HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 05, 2011, 07:36 AM
Expat
Japan
Joined Apr 2010
2,954 Posts
Discussion
Delta or pod/boom - which is the best all-purpose FPV platform?

I was wondering what differences people have found in these two platforms? I know a lot of people are using zephyr or skywalker. I currently am using a WingDragon, but it seems to be getting too much drift and VTX interference due to its construction and size. Everytime you change a lipo or land rough the trim gets thrown out it takes half the next flight to get it safe. Also not self-correcting, so needs constant attention on the sticks. I'm new to RC and FPV, and would sacrifice aerobatics for stability. Are either of these former mentioned platforms better in this regard? Or another platform entirely?
Thanks
TheNiceGuy is offline Find More Posts by TheNiceGuy
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 05, 2011, 09:49 AM
Birmingham, Alabama
Joined Jun 2002
2,966 Posts
*best* depends on a ton of things you're trying to do. there is no "best".

popular are gliders hotliners pod & boom and delta wings. doesnt mean they're best.
Toysrme is offline Find More Posts by Toysrme
Old Sep 05, 2011, 12:41 PM
Bangkok
Joined Oct 2007
1,584 Posts
I just started building a twin motor FPV plane after much deliberation over what configuration would be best.
The extra complexity of the two motors and ESCs is, in my opinion, more than offset by the ease of installing the motors and the better low speed handling (I expect!) due to having the propellers blowing over the wings.

Let's see how it works once its finished.
AleG is offline Find More Posts by AleG
Old Sep 05, 2011, 04:38 PM
2^p - 1
United States, MO, Springfield
Joined Feb 2003
1,326 Posts
One thing to remember with twins - two props means more disc area (drag). Use smaller props and higher kV. Love my twin!
signflyer is offline Find More Posts by signflyer
Old Sep 05, 2011, 05:23 PM
Birmingham, Alabama
Joined Jun 2002
2,966 Posts