HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 31, 2012, 01:06 PM
half-ass Astronaut
jdubg23's Avatar
United States, CO, Lakewood
Joined Jan 2011
123 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by akent View Post
I maidened mine yesterday.
All stock.
First flight was great! I took it easy and got her trimmed nicely.

Flight number two saw it start to lift off and then it nosed in hard. The right elevon hinge let loose!!! What's that about?!?
It tore up the nose, the front retract, and the canopy, besides the right wing hinge.

I posted this on the Horizon website's field service area with pictures. No response, yet.

The hinge is rather flimsy, held on the ends by small pieces of plastic glued in the foam. The plastic pieces in between don't go all the way around the hinge rod.

You all should check your elevon hinges on the ends to make sure they aren't pulling out of the foam!

It will be interesting if Horizon takes care of any of this. I have never asked for warranty anything before. In my mind, there is no excuse for the hinge letting loose like that, though.

I never even got a chance to try a boomerang!
Kent
i had a similar encounter, on the very second flight as well lol. although i am blaming my issue on the radio, i didnt rebind after trimming so when i had the brownout she dove to the deck....
jdubg23 is offline Find More Posts by jdubg23
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 31, 2012, 02:40 PM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,880 Posts
jdubg23,

You bring up a good point of discussion/reminder.

I think most people know they should rebind after the plane is fully setup and trimmed out, but some of us get lazy and put it off for a while....some forget.

Due to excitement of having a new plane 99% done, what we know and what we do are sometimes two different things.....I've cut some corners in the past without happy endings!!!

Thanks you for including that in your post above.


Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 03:44 PM
Registered User
Spicewood, Texas
Joined Aug 2009
310 Posts
I don't think that I had a radio problem. I always rebind after setup and the first trim flight.

There were a number of folks watching my second takeoff, as they wanted to see this thing fly.

After the crash, more than one fellow said they saw the elevon suddenly go down. I did pop the elevons up to get her vertical after takeoff. So it pitched up and then went down. I had plenty of airspeed here. There was very little altitude and it was starting to turn left.
The plane hit at a nose first angle and skidded around after the nose retract broke.

The outer plastic piece that the screws goes through for the hinge was pulled out. It looks to have very little glue on it. They have a tiny metal cross bar, too.
These parts are very short! There is little to grab in the foam with!
akent is offline Find More Posts by akent
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 09:13 PM
Registered User
ufale's Avatar
Joined Nov 2010
349 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by akent View Post
I don't think that I had a radio problem. I always rebind after setup and the first trim flight.

There were a number of folks watching my second takeoff, as they wanted to see this thing fly.

After the crash, more than one fellow said they saw the elevon suddenly go down. I did pop the elevons up to get her vertical after takeoff. So it pitched up and then went down. I had plenty of airspeed here. There was very little altitude and it was starting to turn left.
The plane hit at a nose first angle and skidded around after the nose retract broke.

The outer plastic piece that the screws goes through for the hinge was pulled out. It looks to have very little glue on it. They have a tiny metal cross bar, too.
These parts are very short! There is little to grab in the foam with!
OK, this is news to me. Why should I rebind after trimming?
ufale is offline Find More Posts by ufale
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 09:19 PM
No meat = no pudding
brwilkins's Avatar
Machesney Park, IL
Joined Jul 2008
1,435 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ufale View Post
OK, this is news to me. Why should I rebind after trimming?
Because it sets your fail-safe settings to be in trim. Otherwise, if the RX loses connection to the TX in flight, it will put all control surfaces to whatever they were when you originally bound (binded?) it. If the plane needed trim to pull the nose up, for example, and you didn't re-bind, the plane would nosedive if the RX lost signal in flight. Which would probably be a bad thing.
brwilkins is offline Find More Posts by brwilkins
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 09:22 PM
Registered User
Canada
Joined Jul 2009
7,004 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ufale View Post
OK, this is news to me. Why should I rebind after trimming?
Me, too. I've always bound once at the beginning. Have never had radio issues. I change trim almost every time I fly. Certainly these people can't be serious about having to re-bind before every flight? Is this deep seated in superstition or anal retentiveness?
Changing trim is no different than operating any of the sticks (like grossly adding and subtracting trim). Binding IDs the RX with the TX ("handshake" if you will). Once they talk the same language, it shouldn't matter what the conversation is.
I may be wrong so someone please offer a technical explanation rather than "I bind after every trim change and not a single issue".
xviper is offline Find More Posts by xviper
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 09:25 PM
Registered User
Canada
Joined Jul 2009
7,004 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brwilkins View Post
Because it sets your fail-safe settings to be in trim. Otherwise, if the RX loses connection to the TX in flight, it will put all control surfaces to whatever they were when you originally bound (binded?) it. If the plane needed trim to pull the nose up, for example, and you didn't re-bind, the plane would nosedive if the RX lost signal in flight. Which would probably be a bad thing.
It would be a bad thing if you lost signal anyway. What does it matter if the plane does a nose dive or just keeps flying into the sunset? I think the more important point was taking the necessary steps to prevent losing signal at all.
xviper is offline Find More Posts by xviper
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 09:26 PM
No meat = no pudding
brwilkins's Avatar
Machesney Park, IL
Joined Jul 2008
1,435 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xviper View Post
Me, too. I've always bound once at the beginning. Have never had radio issues. I change trim almost every time I fly. Certainly these people can't be serious about having to re-bind before every flight? Is this deep seated in superstition or anal retentiveness?
Changing trim is no different than operating any of the sticks (like grossly adding and subtracting trim). Binding IDs the RX with the TX ("handshake" if you will). Once they talk the same language, it shouldn't matter what the conversation is.
I may be wrong so someone please offer a technical explanation rather than "I bind after every trim change and not a single issue".
I don't personally see a need to rebind except after the first trim-out flight unless something significantly changes. You don't necessarily need to even rebind it after the trim-out flight unless significant trim changes are needed.

