Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 25, 2012, 04:02 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
25 Posts
Well thats good news
Fuwubuman is offline Find More Posts by Fuwubuman
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 25, 2012, 05:01 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomSn0w View Post
Uranium I will add it for you
The ESC was a dead end. The pads were not connected to the programming pins (but to the mosfet gate drivers, probably to test the power stage). The reset pin is hard tied to VCC (and under the chip, dang) so programming without trashing it is not possible.

This is a major bummer as the default software on the atmega is absolute sh*t. The motors often don't start and when they start it often loses timing blowing the fuse as it runs dc through one winding.
Uranium is offline Find More Posts by Uranium
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2012, 05:30 PM
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Feb 2007
14,404 Posts
Hi U,
Yikes! Please post a link to those so I can put them on the ESC poor performer notrecommeded list in the Quadrocopter and Tricopter Mega Link Index
Cheers,
Jim

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium View Post
The ESC was a dead end. The pads were not connected to the programming pins (but to the mosfet gate drivers, probably to test the power stage). The reset pin is hard tied to VCC (and under the chip, dang) so programming without trashing it is not possible.

This is a major bummer as the default software on the atmega is absolute sh*t. The motors often don't start and when they start it often loses timing blowing the fuse as it runs dc through one winding.
jesolins is offline Find More Posts by jesolins
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2012, 07:52 PM
hacker
Canada, BC, North Vancouver
Joined Dec 2010
934 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium View Post
The ESC was a dead end. The pads were not connected to the programming pins (but to the mosfet gate drivers, probably to test the power stage). The reset pin is hard tied to VCC (and under the chip, dang) so programming without trashing it is not possible.

This is a major bummer as the default software on the atmega is absolute sh*t. The motors often don't start and when they start it often loses timing blowing the fuse as it runs dc through one winding.
The RCTimer 50A is like this, too, but the trace is not under the chip. Maybe you could tie the output to the reset pin and then it would burn off the trace for you.
simonk is offline Find More Posts by simonk
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2012, 09:25 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,612 Posts
Can someone tell me if one of these (Pomona PLCC Quad Clip Test Adapter, 32-Pin) will work for flashing ESCs? I know it is expensive.


http://www.hmcelectronics.com/produc...googleshopping
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2012, 11:25 AM
Registered User
Solihull, England
Joined Jun 2004
953 Posts
I have successfully flashed two (out of two) with the tp.hex firmware.

Peter
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
On first look they look the same as mine.

I ended up never flashing them, but if you go ahead and works please share what version you used.
Thanks.
Peter Seddon is offline Find More Posts by Peter Seddon
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2012, 02:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
5 Posts
Brushless controller

....
CATA2003 is offline Find More Posts by CATA2003
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2012, 02:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
5 Posts
......interesting
CATA2003 is offline Find More Posts by CATA2003
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2012, 02:36 PM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
meow?
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 26, 2012, 04:12 PM
Registered User
France
Joined Nov 2003
278 Posts
Hi Simonk,
Which version of your firmware would you recommend to flash this ESC (Turnigy TY-P8) ?
Thanks
obor is offline Find More Posts by obor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2012, 06:08 PM
hacker
Canada, BC, North Vancouver
Joined Dec 2010
934 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by obor View Post
Hi Simonk,
Which version of your firmware would you recommend to flash this ESC (Turnigy TY-P8) ?
Thanks
I haven't tested it myself and HK dropped it from my order, but if it's the TY-P1 (not sure what TY-P8 is), it should be tp_nfet.hex, as per https://github.com/sim-/tgy/blob/master/README.md.
simonk is offline Find More Posts by simonk
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 02:43 AM
Registered User
France
Joined Nov 2003
278 Posts
Thanks Simonk. oh yes, I meant TY-P1 and not TY-P8... So I'll pick the last git version and flash. I have 10 to burn and see how it goes.

I saw on your readme page an interesting comment: " This doesn't yet check temperature or battery voltage. This is not desired on multi-rotor platforms; however, people still want to use this on planes, cars, boats, etc., so I suppose I'll add it."

That's true, on multikopter we don't want the ESC to cut when overheat. However, it could be cool to provide the temperature information on a dedicated wire (when available).
obor is offline Find More Posts by obor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 03:28 AM
USA Retired
Brooksville Florida
Joined Jan 2003
252 Posts
Maytech 30A AKA ZTWs

Hello Simonk,
Which version of your firmware would you recommend to flash this ESC..?

And how do I go about reading and saving the stock SW/FW..?

Thanks

Larry
wwldo is offline Find More Posts by wwldo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 03:41 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
i'd guess bs_nfet, that almost looks like 20A blueseries.
You can't have original firmware, its usually locked.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 27, 2012, 04:25 AM
USA Retired
Brooksville Florida
Joined Jan 2003
252 Posts
timecop:

It's A 30A E Series with International Rectifier Co. n-FETs.

Also it has ZTW printed on the circuit board.

Do I use the round dots/pads for flashing...?

I looked for similar in the data base but no joy...!

Larry
wwldo is offline Find More Posts by wwldo
Last edited by wwldo; Jan 27, 2012 at 04:26 AM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM