Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Sep 24, 2011, 11:25 AM
Noob with Issues
United States, AZ, Maricopa
Joined Jul 2011
984 Posts
Discussion
nitro plane starter question

I have a nitro starter and i hate the fact that i have to clip it to a big battery. So I'm looking for a more portable solution! any links or suggestions would be appreciated Thx
crash74 is online now Find More Posts by crash74
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 24, 2011, 11:32 AM
Joined Jun 2011
1,522 Posts
Nitro starter?????
datsunguy is offline Find More Posts by datsunguy
Old Sep 24, 2011, 11:36 AM
Noob with Issues
United States, AZ, Maricopa
Joined Jul 2011
984 Posts
i'm new to the hobby. it starts my nirto motor on my nitro plane. or gas however you want to call it
crash74 is online now Find More Posts by crash74
Old Sep 24, 2011, 02:22 PM
United States, MI, Grand Rapids
Joined Jun 2007
102 Posts
Most hobby shops have small 12v sealed batteries that fit in a field tote, you can buy a tote and or with a power panel, that will power your starter, glow plug , and fuel pump if wanted, or you could just make a tote with some power clips for what you want to run...google homemade rc field box for ideas..

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=438214

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/searc...=field%20boxes
brentg is online now Find More Posts by brentg
Last edited by brentg; Sep 24, 2011 at 06:57 PM.
Old Sep 24, 2011, 02:57 PM
Cromer,Norfolk, UK
Joined Nov 2006
2,505 Posts
My field box has a pump panel like the one below, which tidies everything up nicely, and has outputs for the starter, a built in fuel pump, a glow starter charger, glow plug connections with variable current, all connected to a small 12v Gel battery inside the box.

Simply connect the panel to the battery and forget about it. You can even charge the 12V battery through the starter sockets, so the battery just stays inside the box out of the way.