HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 23, 2012, 12:18 AM
Registered User
Seattle Area
Joined Aug 2007
4,441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Doggs View Post
That's a shame, the $15 HK RJX head is not much more but really good....
I went with the Copter X head and a few pair of the 460mm HK blades, and that worked out remarkably well (much better than I thought).
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...hite_Red_.html

There is something to be said about the longer blades, but I did notice the loss of lift in certain situations. Probably more so than 315 or 325mm blades. Probably my imagination.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...in_Blades.html are pretty good.
eagle777 is offline Find More Posts by eagle777
Last edited by eagle777; Dec 23, 2012 at 12:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 23, 2012, 01:15 AM
No Longer Active
pitchp's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Aug 2010
6,627 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Doggs View Post
But the CX has a full metal jacket, whereas the ZYX is plastic - so surely more likely to suffer ESD issues.
I don't know man. That's 3 people(mhills included) now that reported problems with static or what ever it is. But they all have something in common, they are all CX-ZYX. From what i'm gathering so far. If i had a CX gyro i'd be very nervous in flying with it. Could be a bad batch?? I'd be more inclined to buy a Tarot ZYX for safety reasons. Seriously dude these guys are crashing and they are crashing with expensive helis. Anyways I just came down here to see if there is a firmware update. I really had a feeling there would be. perhaps next year. I'll see you at the other thread. I'm outta here
pitchp is offline Find More Posts by pitchp
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 01:27 AM
Registered User
Seattle Area
Joined Aug 2007
4,441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitchp View Post
I don't know man.
..
I'm outta here
I typed out something better, but see you around.
eagle777 is offline Find More Posts by eagle777
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 08:40 AM
just gotta mess with it!
2Doggs's Avatar
North West Louisiana
Joined Nov 2009
4,559 Posts
CX - still good for the money!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pitchp View Post
I don't know man. That's 3 people(mhills included) now that reported problems with static or what ever it is. But they all have something in common, they are all CX-ZYX. From what i'm gathering so far. If i had a CX gyro i'd be very nervous in flying with it. Could be a bad batch?? I'd be more inclined to buy a Tarot ZYX for safety reasons. Seriously dude these guys are crashing and they are crashing with expensive helis. Anyways I just came down here to see if there is a firmware update. I really had a feeling there would be. perhaps next year. I'll see you at the other thread. I'm outta here
All I can say is that the only problems I've had with my two CX's have been odd setup changes - like the collective being reversed after messing with setup. I'm virtually convinced that it was caused by the hidden "conditions" feature, which was always in the gyro, even when we had no way of accessing it, and since John_NZ came out with software that allows you to see and use both conditions, I've not had any problems.

I've flown the CX on a roughly set up 450 that had really bad vibration, but the gyro was fine. I've never had static issues. A couple of times, in forward flips, the heli went nuts - but I believe that was caused by a slipping tail belt rather than the gyro.

I've cross flashed one CX with the ZYZ firmware, and it seems to fly better than the CX, principally with better collective response. I'm holding off cross flashing the other one so that I can do some direct, back to back comparisons. Since the CX has fixed leads from the gyro to the RX, I swap out the gyro mounted on the anti-rotation bracket together with the RX, needing to re-plug just the four servo leads and the ESC lead, and two self tapping screws on the anti-rotation bracket.

Since the CX doesn't support a satellite RX, people with small helis might go for the ZYX anyway, though the new CX 2000 might be a valid contender at around the same price.

I know I'll end up with a VCTRC too, since I'd like to use the vibration log feature, if nothing else, and I'll be able to do even more comparisons.....

Happy holidays, pitchp!
2Doggs is offline Find More Posts by 2Doggs
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Hk500 tt fbl
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 04:27 PM
Team Mulikow 3D
Oxfordshire, UK
Joined Jan 2007
3,919 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Doggs View Post
I know I'll end up with a VCTRC too, since I'd like to use the vibration log feature, if nothing else, and I'll be able to do even more comparisons.....

Happy holidays, pitchp!
Dos Dogs,

I don't think that the VCTRC has the vibe log - I think that you are thinking of the G31

Merry Christmas mate

Mike.
MikeHRC is offline Find More Posts by MikeHRC
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 09:20 PM
just gotta mess with it!
2Doggs's Avatar
North West Louisiana
Joined Nov 2009
4,559 Posts
Grr, I guess I'm just going to have to pay more than $50 or $60 for what I want!

