Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Sep 23, 2011, 05:16 AM
Canada, ON, Toronto
Joined Sep 2011
579 Posts
Discussion
mSR to mCP X transition

Horizon Hobby claims that the mSR is 'nearly as stable' as an mCX. I have not found it so. I have been told by them that the mCP X is much more unstable and difficult to master for someone transitioning from the mSR.

I suppose it must be true, as so many have said it, but I find it difficult to imagine.

Nomad
Nomad57 is offline Find More Posts by Nomad57
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 23, 2011, 06:58 AM
Bathurst, NSW, Oztralia
Joined Mar 2011
230 Posts
I have been flying the mSR for 6 months. I almost crapped my pants the first time I flew the mcp x. Way more twitchy and responsive, with absolutely zero self righting tendencies at all.
If you find the mSR a handful, then I would hold off on the mcpx for a while yet.
rooni79 is offline Find More Posts by rooni79
Old Sep 23, 2011, 07:58 AM
Arivaca,Arizona
Joined May 2008
7,715 Posts
I think you can "dumb down" the mCPX to fly more like the mSR. The transition from self-stabilizing head to any CP is a pretty big jump w/o softening the controls. Do you have a computer tx? and how well do you know how to use it. The catch is, it takes experience to set it up and that's one thing a new flier hasn't got.
MHO

regards,
Bill
Air Vaca is offline Find More Posts by Air Vaca
Old Sep 23, 2011, 11:04 AM
Heli collector
United States, MI, Livonia
Joined Apr 2009
16,522 Posts
I have the mCPX and a DX6i.. I have it way dumbed down much more than what most even think about.. 12% throw on E & A with minus 20% EXPO to speed the stick feel back up..

To me this makes it a very easy to fly heli.. Goes where you tell it to go but not so fast you get into trouble..
livonia bob is offline Find More Posts by livonia bob
Old Sep 23, 2011, 12:43 PM
Canada, ON, Toronto
Joined Sep 2011
579 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rooni79 View Post