Just remember... however the control surfaces were (in trim, out of trim, way way out of trim) when you did the last bind, that's how the plane is gonna fly if/when it loses signal.
brwilkins is offline Find More Posts by brwilkins
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 09:31 PM
No meat = no pudding
brwilkins's Avatar
Machesney Park, IL
Joined Jul 2008
1,435 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xviper View Post
It would be a bad thing if you lost signal anyway. What does it matter if the plane does a nose dive or just keeps flying into the sunset? I think the more important point was taking the necessary steps to prevent losing signal at all.
It matters to me. Call me crazy, but when my plane loses signal, I'd really prefer that the throttle be cut and control surfaces go neutral. That seems like a better situation to me than the plane nosediving into the ground, going straight up into a stall which would also result in a nosedive, making a hard turn in one direction or another, etc. But, that's just my $.02 Everybody can setup their own planes however they want.
brwilkins is offline Find More Posts by brwilkins
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 09:54 PM
Die Meistertinkerer
Frankensteen's Avatar
United States, GA, Columbus
Joined Jan 2006
493 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brwilkins View Post
It matters to me. Call me crazy, but when my plane loses signal, I'd really prefer that the throttle be cut and control surfaces go neutral. That seems like a better situation to me than the plane nosediving into the ground, going straight up into a stall which would also result in a nosedive, making a hard turn in one direction or another, etc. But, that's just my $.02 Everybody can setup their own planes however they want.
I approach binding the same way for the same reason. : )
Frankensteen is offline Find More Posts by Frankensteen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 10:22 PM
I am UNIQUE!
Fig Jam's Avatar
Kentucky
Joined Feb 2008
1,345 Posts
Failsafe

Correct me if I'm wrong but if the Rx goes into default failsafe it holds all the servos at the last good signal position apart from the throttle which goes to a closed position.

Mike
Fig Jam is offline Find More Posts by Fig Jam
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 10:23 PM
No meat = no pudding
brwilkins's Avatar
Machesney Park, IL
Joined Jul 2008
1,435 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fig Jam View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong but if the Rx goes into default failsafe it holds all the servos at the last good signal position apart from the throttle which goes to a closed position.

Mike
Depends on how you bind it.
brwilkins is offline Find More Posts by brwilkins
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2012, 10:26 PM
I am UNIQUE!
Fig Jam's Avatar
Kentucky
Joined Feb 2008
1,345 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by brwilkins View Post
Depends on how you bind it.
That's why I said 'Default'

Mike
Fig Jam is offline Find More Posts by Fig Jam
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2012, 02:01 AM
half-ass Astronaut
jdubg23's Avatar
United States, CO, Lakewood
Joined Jan 2011
123 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fig Jam View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong but if the Rx goes into default failsafe it holds all the servos at the last good signal position apart from the throttle which goes to a closed position.

Mike
i was taught by someone with much more experience than i, that at least for SPEKTRUM rx's, the servos resort back to their trim position at "bind". so this is my story. got the scimitar and was imressed with the fit and finish. maidened it the next morning, first flight started off eventful. the plane needed so much up trim it was ridiculous, it bounced three times on takeoff because she kept wanting to dive! finally got her up and trimmed out, mucho up clicks maybe 1 click aileron. landed a bit hot... in my excitement to try the TV which i never turned on by the way, i failed to rebind the plane after trimming. so switched packs and tookoff again. 20ft off the deck i lose all control and she nose dives into the groundthe battery flew out, nose broke off, right wing departed airframe.... at first assessment it didnt seem so bad, a new right fin, a new spar, a new canopy, one stripped servo, and a bent motor shaft and prop/collet(like $85). horizon comped me all these parts upon learning of the disaster lol. after 10 or 12 successive flights i have since lost the TV servo and an elevon servo(another$100) i have to think due to the reduced lifespan after the imnpact. anyways... im not really sure what happened to this day, but i have just been under the assumption that i had a brownout or some other signal loss that caused her to go back to her untrimmed state and did a nosedive just like she wanted to on the maiden!!
jdubg23 is offline Find More Posts by jdubg23
Last edited by jdubg23; Feb 01, 2012 at 02:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2012, 02:11 AM
half-ass Astronaut
jdubg23's Avatar
United States, CO, Lakewood
Joined Jan 2011
123 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xviper View Post
Me, too. I've always bound once at the beginning. Have never had radio issues. I change trim almost every time I fly. Certainly these people can't be serious about having to re-bind before every flight? Is this deep seated in superstition or anal retentiveness?
Changing trim is no different than operating any of the sticks (like grossly adding and subtracting trim). Binding IDs the RX with the TX ("handshake" if you will). Once they talk the same language, it shouldn't matter what the conversation is.
I may be wrong so someone please offer a technical explanation rather than "I bind after every trim change and not a single issue".
i shouldnt think you would want to be retrimming for every flight. are you moving your batt around or do you not have good servos that recenter well?
jdubg23 is offline Find More Posts by jdubg23
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools