Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 06, 2012, 11:58 AM
Lost at LAX
Old Fart's Avatar
United States, CA, Torrance
Joined Dec 2005
2,554 Posts
Woot Woot

I have the West Systems in the truck
Old Fart is offline Find More Posts by Old Fart
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 07, 2012, 11:38 AM
No fuse too fat
slopeiron's Avatar
USA, CA, Redondo Beach
Joined Apr 2002
3,874 Posts
This morning I popped off the layup we did last night on the Tyhpoon. It came off perfectly clean. The PVA peeled off in one piece like a piece of cellophane. Will have some pics up in the Tyhpoon thread tonight. Time to start working on the canopy!
slopeiron is offline Find More Posts by slopeiron
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 02:56 PM
Registered User
bluffman's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
2,932 Posts
I popped the fuse we did last night and this one is best so far, so morri is on a wait and see for his.
bluffman is offline Find More Posts by bluffman
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 03:32 PM
Registered User
USA, CA, La Mirada
Joined Feb 2004
413 Posts
I got skills.
RMD72377 is offline Find More Posts by RMD72377
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 03:50 PM
No fuse too fat
slopeiron's Avatar
USA, CA, Redondo Beach
Joined Apr 2002
3,874 Posts
I got dibs. (J/K) So how many more do we need, three?
slopeiron is offline Find More Posts by slopeiron
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 05:27 PM
No fuse too fat
slopeiron's Avatar
USA, CA, Redondo Beach
Joined Apr 2002
3,874 Posts
Hey guys,
I was just checking out Hamburglars thread. I think he is using something like this.

CNC Router on eBay

Thoughts?
slopeiron is offline Find More Posts by slopeiron
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 06:49 PM
Registered User
Michael V's Avatar
United States, CA, Torrance
Joined Apr 2012
700 Posts
I'm also a machinist (and many other things, but that's for another day).
At first, this looks like a great price, but something wasn't right.
Digging further shows this:
Manufacturer Suggested Retail Price :3899USD
And shipping is also $900
Also this: Spend $899+ & get 18 months financing
Subject to credit approval.

So far the cheapest router I found is the Phlatprinter:
http://www.phlatboyz.com/Phlatprinter-3-Kit_p_9.html
Which is good for sheets (wood, foam, soft metal) and basically 2D plus some Z.

As you see we're not talking about the same thing. So if this really goes for $882 (even plus $887 shipping) it seems way too good to be true, just the parts alone cost more (VFD, spindle, ball screws, step motors). Caveat emptor!

For 3D printing there is a printer in the $1000 I think (from memory) limiited volume (like 6" cubed or so).

Feel free to ask any questions. If I don't have answers, I know people that will.
Michael V is offline Find More Posts by Michael V
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 08:18 PM
Registered User
USA, CA, La Mirada
Joined Feb 2004
413 Posts
Shipping is pretty high and I think you would outgrow this machine quickly. The workable area is 12"X 23"Y and 3"Z.
RMD72377 is offline Find More Posts by RMD72377
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2012, 09:04 PM
No fuse too fat
slopeiron's Avatar
USA, CA, Redondo Beach
Joined Apr 2002
3,874 Posts
Yeah, I noticed the $900 shipping after I posted. F'n eBay crooks. The reason I was interested is I have TurboCad 14 Pro which is supposed to have full 3D capability (unlike the Deluxe version). Problem is, I don't really know how to use the 3D stuff yet because I haven't really had any need to spend the time to learn it. But if we had a 3D printer or router, it would definitely be worth while.
slopeiron is offline Find More Posts by slopeiron
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2012, 01:34 AM
Registered User
Michael V's Avatar
United States, CA, Torrance
Joined Apr 2012
700 Posts
CADs usualy output STL (Stereolitography, or 3D printing) files or DXF (Autocad format).
Then you need to use a CAM software to work out the machining. It will set the sequence and so on and output a Gcode file.
THen the Gcode file is fed into a machine.

3D printers do plastic from scratch, but small for the time being (and price)
CNC Router do mostly flat stuff
To do a wing mold (which is my guess as what you're interested in) takes quite a big machine. And it has to have full 3 axis capabilities (all three together).

Don't know turbocad, but I use Sketchup (free and completely user modifiable). I do all my designs (3D) and layout for cutting foam with it.
I can output any airfoil from the data set, and modify it.
There is also software to test airfoils and wings.
And of course any template or sections can be printed from there.

I can show you guys anytime and help with needs.
Michael V is offline Find More Posts by Michael V
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2012, 09:49 AM
No fuse too fat
slopeiron's Avatar
USA, CA, Redondo Beach
Joined Apr 2002
3,874 Posts
Would love to see a demo, Michael. I have played with SchetchUp but did not dig too deeply. It looked to me like it was geared more to doing straight extruded shapes like rectangles and cylinders. But like I said, I didn't spend a lot of time with it.

I'm interested in doing both wings and fuses. Maybe a home build kit? Not sure what the total investment would be though. This one says it has a 48"x48"x5" work area. We could probably get away with 48"x24"x5" for what we do. That way the machine would not be so gigantic.

Joe's CNC
slopeiron is offline Find More Posts by slopeiron
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2012, 11:14 AM
Summer... is my time of year
67econoline's Avatar
United States, CA, San Juan Capistrano
Joined May 2011
6,737 Posts
Wow!!!


You guys are goin all in !!!

Rubio
who is addicted to two kinds of expensive toys
67econoline is offline Find More Posts by 67econoline
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2012, 03:18 PM
Registered User
bluffman's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
2,932 Posts
I see a extension onto that garage Russ
bluffman is offline Find More Posts by bluffman
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2012, 04:56 PM
No fuse too fat
slopeiron's Avatar
USA, CA, Redondo Beach
Joined Apr 2002
3,874 Posts
Hehe. Yeah, but I'm trying to build the canopy for the Typhoon right now and there are no straight lines to use as a reference and I'm *REALLY* wishing I had this.
slopeiron is offline Find More Posts by slopeiron
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2012, 05:44 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Rancho Palos Verdes
Joined Aug 2008
139 Posts
Ok !! ....I'm done painting my F11. I thought it would come out a little better than it did but, there!
ismelarat is offline Find More Posts by ismelarat
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Epic day at Bluff Cove Brian Courtice Slope 7 May 31, 2011 05:34 PM
Discussion White caps @ bluff cove bluffman Slope 3 May 16, 2011 01:15 PM
Discussion Bluff Cove Sunday bluffman Slope 3 Dec 17, 2006 02:16 AM
Bluff Cove, Palos Verdes malachite Slope 26 Nov 27, 2005 10:28 AM
bluff cove. so. cal. dutchydawg1 Slope 22 Oct 14, 2004 11:40 PM