SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 13, 2011, 08:06 AM
Joined Apr 2006
37 Posts
Discussion
Help with wing for rucksack, folding or 2-3 piece?

Hi to all,
I'm a fairly inexperienced builder, with about 8 planes under my belt (varying degrees of success...) My problem is that I don't really like getting in the car every time I want to fly, and I'm too tight fisted to splash out on one of those fancy folding wings ready made. I get so little flying time, what with effectively being a stay at home dad to 2 tiny kids, that the construction is sometimes the part I get to enjoy the most.
I've ordered an 85cm eps wing (about 33") as epp is really expensive here (Brazil) as 2 cores, and am hoping that someone can give me some tips on making it rucksack friendly.
I have done some searching here on the forums, but nothing really helpful has come up so far.
It seems the 2 options I have are:
1. Split or fold in the middle, as that's how it's coming, with some kind of power pack or pod, which is self contained, and detachable.
2. Split into 3 pieces, either equal, or with centre 'fuselage' with power system to allow longer wings and therefore longer ailerons.

I'm sure there are others available, any help would be gratefully received.
Cheers
Ollie
Sao Paulo
mookster is offline Find More Posts by mookster
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 13, 2011, 08:23 AM
Old age is not for sissies
Dayton Intl, Ohio, United States
Joined Jan 2000
8,039 Posts
I like the idea of 3 pieces with a self contained center section that would have the motor, receiver, esc, etc with removable outer wing panels. Seems like the simplest to assemble/disassemble at the field.

Azarr
Azarr is offline Find More Posts by Azarr
Old Sep 13, 2011, 09:53 AM
Joined Apr 2006
37 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azarr View Post