SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 16, 2012, 06:17 PM
Registered User
United States, MO, Fenton
Joined Jan 2012
2,136 Posts
At the moment I am loving this plane. I think I have the landings figured out(calm day anyway). You really have to have faith that the plane will fly slow and be hauling back on the elevator as you flare. I have stuck my last 6 landings with the last one of the day today looking absolutely perfect. Now that they have this at a lower price I think it becomes a really good deal. For those that have the option to land on grass you have an advantage. The plane has a much less likelihood of bouncing when it touches down on grass and comes to a stop quickly. All in all the trick is to get it slowed down as much as possible.
Jay
Fentonflyers is offline Find More Posts by Fentonflyers
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 23, 2012, 08:21 AM
Registered User
bladeguy5's Avatar
United States, MD, Waldorf
Joined Jun 2012
349 Posts
Agreed with this plane you will have to kill the power to let it bleed off as much speed as possible before putting her down. Overall I love the plane its a bigger meaner version of my sryker
bladeguy5 is online now Find More Posts by bladeguy5
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 01:10 PM
Registered User
destinbeachman's Avatar
Florida
Joined Jul 2010
796 Posts
The Scimitar really lands nicely.As has been said here,you must let it slow down to what you think is just above it's stall speed-AND then,let it slow down some more. It's a beautiful thing.
destinbeachman is offline Find More Posts by destinbeachman
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 05:16 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
543 Posts
They finally have the parts in stock I need to fix mine just in time for snow season.
Josef086 is offline Find More Posts by Josef086
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 06:25 PM
Fly Naked !
MARCOELDRAGON's Avatar
Waynesboro VA USA
Joined Dec 2010
1,156 Posts
Loved this plane since release. A big stryker with landing gear what could be better? Now they have dropped the price I will most likely be ordering one in the next few days and the retracts too. Should go nicely with the DX7s I just ordered. Nice to see there is a following here for this plane.
MARCOELDRAGON is offline Find More Posts by MARCOELDRAGON
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 09:24 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
51 Posts
Hi ,

Im new here and from Germany , so my English is not so well..
I bought a Scimitar BNF few days ago und it arrived yesterday

I decided to register here , because there only a few information about that amazing Model in german boards..

I ordered and installed the Retracts , too..
The Strut for the Nose Gear is on the way..

The Quality seems to be very nice ,it is really huger in compare to the Stryker i already own, that i thought at the beginning..

The last 2 days , i read nearly the complete thread here

Now im a little bit afraid of Starting and Landing with the Scimi ..
Today i bind it to my DX8 and do some settings..

Im not shure , which spare lipos to buy,
they should have a minimum of 3600mAh and i read the stock Battery is to light for a good CG..

Greedings Tom
Tomster79 is offline Find More Posts by Tomster79
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 09:30 AM
Registered User
United States, MO, Fenton
Joined Jan 2012
2,136 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomster79 View Post
Hi ,

Im new here and from Germany , so my English is not so well..
I bought a Scimitar BNF few days ago und it arrived yesterday

I decided to register here , because there only a few information about that amazing Model in german boards..

I ordered and installed the Retracts , too..
The Strut for the Nose Gear is on the way..

The Quality seems to be very nice ,it is really huger in compare to the Stryker i already own, that i thought at the beginning..

The last 2 days , i read nearly the complete thread here

Now im a little bit afraid of Starting and Landing with the Scimi ..
Today i bind it to my DX8 and do some settings..

Im not shure , which spare lipos to buy,
they should have a minimum of 3600mAh and i read the stock Battery is to light for a good CG..

Greedings Tom
I use both 3300 and 3600 Turnigy 30c 4s. I like the recomended cg although it is a bit easier to land with the cg a little forward. The landing is the only real tough thing. It is an absolute must to touch down just above stall speed. I fly a slow approach with just a little throttle and cut throttle when over the run way. I hold it in a hard flare until it touches on the mains and then I ease off the flare. Not a bullet proof method but it seems to work for me.
Good luck,
Jay
Fentonflyers is offline Find More Posts by Fentonflyers
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 11:37 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
51 Posts
Hi,

The Turnigy 3600er 30C are available in the German HK Warehause , so they would be an option for me..
Often i heard from the 4000 30C , but in my opinion 3600 would be enough..

To land near stall speed is tricky ?
The behavior of aircraft is not so stabil during that attitude ?

My maiden will by on a gras runway so i am a little bit nervous
Due to the weather in Germany (snow , -3 degree Celsius ) and bad condition of our runway , i will wait with maiden..

I downloaded the DX8 setting for the scimi und the e-flite page and installed it to my tx.. but i couldnt find a mix for the VT .. only a differential with 26% i found..
i am a little confused now..

And another Problem :
I installed the Axles with the wheels on the Struts of the Retracts..
But the axles can easily be turned/moved..
The Bolts are already tightend hard..
What can i do to fix them ?
Are there prebent Struts available for the Scimitar ?


Greedings Tom
Tomster79 is offline Find More Posts by Tomster79
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 12:03 PM
Registered User
Canada
Joined Jul 2009
6,715 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomster79 View Post
Often i heard from the 4000 30C , but in my opinion 3600 would be enough..

To land near stall speed is tricky ?
The behavior of aircraft is not so stabil during that attitude ?

My maiden will by on a gras runway so i am a little bit nervous
Due to the weather in Germany (snow , -3 degree Celsius ) and bad condition of our runway , i will wait with maiden..

