HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 13, 2012, 03:21 PM
Registered User
Mitchie's Avatar
Canada, QC, Gatineau
Joined Jan 2011
1,969 Posts
Gary,
What size 16D is that. I've been trying to interpret their site, but I'm afraid I'll order something wrong. Do I use the shaft that is bolted to the motor or does it get removed? I measured it at 10mm, would that be the hub size I need? If you could give me the part numbers you used, it would sure save me some trouble.
Thanks
Mitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandancer View Post
Good points Jack. Ramoser has been doing that for sometime now.

For those interested, I just U/L some pics of their VarioProp 16D on the "P-47 Jug: VarioPROP" pg.

I have also sent some relative info to FMS as well.


Gary

Mitchie is online now Find More Posts by Mitchie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 13, 2012, 05:00 PM
Registered User
Mitchie's Avatar
Canada, QC, Gatineau
Joined Jan 2011
1,969 Posts
One other question, will fms be replacing hubs purchased as spares? I have two spare hubs that I'd like replaced.
Mitchie is online now Find More Posts by Mitchie
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 05:33 PM
Shameful Warbirdaholic.
Aros's Avatar
Maple Valley, WA
Joined Apr 2006
8,407 Posts
Check with the distributor you bought them from. Hopefully they will.
Aros is offline Find More Posts by Aros
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 13, 2012, 05:43 PM
Registered User
Mitchie's Avatar
Canada, QC, Gatineau
Joined Jan 2011
1,969 Posts
So far, Raymond has come through every time, so I sent off an email
Mitchie is online now Find More Posts by Mitchie
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 05:44 PM
Shameful Warbirdaholic.
Aros's Avatar
Maple Valley, WA
Joined Apr 2006
8,407 Posts
You're in good hands!
Aros is offline Find More Posts by Aros
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 13, 2012, 08:12 PM
"Auntie Samantha"
Sandancer's Avatar
USA, MO, Clever
Joined Dec 2009
4,742 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchie View Post
Gary,
What size 16D is that. I've been trying to interpret their site, but I'm afraid I'll order something wrong. Do I use the shaft that is bolted to the motor or does it get removed? I measured it at 10mm, would that be the hub size I need? If you could give me the part numbers you used, it would sure save me some trouble.
Thanks
Mitch
Heya Mitch,

For this plane you will need the 16D 4-blade hub w/12mm prop shaft hole #41216. For a 10mm prop shaft you have 2 options, either the 10mm Spinner Nut #16100 or the 10mm Steel Collet #1610.

When I sent Christian the specs for the 1700 P-51 w/270kv motor earlier this year, his recommendations were either the 16.6" blades #422-16, or the 17.2" blades #437-16. I got the 17.2" blades initially, but I have a set of the 16.6" blades on order as well.

I hope this helps you out?

Gary
Sandancer is offline Find More Posts by Sandancer
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 13, 2012, 09:06 PM
Registered User
Mitchie's Avatar
Canada, QC, Gatineau
Joined Jan 2011
1,969 Posts
Thanks Gary,
I was looking at the 18.6" and wondering if they'd be good with the 300kv. I heard that the 17" that is on the P-47 was a little small scale wise. I don't know if the motor/esc combination could take it. I have a 100 amp esc that I could throw at it
Mitchie is online now Find More Posts by Mitchie
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 03:58 PM
"Auntie Samantha"
Sandancer's Avatar
USA, MO, Clever
Joined Dec 2009
4,742 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchie View Post
Thanks Gary,
I was looking at the 18.6" and wondering if they'd be good with the 300kv. I heard that the 17" that is on the P-47 was a little small scale wise. I don't know if the motor/esc combination could take it. I have a 100 amp esc that I could throw at it
If you're wanting a scale look then the 22.6" blades will look better, but if your wanting an efficient set-up, flight times, less load on the motor/ESC etc. then the 16.6" or 17.2" would be the max.

Here is the response I got from Christian:

Note:
When you turn this 4-blade, 16.6" and a adjusted pitch of 14"
with about 5000 1/min you would get a static trust of 40N (~4kg)
by a needed power of ca. 950W. On 5S-LiPo this meand a current of
53A. The 17,2" would deliver a little more static trust, by a need
of the same Amps.


Gary
Sandancer is offline Find More Posts by Sandancer
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 14, 2012, 05:40 PM
Registered User
Mitchie's Avatar
Canada, QC, Gatineau
Joined Jan 2011
1,969 Posts
Good info, Thanks
Mitchie is online now Find More Posts by Mitchie
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 06:05 PM
"Auntie Samantha"
Sandancer's Avatar
USA, MO, Clever
Joined Dec 2009
4,742 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchie View Post
Good info, Thanks
You're welcome!

Gary
Sandancer is offline Find More Posts by Sandancer
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 14, 2012, 08:55 PM
Ldm
Registered User
Ldm's Avatar
United States, PA, Conestoga
Joined Jun 2006
8,515 Posts
I know this from my days in fuel birds but , I know this is like saying a bad word lol, but ....
until they get this fixed ........ if you try a good two blade you will be amazed at the power pick up !!. I know you guys know this , so no ill will just saying if you want to get in the air before they fix the prop problem .
Also 3 and 4 blade solid prop options are available from Troy Build models and Cheif aircraft , again just trying to help !
Ldm is online now Find More Posts by Ldm
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 02:51 PM
Registered User
eroeder's Avatar
United States, TX, Frisco
Joined Jan 2004
1,001 Posts
What would be a 3 blade vario prop option?
eroeder is offline Find More Posts by eroeder
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 03:47 PM
Field of Dreams Flyer
Mikemynameis's Avatar
San Pedro,Ca
Joined Sep 2004
9,361 Posts
http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/items/BP1414-4BY.html
Mikemynameis is offline Find More Posts by Mikemynameis
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 03:48 PM
Field of Dreams Flyer
Mikemynameis's Avatar
San Pedro,Ca
Joined Sep 2004
9,361 Posts
http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/categ...ropellers.html
Mikemynameis is offline Find More Posts by Mikemynameis
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 12:07 PM
"Auntie Samantha"
Sandancer's Avatar
USA, MO, Clever
Joined Dec 2009
4,742 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eroeder View Post
What would be a 3 blade vario prop option?
3-Blade 12C on the 1400 Corsair. Ramoser also has (3) 16D 3-blade hubs w/8-12mm adapter holes available as well.

Gary

Sandancer is offline Find More Posts by Sandancer
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product FMS North American P-51 D Mustang 1700mm (67 inches!!!) Beltpilot Electric Warbirds 9681 Yesterday 05:31 PM
New Product FMS P-47 1700mm wingspan!!! HLC SHOP Electric Warbirds 2507 Dec 20, 2014 04:47 PM
Wanted Needed Airfield/FMS F4U Corsair Spare Parts godofthunder77 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jun 29, 2011 04:17 PM
Discussion FMS/Airfield 800mm F4U Corsair norco kid Electric Warbirds 3 Apr 30, 2011 07:22 PM
Help! airfield/FMS F4U Corsair help kayla95 Electric Warbirds 2 Mar 24, 2011 07:12 PM