Happy Hols to you too Mike, and hope you haven't been affected by the flooding.
2Doggs is offline Find More Posts by 2Doggs
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Hk500 tt fbl
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 01:57 AM
Beginner Pilot
United States, NY, Coram
Joined Jul 2012
374 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenflying View Post
I had exactly the same issue with a 3GX. It was fixed by fitting a voltage protection capacitor like this one:


The gyro does a restart due to a dip in the supply voltage. It can start later in a helis life as the servos start to draw more current, due to crash distorted servo gears, damaged bearings or worn bearings in blades and the tail.
So this should be worth a shot than huh???? Where do I get one of these?? and where do I plug it in? I am using 6 ch rx. Will the bat/bind port be ok? All Spektrum stuff by the way,,,,,
gs550t1981 is offline Find More Posts by gs550t1981
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 02:12 AM
Whoops was it always in 2 bits
bionicbone's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Rotherham
Joined Oct 2008
1,042 Posts
I guess I'll get one of these from Maplin and make my own. Its very cheap solution if it solves the issue

http://www.maplin.co.uk/radial-elect...pacitors-13472

Code: VH57M, PC Elect 4700uF 16V
bionicbone is offline Find More Posts by bionicbone
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 02:50 AM
Team Mulikow 3D
Oxfordshire, UK
Joined Jan 2007
3,919 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Doggs View Post
Grr, I guess I'm just going to have to pay more than $50 or $60 for what I want!

Happy Hols to you too Mike, and hope you haven't been affected by the flooding.
Thanks mate - Merry Christmas to you as well.

No serious flooding here thankfully, but the river is getting very high again
MikeHRC is offline Find More Posts by MikeHRC
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 04:05 AM
as much as I can
beenflying's Avatar
NZ
Joined Jan 2010
4,681 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gs550t1981 View Post
So this should be worth a shot than huh???? Where do I get one of these?? and where do I plug it in? I am using 6 ch rx. Will the bat/bind port be ok? All Spektrum stuff by the way,,,,,
That capacitor was originally brought out for early Spektrum Rx's that were very susceptible to brownouts.

google search "spektrum voltage protector".

Hobbyking even has one:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=16223

You can plug it into any location a battery or servo can be plugged in. So any output on the Rx or any battery input to the Rx, if your ESC is providing power. If there are none spare, you can use a short Y lead. The shorter the better.
beenflying is offline Find More Posts by beenflying
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 04:19 AM
as much as I can
beenflying's Avatar
NZ
Joined Jan 2010
4,681 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bionicbone View Post
I guess I'll get one of these from Maplin and make my own. Its very cheap solution if it solves the issue

http://www.maplin.co.uk/radial-elect...pacitors-13472

Code: VH57M, PC Elect 4700uF 16V
Yes, I've made most of my own ones. I've even used 6800uf 6.3V capacitors on the bigger helis, but they would be no good for HV.

My 700DFC HV, that will be running at 7.4V, will have a 6800uf 16V capacitor, connected though some very short Y leads, I'll be making myself.
beenflying is offline Find More Posts by beenflying
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 07:28 AM
Beginner Pilot
United States, NY, Coram
Joined Jul 2012
374 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenflying View Post
That capacitor was originally brought out for early Spektrum Rx's that were very susceptible to brownouts.

google search "spektrum voltage protector".

Hobbyking even has one:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=16223

You can plug it into any location a battery or servo can be plugged in. So any output on the Rx or any battery input to the Rx, if your ESC is providing power. If there are none spare, you can use a short Y lead. The shorter the better.
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenflying View Post
Yes, I've made most of my own ones. I've even used 6800uf 6.3V capacitors on the bigger helis, but they would be no good for HV.

My 700DFC HV, that will be running at 7.4V, will have a 6800uf 16V capacitor, connected though some very short Y leads, I'll be making myself.
Awesome thanks guys
gs550t1981 is offline Find More Posts by gs550t1981
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 11:18 AM
Looptastic!
sp00fman's Avatar
Enschede, Netherlands
Joined Nov 2009
2,145 Posts
I used extra caps on all my builds, even on my first heli.
Just by looking at the wire length from BEC to RX you should conclude it is useful to have a capacitor to keep voltage constant.
sp00fman is offline Find More Posts by sp00fman
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 12:06 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2006
5 Posts
Hi Guys. I have just been really stupid and uploaded my zyx-s with zyx software. Is there any way to recover from this as now I cannot get it to link to the PC software or do I have to bite the bullet and buy another. Any help would be gratefully received.
jonathanglass is offline Find More Posts by jonathanglass
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 12:07 PM
Registered User
Dr.M's Avatar
United States, WA, Issaquah
Joined May 2011
1,513 Posts
I bought a handful of 3300uF 16V low ESR caps off ebay and solder my own wires. I'll probably plug one in straight into the CX gyro. On my 450 I've got a 2200 uF cap plugged into the Bat/bind port of the Spektrum Rx.
Dr.M is offline Find More Posts by Dr.M
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion New ALZRC 3GYS Flybarless System beenflying Mini Helis 644 Dec 07, 2012 04:44 AM
Found Tarot 450 or like, long flybarless feather shafts TubeBarHeli Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 2 Jul 25, 2011 01:13 PM
For Sale New Align 3G Flybarless System V2.1 ptt81 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 1 Jun 06, 2011 04:55 PM
For Sale New 2 cell esc &motor FBL 4g6 spektromized DSM2 spektrum Sat URondo Flybarless system blueindian Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 May 31, 2011 06:09 PM
Discussion Tarot Flybarless avengedkevinfold Electric Heli Talk 1 May 04, 2011 04:46 AM