I downloaded the DX8 setting for the scimi und the e-flite page and installed it to my tx.. but i couldnt find a mix for the VT .. only a differential with 26% i found..
i am a little confused now..

And another Problem :
I installed the Axles with the wheels on the Struts of the Retracts..
But the axles can easily be turned/moved..
The Bolts are already tightend hard..
What can i do to fix them ?
Are there prebent Struts available for the Scimitar ?


Greedings Tom
I use 4500 mah, 4S batteries for mine.

You have to look at all the "rudder" mixes. Those are what programs the VT. I can't remember exactly but you must flip one of the switches on the top right of the DX8 to turn on/off the VT. I think it's the "mix/hold" switch.

Landing at near stall speed is tricky as you have little aileron response and the Scimitar can easily roll to one side and catch a wingtip on the ground. I take off from grass with retracts down and belly land on the same grass. To minimize damage to the prop, I have a folding 3-bladed prop.

To prevent the wheels from moving on the retract struts, you take a Dremel and grind a small flat spot where the set screw is. Make sure the flat spot is at exactly right angle to the line the wheel points so they are straight.
No, there aren't "pre-bent" struts. If you use the Eflite retracts, you cut them to the proper length after you've test fitted the gear with wheels on.
xviper is offline Find More Posts by xviper
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 02:07 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
51 Posts
Hi,

Ok i programmed the mix for the VT myself ..
Everything works proper now an i can use my Favorite Switch for activating it..
Unluckily , i found my VT Servo stucking sometimes ..

The Differential Setting i copied from Quique's Setup..
Only the Roll Compensation for Throttel i ve not programmes yet..
How can i find already programmed Mixes in the DX8 ?

I reduced the Servo Travel to 90% of all Servos and set some DR/Expo settings

I had the same idea with the Dremel..
But i will check my parts box , perhaps i find some prebents from another A/C..


Greedings Tom
Tomster79 is offline Find More Posts by Tomster79
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 05:53 AM
Fly Naked !
MARCOELDRAGON's Avatar
Waynesboro VA USA
Joined Dec 2010
1,156 Posts
Working my way through reading this whole thread, got about half to go. I have had 3 custom F-27Cs one of which still flies 10 or more times a week, but never a Q. I have been flying aerobatic and 3d stuff for about a year and a half now but deep down I'm a pusher prop and flying wing man. The more I read this thread the more I want one of these.
MARCOELDRAGON is offline Find More Posts by MARCOELDRAGON
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 06:25 AM
Registered User
United States, MO, Fenton
Joined Jan 2012
2,136 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomster79 View Post
Hi,

Ok i programmed the mix for the VT myself ..
Everything works proper now an i can use my Favorite Switch for activating it..
Unluckily , i found my VT Servo stucking sometimes ..

The Differential Setting i copied from Quique's Setup..
Only the Roll Compensation for Throttel i ve not programmes yet..
How can i find already programmed Mixes in the DX8 ?

I reduced the Servo Travel to 90% of all Servos and set some DR/Expo settings

I had the same idea with the Dremel..
But i will check my parts box , perhaps i find some prebents from another A/C..


Greedings Tom
Tom, If you have the dx8 it would be easiest to download the setup from the Spektrum web site. You can find them here:

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/S...ProdId=SPM8800

I use this setup and it works great.

I would also fly the plane with the stock gear until you get the hang of landing the plane. It will help prevent damage to expensive retracts until you get used to landing this monster.
Fentonflyers is offline Find More Posts by Fentonflyers
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 06:26 AM
Registered User
United States, MO, Fenton
Joined Jan 2012
2,136 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MARCOELDRAGON View Post
Working my way through reading this whole thread, got about half to go. I have had 3 custom F-27Cs one of which still flies 10 or more times a week, but never a Q. I have been flying aerobatic and 3d stuff for about a year and a half now but deep down I'm a pusher prop and flying wing man. The more I read this thread the more I want one of these.
Now is the time. Especially since they have lowered the price.
Fentonflyers is offline Find More Posts by Fentonflyers
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 09:20 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fentonflyers View Post
Tom, If you have the dx8 it would be easiest to download the setup from the Spektrum web site. You can find them here:

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/S...ProdId=SPM8800

I use this setup and it works great.

I would also fly the plane with the stock gear until you get the hang of landing the plane. It will help prevent damage to expensive retracts until you get used to landing this monster.
I use the DX8 and have already installed the Quique Setting..
But to understand the different Mixes , i did my own Setup and copied some things from Quiques to mine

There serveral Mixes in Quiques Setup:
Thr->RAL that is clear for me , to compansate the Torque
Rud->RAL Im not shure , to compensate Roll during Rudder Activity ??
Rud->LAL same for other direction
Does someone use these Mixes ?

I found my Left Elevon above the Marking on the Fuselage when Servos are powered and Trim is Zero out of the Box..
Should I electrically trim that or mechanically with the Linkage ?


Greedings Tom
Tomster79 is offline Find More Posts by Tomster79
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 09:28 AM
Registered User
United States, MO, Fenton
Joined Jan 2012
2,136 Posts
The aileron mix with rudder is to compensate for the roll effect the rudder has when deflected far. It makes knife edge flight possible without a lot of compensation with the sticks. You might check the manual but I set all of my surfaces to zero mechanically.
Fentonflyers is offline Find More Posts by Fentonflyers
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools