New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Aug 21, 2011, 05:54 AM
HelgeBe is offline
Find More Posts by HelgeBe
Steamers & Military Ships
Bergen, Norway
Joined Jul 2007
45 Posts
Help!
How to get a PPM signal from old Futaba PCM radio?

I am helping out a friend. He has an old Futaba FP-T8H-P radio (non computer) which we woud like to convert to 2.4 GHz with a FrSky DIY module. The radio seems to be an earlier verson of this one: http://manuals.hobbico.com/fut/8sghp-manual.pdf. The FrSky module requires a PPM signal but this a PCM radio. There is no trainer connection, just a connection for a charger (only two wires on the inside), and I have not found any switches to change from PCM to PPM.

Does anyone know if it is possible to get at PPM signal out of this radio?

HelgeBe
HelgeBe is offline Find More Posts by HelgeBe
Last edited by HelgeBe; Aug 21, 2011 at 02:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 21, 2011, 08:59 AM
dmccormick001 is offline
Find More Posts by dmccormick001
Dave the Rave
dmccormick001's Avatar
Joined Jun 2007
907 Posts
I could be wrong (if I am I'm sure somebody will correct me), but I think the type of signal being transmitted (PPM vs PCM) is determined by the circuitry in that RF module. If you replace it with something different, like a 2.4GHz PPM module, everything should work OK.

I've personally never seen a Futaba like that. Interesting collection of features.
dmccormick001 is offline Find More Posts by dmccormick001
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 10:16 AM
coriolan is online now
Find More Posts by coriolan
"Unnecessary Necessity"
coriolan's Avatar
Canada
Joined Sep 2006
6,427 Posts
The RF section has nothing to do with the encoder output (ppm/pcm), it just set the modulation type (AM/FM) and frequency band from 27 Mhz to 2.4 Ghz. The Tx in question has a DSC output combined with the charging jack (DIN-6)but that signal is most likely a digital number serie (PCM) instead of a pulse train with variable length like PPM. The best way would be to check that signal with a oscilloscope to determine if it is ppm or pcm. If it is PCM only you won't be able to convert that Tx.
coriolan is online now Find More Posts by coriolan
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 10:33 AM
itai n is offline
Find More Posts by itai n
Registered User
Haifa, Israel
Joined Nov 2009
137 Posts
Try to check the signals that go into the RF module. You will need an oscilloscope or a logic analyzer for that. I'm pretty sure that you will find only a PCM signal but that is your best chance.

Edit:
Just seen coriolan's answer. I agree.
itai n is offline Find More Posts by itai n
Last edited by itai n; Aug 21, 2011 at 10:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 10:50 AM
AndyOne is offline
Find More Posts by AndyOne
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,666 Posts
The slightly later FF7 transmitter had the facility to DSC with a receiver via the trainer socket but there was never any evidence that this signal was PCM. I believe it was CPPM a signal because I haven't come across any discussion of the PCM signal being available at the trainer socket, I would say it's likely to be the same on the 8SG, but you will need a scope to be certain.

A.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2011, 08:26 PM
SAJU is offline
Find More Posts by SAJU
Registered User
Chennai, India
Joined Oct 2004
10 Posts
Help

I have a similar problem. I have a FP-T4H transmitter (4 channel with 27 mHz am transmission) which I want to convert to 2.4gHz with a Assan X8D hack module. However, I have not been able to locate a PPM signal on the single board that is there.

Could some body help me in this. If it is not possible to get a ppm signal, I dont mind building up the ppm signal with my own board, but I will need help with a simple encoder circuit. The transmitter mechanism is in perfect condition and the pots are without jitter.

Saju
SAJU is offline Find More Posts by SAJU
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2011, 09:06 AM
AndyOne is offline
Find More Posts by AndyOne
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,666 Posts
An oscilloscope is the best way to find a PPM signal if it exists, without one you are effectively blindfolded from an electronic point of view.

A.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Futaba RADIO T6XA(s) PCM/PPM Selectable 72 MHz Ecibob Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 5 May 25, 2011 08:17 AM
Discussion PPM signal from a PPM rx vegasbs FPV Talk 3 Apr 30, 2011 08:52 AM
Discussion Can't Change Modulation of Futaba T6XHs Radio From PCM to PPM FXG Radios 5 Nov 25, 2010 10:29 PM
Discussion How to pull up the amplitude of the HRS / PPM signal from a Futaba RX? micke_b DIY Electronics 1 Sep 29, 2009 08:25 AM
Discussion capture PPM signal from DX7 with radio on? spinup DIY Electronics 7 Sep 11, 2008 12:52 AM