SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 06, 2011, 10:28 AM
Joined Aug 2011
12 Posts
Discussion
What speed can i expect from my plane?

Hello all.
So i am new in the world of rc plane and curently building my first plane.
In my quest to fly this plane one day i am being confronted by the famous question, "which servo to use in my plane?". I know that there is servo torque calculator out there on the web but i miss the max speed information. Do someone can tell me please, what speed can i expect from my plane?

So here goes the spec of my plane.

It is an Ace simple series F4U Corsair
wingspan 36"
wing Area 190 sq.in
probably gonna weight in the 20oz finished
and i got the thunder tiger gp-.07 to power it with 6x3 propeller.

thank for your answer.
DisgruntledDavid is offline Find More Posts by DisgruntledDavid
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 06, 2011, 06:05 PM
Beaumont tx
Joined Oct 2004
3,745 Posts
Any good mini (not micro) servo; it'll probably be in the middle between the standard and "micro". Hobby Lobby and Tower both have good assortments.

howell
gwinhh is offline Find More Posts by gwinhh
Old Sep 06, 2011, 06:16 PM
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
13,582 Posts
I like the 12g to 20g size servos. They work quite well with the small engine powered planes. Lately I have been using the 17g size servos to good effect in small planes.
The 9g servos might be too small though as the engine vibration causes he control surfaces to vibrate and the tiny gears in the 9g servos might not be able to handle the stress.
But one could use standard size servos too, if they fit. Before we had small servos everyone used the regular servos in their 1/2a planes. I flew many a small plane with standard servos many years ago.
earlwb is online now Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My new Gaui X5 Rc Helicopter
Old Sep 06, 2011, 06:21 PM
Tiny diesels.... I love 'em
United Kingdom, England, London
Joined Aug 2011
224 Posts