HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 05, 2011, 10:50 AM
Joined Jul 2011
135 Posts
Discussion
UMX beast beginners POV and phoenix sim

g'day folks, just here to write up my impressions of the UMX beast from a beginners point of view.

My experience before buying the beast was 3ch parkflyer which i could never fly as it was a light pole magnet down the parks.

Went to the hobby shop about 4 weeks ago looking for something new and left with a very cool looking plane called the beast and a DX6i spektrum transmitter.

Came on this forum looking for advice and was told it wasnt the best plane for me but i was not determined to be put off, i mean come on im a gamer i got hand eye cordination but taking to some advice i went and bought a copy of phoenix simulator.

first impressions of the phoenix simulator, wow, very real graphics but as a novice i could not comment on realism comparing it to flying a real plane, so i flew a bunch of different planes on there and clocked up about 20 hours sim time.

Feeling confident i grabbed my beast, fully charged and headed to my local park. These next few steps i will attempt to recreate the best i can for you.

So initially what i was not prepared for was trimming and the plane not being perfectly trimmed, a misconception that i had locked in my head due to too much flight sim.

I turned on my DX6i, set my plane choice to beast, and checked my duel rates and expo setting them to 30/50. connected the plane, completed my pre flight checks, ok launch time, grass is to long so i had to hand launch it, 3/4 throttle and a gentle throw into the air, straight away it banked to the left so i corrected, it pulled to the right so i corrected back, then like it was not even me flying it the plane shot off to the ground, crash...... damage, a broken wing, and two big cracks in the fuselage....

home i go to repair