Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 22, 2012, 02:44 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
144 Posts
Rob, how's that APC prop for you?
RustySpork is offline Find More Posts by RustySpork
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 22, 2012, 03:12 PM
Takeoff=Option Landing=Must
robusp's Avatar
USA, NY, Depew
Joined Jan 2009
782 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustySpork View Post
Rob, how's that APC prop for you?
I didn't nicked it since I changed from original. Something, like 4 months. I might of lost some top end, but its faster getting top rpm's. It will almost hover with 3600 mAh 4s. It'll do high apha with 5000 mAh 4s.
I call it my red flying pig. I am debating putting more motor to get it to run against my buddies fun jet and stryker. It would take a lot of motor, I know, but I have one laying around which was suppose to go in bigger plane

Rob
robusp is offline Find More Posts by robusp
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Pulsar 3.2E Competition Pro
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 05:07 PM
Static Model Collector LOL
Katy, TX
Joined Dec 2009
1,448 Posts
Rob, it's gonna take a lot of power in the Scimitar to keep up with a FunJet even one running the stock setup.

Good luck, post video

Have Fun,

FCA
FLAME747 is offline Find More Posts by FLAME747
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 05:53 PM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,812 Posts
Rob,

First you need to know the honest level flight speed of your friend's FJ and Stryker.

It will not just take a big motor.

Power comes from battery, so you will be needing a lot of battery capability during the races.

It is doable, but if those other planes are very fast you have your work cutout for you.


Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2012, 06:50 PM
Takeoff=Option Landing=Must
robusp's Avatar
USA, NY, Depew
Joined Jan 2009
782 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GryphonRCU View Post
Rob,

First you need to know the honest level flight speed of your friend's FJ and Stryker.

It will not just take a big motor.

Power comes from battery, so you will be needing a lot of battery capability during the races.

It is doable, but if those other planes are very fast you have your work cutout for you.


Gryphon
I totally agree with you. I might never be able to beat them, but I'll try to make it faster.
Honestly, plane lost it's appeal in current form.
I have couple of options.
First is: 42/58 800kV, Thunder Power 3850 mAh 5s 30C, 100 A ESC.
This setup was pretty good on my Revolver with 13x8 prop.
If this is not enough I have 42/58 600kV, 3600 mAh 6s 40C, 100 A ESC. This setup is real good on my revolver with 12x8.

I might have to modify something to make those motors fit. I didn't even checked yet if it's doable.

For pure out speed I have , hotliners and pylon racers.
I have barely anything invested in it. It was a trade for couple of profile foamies from a guy who was afraid of it.

Rob
robusp is offline Find More Posts by robusp
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Pulsar 3.2E Competition Pro
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 02:43 PM
Static Model Collector LOL
Katy, TX
Joined Dec 2009
1,448 Posts
Rob I'm eager to see what you come up with, I also do not have much of a vested interest in my scimitar, to get it moving along at a decent speed is going to take a lot

The problem is fitting a large motor in the bay, can't be to long because of the vectoring servo placement, if you removed the servo like I did you still need clearance from the vector locking unit,

The vector unit also posies another problem since its part of the main motor housing, you are limited in space

I've been looking at a large outrunner, need to take some measurements to see if it will fit, if not MEGA has outrunners with shafts on both ends, this might be an option, but only if they have one in the specific Kv range I'm looking for,
I am thinking somewhere between 1100 to 1470 would be ideal

FCA
FLAME747 is offline Find More Posts by FLAME747
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 05:49 PM
Takeoff=Option Landing=Must
robusp's Avatar
USA, NY, Depew
Joined Jan 2009
782 Posts
I flew Scimitar couple of times since, but didn't do any work on it.
I need to replace the servos if and when I do any modding.
They become jittery. Especially vector. One rudder centers, but overshoots and comes back.
Been busy finishing couple of projects. Looks, like I might get some more time to work on the planes with the weather going bad.
Will let you know.

Rob
robusp is offline Find More Posts by robusp
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Pulsar 3.2E Competition Pro
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 06:12 PM
Registered User
superinstaller's Avatar
United States, SC, Greer
Joined May 2006
586 Posts
Rob you want to look in the helicopter section for a used Scorpion 3026-1600kv or1900kv on 4 cell and an Apc 7x5e you'll see 100+ and the trade off is 90 100 amps

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showa...mentid=2837737



http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showa...mentid=2837948
superinstaller is offline Find More Posts by superinstaller
Last edited by superinstaller; Oct 27, 2012 at 07:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 06:51 PM
Registered User
superinstaller's Avatar
United States, SC, Greer
Joined May 2006
586 Posts
I want one! Is the airframe sold anywhere?
superinstaller is offline Find More Posts by superinstaller
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 07:00 PM
Static Model Collector LOL
Katy, TX
Joined Dec 2009
1,448 Posts
Iíve replaced the aileron servos with HS5085MGís, please not this is not a drop in fit, you will have to mod the servo mount

Removed the V/T servo, still using the stock servos on the rudder

SuperInstaller Ė where are you getting your data from, did you actually fly that setup in a Scimitar, a 7X5E is not going to push this bird past 100mph

Iíve tested 8X8 sport, and 9.25x5 on 4S, the latter provided the best result, still not fast enough.

A friend even tested using a power 32 on 5S, with a cutdown prop, canít recall the prop size, but results was not as expected

we need a power setup with would allow the use of a large high pitch prop, at high RPM, the quest for the perfect motor is on

Have Fun,

FCA
FLAME747 is offline Find More Posts by FLAME747
Last edited by FLAME747; Oct 26, 2012 at 08:27 PM. Reason: added pics
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 11:04 PM
Registered User
superinstaller's Avatar
United States, SC, Greer
Joined May 2006
586 Posts
I had that 3026-1900kv setup on a bobcat 25 4cell 5000mah, it would do around 120-130 Level flight

I don't think a 1050kv setup is going to have the Rpms and to make this bird see 100+ on 4cells you're looking at at least 90 amps
superinstaller is offline Find More Posts by superinstaller
Last edited by superinstaller; Oct 26, 2012 at 11:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 11:16 PM
Registered User
superinstaller's Avatar
United States, SC, Greer
Joined May 2006
586 Posts
I looks like I will need to get one of these beasts!
superinstaller is offline Find More Posts by superinstaller
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 12:55 AM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,812 Posts
For anyone interested,

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=2957

-------

Flame,

I know you have one coming for your buddy. He will run it in different airframe.
If he lets you get in a flight or two in Scimitar, please take him up on it.
5S and high AMPs.

Mopar has mine taken apart and is waiting for extra long shaft to make it come out of both ends just like the way you ordered yours.
I asked him to hammer it on 5S and 6S (with high AMPs) in various airframes as time allows. He knows it is ok....even encouraged to burn it down to find its true limits.

Please share any data from your friend,

Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 10:22 AM
Static Model Collector LOL
Katy, TX
Joined Dec 2009
1,448 Posts
I will ask him if I can get a flight or 2, that data will be very useful, any suggestions on prop size?

FCA
FLAME747 is offline Find More Posts by FLAME747
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 03:50 AM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,812 Posts
Hi Flame,

Try 9X9 Sport (9X7 wiser) or similar on your 5S and increase the prop size in small steps.

Check motor temp with each change.



Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Last edited by GryphonRCU; Oct 28, 2012 at 04:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools