Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Sep 23, 2011, 04:00 AM
Joined Sep 2011
53 Posts
Discussion
Upgrade ESC instead of engine AND ESC.

Hey guys. I'm quite new to this hobby and I'm enjoying every second of it.

I bhought a cheap plane that that was on 50% sale and I find very manouverable and very fun to fly. This is my plane.

I have 2 batteries, 1 with 1500mAh and 1 1300mAh. Can fly for 13 to 16 minutes till the battery is dead.

Now I'd like to upgrade the performance of the engine but I was wondering if I can upgrade my ESC 20a to 30a instead of buying a new engine AND esc?
The plane is so close to being able to climb straight up in the air, thats why i'd like to upgrade the performance just a litle.

I'm buying a new plane eventually but I'd like to try to upgrade this one first.

Thanks in advance!
Dynasti is offline Find More Posts by Dynasti
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 23, 2011, 04:56 AM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,500 Posts
If the motor runs cool now you way be able to run it at higher power without burning out. If you upgrade the ESC you will need a larger prop to get the improved performance.

RC Man is online now Find More Posts by RC Man
Old Sep 23, 2011, 05:02 AM
Joined Sep 2011
53 Posts
Ah ok. Upgrading ESC does not improve the RPM? Just improves the strength of the engine? I don't know how to choose a correct propeller. All I know that the current blade measures are 7x? The information is not on the blade so I measured the length.
Old Sep 23, 2011, 05:58 AM
Old age is not for sissies
Dayton Intl, Ohio, United States
Joined Jan 2000
7,794 Posts