HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Old Sep 19, 2011, 05:14 AM
Dirty Dozen FPV
United Kingdom, England, Milton Keynes
Joined Aug 2011
2,478 Posts
Build Log
First time quad build (Now a bigger and better Y6 with GPS)

After a loooong wait the parts have arrived from HK and i've made a start on my HFP quad build. Please take a look, any comments or suggestions are most welcome as its my first build and dont have anyone at home checking on my work.

Built spec:
HFP and filter
Opensurprise.com quadcopter CF airframe
RCTimer 2830/12 850kv Motors
Turnigy 30A ESC's
10x4.5 Props
3S 2200mAh 20/30 Battery
Flyduino Power Distribution Board
Buzzflyer BF8 Rx (rebranded Walkera 2801)

To add:
Go Pro
Qadframes.com Go Pro 2 axis gimbal
EMAX ES08MD servos
5.8GHz 200mW FPV video Tx

710mm motor to motor, probbably a bit big but i didnt want to trim the booms untill i'd at least tried it. Any suggestions on the 'best' length?

Folds easily, one reason i chose this frame. Folds even better in + configuration.

Theres a Flyduino power distribution board in there somewhere.

Still to finish is a cover for the HFP board (on the lookout for the right sized tupperware!).

The HFP board is not attached, shorter standoffs and longer screws on the way.

Nice motor mounts, could go X8.

Not bad weight 712g without battery.

FPV gear to add later somehow.