hook up to limited power (RX pack), briefly ground the reset pin, and either...

A) Nothing happens = esc cannot be flashed

or

B) The esc "reboots" = esc can be flashed

Simple enough... obviously a motor needs to be attached to hear the reset beeps. I'll report back if my batch of ss30-hw's are "locked" or not as soon as they arrive.

Thanks again,
Kev
Truglodite is offline Find More Posts by Truglodite
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2012, 02:28 AM
Registered User
galaxy1's Avatar
Italy
Joined Oct 2005
228 Posts
DIFFERENCE YEP HobbyKing VS HiModel...

I have a question:
Someone can tell me what is the difference between these 2 ESC?
top center I circled in red component. it is an optocoupler P281. placed there, what is it? what is its purpose?


Shot at 2012-07-04
galaxy1 is offline Find More Posts by galaxy1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2012, 02:41 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Probably... optoisolation... Probably means input PWM needs to be inverted, too.
If you don't care, you should be able to trash the opto circuit and wire PWM in directly to INT0 without much issues. Opto devices also cannot be firmware upgraded via USB linker.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 05, 2012, 04:55 AM
Registered User
Slovenia, Ljubljana
Joined Sep 2011
1,538 Posts
Hi. I have a question. Maybe this was answered before but I don't have time to read all 295 pages .

So I have HobbyWing SkyWalker 20A ESC's and I want to know if I can flash them with SimonK FW and what file must I use. I'm using them on HobbyKing KK V2.1 board.

Thank you.
er9xuser is offline Find More Posts by er9xuser
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2012, 05:06 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2010
131 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonk View Post
Hello! This is one of the harder motors to drive -- search this thread for MT-3506. You can try bs_nfet.hex, but you may have better luck with the wii-esc Mystery_nFET build (attached to this thread). I often use this configuration for testing since the motor is so smooth and has nice properties otherwise, but the timing tracking is difficult under heavy acceleration. Is this when you saw the issue with the stock firmware? Did RCTigerMotor point you here?
@Simon, thanks for the reply.

Will have a go with the wii-esc code and see what happens.

Had a look at the wii-esc site - is it simply a case of downloading the .cmd file and flashing via avrstudio, or are there any other steps to take or fuse values i need to set?

I noticed the issues using the MT-3506 motors (with flyfun 30A esc's) on both my Naza and WKM quad builds.

If i have the quad sitting in a nice stable hover, then flick the right stick/aileron i can hear one of the motors make a 'cogging sound' (anyone who has built an RC rock crawler will know the sound i mean).

The quad will then gently pitch over and crash.

If i fly this set-up in a sedate way it's fine, but as soon as any very quick inputs or attitude adjustments are made, there are issues.

Tiger motor didn't respond to my questions, found this thread via multirotor forum.
plingboot is offline Find More Posts by plingboot
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2012, 05:08 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
8 Posts
i am building a quadcopter from scratch and one of my ESC's burnt out, i replaced it with a new of a different brand as the same was not avail able and now one motor spins faster than the rest is it possible to fix this my retiming my ESC?
evolutionizer is offline Find More Posts by evolutionizer
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2012, 05:21 AM
Team WarpSquad
Japan, Tokyo
Joined Jun 2011
2,996 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by evolutionizer View Post
i am building a quadcopter from scratch and one of my ESC's burnt out, i replaced it with a new of a different brand as the same was not avail able and now one motor spins faster than the rest is it possible to fix this my retiming my ESC?
I'd not risk it. For $50 you can have a set of HK F-30A which are flashable and work pretty well for most things. One of the major flaws with multirotors is that symmetry is very critical for consistent behaviour and predictable flight.
I assume you calibrated all 4 together or using same method at least?

Build yourself a tricopter or an Osprey with the others.

If you go with the Osprey idea don't fly it near Japan ... you could ruin their reputation for reliability. Though yours would be totally safe I'm sure.
thwaitm is offline Find More Posts by thwaitm
Last edited by thwaitm; Jul 05, 2012 at 06:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2012, 06:18 AM
Registered User
Austria
Joined Jan 2004
7,999 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonk View Post
These are the FET driver chips I was talking about in my previous post. On boards with them, the pins from the AVR are often not inverted, so you don't need an _nfet variant. However, you should check the datasheet and make sure there is no line above the "LIN" and "HIN" pins; if there is, those lines are inverted:

http://www.irf.com/product-info/data...irs2003pbf.pdf

If that's really an IRS2003 FET driver, you can see there is a line above LIN, which immediately excludes most .inc files as possible matches for that board, as that is fairly uncommon. This means that the INIT_P lines would need to have the low side (called "N" in my tree) FETs initialized to HIGH (on) rather low (off), in order turn the FETs off. grep can tell us potential targets for this board:

> grep INIT_ *.inc | grep AnFET
dlu40a.inc:.equ INIT_PD = (1<<AnFET)+(1<<BnFET)+(1<<CnFET)+(1<<rcp_in)
tp_nfet.inc:.equ INIT_PB = (1<<AnFET)+(1<<BnFET)+(1<<CnFET)

It might be tp_nfet.inc, but check the pin arrangements. If it is actually resetting, I kind of doubt that the firmware is really that buggy. Does it happen right near full throttle? The FET drivers draw the most power there and that is the most likely point where the whole circuit would draw too much power from the logic voltage regulator.
Reading your post is like studying a good microelectronic book

Thanks.

Yes, I found out that the S2003 are controlling the N-Fet ... for each of the 3 chip, one output for to 2 FET (+Vcc), and the other output got the other 2 FET (GND) for the same phase.

About the reset issue ... is see there are 3 big 8050 chip for power the external BEC, and it is looking a little 8050 used for internal CPU power.

But, this will not explain the reset ... how it is possible that this happen only at full power with fully charged battery ? it does not happen in the middle of the fly even if at full power ?
My suspect was always a wrongly detect low voltage cut ... anyhow ... eventually using a bigger capacitor in the power line of the CPU, should prevent this reset, assuming your theory ...

Anyhow ...I'm going to get the pin used for control the 3 phase (6 pins I need to find)

It will be nice to rescue a abandon ESC, and on the same time , understand more of this interesting world.

Tchuss

e_lm_70

ps: I will try to download the firmware before mess with it
e_lm_70 is offline Find More Posts by e_lm_70
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2012, 07:15 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,574 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by er9xuser View Post
Hi. I have a question. Maybe this was answered before but I don't have time to read all 295 pages .

So I have HobbyWing SkyWalker 20A ESC's and I want to know if I can flash them with SimonK FW and what file must I use. I'm using them on HobbyKing KK V2.1 board.

Thank you.
As far as I know are they Silab based and not flashable with SimonK firmware.
LazyZero is offline Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2012, 07:42 AM
Registered User
Slovenia, Ljubljana
Joined Sep 2011
1,538 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyZero View Post
As far as I know are they Silab based and not flashable with SimonK firmware.
Thx. Do you maybe know when will Silab based ESC get FW?
er9xuser is offline Find More Posts by er9xuser
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2012, 08:16 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Never. tHere's no reason to buy silabs based stuff, better / cheaper alternatives exist.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 03:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 10:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 10:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 03:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 03:31 PM