Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 02, 2012, 06:35 PM
Ahhgh! Not ANOTHER new plane!
Robert Stinson's Avatar
San Diego, CA
Joined Dec 2001
2,704 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotdog1 View Post
well Just open my PNP that i picked up at the LHS and I am very impressed yet another quality plane from horizon. and wow I was supprised by the size I was expecting something the size of my fun jet ultra. HOWEVER one thing ticks me off though I just went to install my 10-15 retracts that i had in my foam habu just to find out I need a special nose strut made just for this plane that is not included now I will have to wait till wed to get it from graves in orlando since my LHS dosn't have it
Just use the included fixed nose gear as a pattern and bend your retract strut to match. Two things; it needs to be bent back so it retracts into the body more, and it needs to be bent to one side to miss the steering linkage. That all the special one is.
Robert Stinson is offline Find More Posts by Robert Stinson
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 02, 2012, 06:38 PM
"Chuck Yeager"
hotdog1's Avatar
Bradenton FL
Joined Apr 2010
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Stinson View Post
Just use the included fixed nose gear as a pattern and bend your retract strut to match. Two things; it needs to be bent back so it retracts into the body more, and it needs to be bent to one side to miss the steering linkage. That all the special one is.

Darn!!! I already placed the order but thank you for the advice
hotdog1 is offline Find More Posts by hotdog1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2012, 09:22 PM
"Chuck Yeager"
hotdog1's Avatar
Bradenton FL
Joined Apr 2010
842 Posts
what are you guys using for differential the dx8 file has 26%
hotdog1 is offline Find More Posts by hotdog1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 12:21 AM
Fly Fast!
dbgood's Avatar
scotia ,NY
Joined Jul 2008
627 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotdog1 View Post
what are you guys using for differential the dx8 file has 26%
I just downloaded the Scimitar file to my Dx8 ,and got 26% differential
Also rudders at 126% for all positions.WOW!!
I just maidened it yesterday with my own throws,
and for aileron's differential i had all 3 D/R 50 to 53 %
Now its just 26%...cant figure it out in the manual
it says for high rate 21mm the opposite 38mm,
for low rate 17mm the opposite aireron 34mm,
thats what i had at first,50% to 53% differential,to get 21mm,and 17mm
now just 26%,so they really go up and down the same amount.Who knows
will have to see how it rolls when i fly it next time..
DB
dbgood is offline Find More Posts by dbgood
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 12:29 AM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,827 Posts
Robert Stinson,

Your Plane looks fantastic.

Thanks a million for the post....great pics!!!!


Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 09:16 AM
Registered User
Kannapolis, NC
Joined Nov 2007
186 Posts
DX7S Setup and Front Servo Binding issues.

Fixed the Servo binding issue while retracted. I plugged in the front servo into the Aux 2 slot and is activated by the "F Mode Switch" and mixed it with rudder. I hit gear and f mode switch gear comes down and has full steering mixed with rudder. Flip switches other direction gear up and front servo is disabled but full rudder throws.
dtacmed is offline Find More Posts by dtacmed
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 09:34 AM
More Motors, More Fun... :-)
nioa's Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
Joined Jan 2008
685 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Stinson View Post
I am almost exclusively a warbird flyer. When I saw the Scimitar at the LHS, I immediately pondered how to "militarize" it. I recalled all of the experimental plane designs that never saw flight during WW2, and figured it'd be a good concept. Whaddya think? No espousement of political philosophy in my choice, just a cool color scheme......
Robert Stinson,
There's a lot of wow factor there. Very impressive. Thanks for sharing your very creative and imaginative plane with us.

Nick
nioa is offline Find More Posts by nioa
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: VQ Models T-34 Mentor 61.4"...
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 04:37 PM
Registered User
stanordave's Avatar
Joined Jan 2006
2,376 Posts
A rudder servo stripped its gears and the LHS didn't have any and said they are backordered. Found out a ParkZOne DSV 130M is a drop in fit. Even the control horn fit. Considerd putting in two to keep them matched but the new one works the same as the old one so it wasn't necessary.

Also, lost 3 of the 4 wing bolts! So check yours perhaps? Happened to have some slightly longer ones that worked perfectly.

Cheers,
Mike
stanordave is offline Find More Posts by stanordave
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 11:16 PM
"Chuck Yeager"
hotdog1's Avatar
Bradenton FL
Joined Apr 2010
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanordave View Post
Also, lost 3 of the 4 wing bolts! So check yours perhaps? Happened to have some slightly longer ones that worked perfectly.
Cheers,
Mike
thats what i used to mount the wings were the long bolts were they not the right ones to use ? they snugged up just fine. I am waiting for the fedex man this am for my retract struts then i will be ready to fly in the evening


OH by the way how many of you guys balanced your props? mine was way off more than my usual apc prop ever is
hotdog1 is offline Find More Posts by hotdog1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 01:08 AM
Fly Fast!
dbgood's Avatar
scotia ,NY
Joined Jul 2008
627 Posts
Scimitar 5S

Hi guys,
I think im gonna take off my Apc 10x10 prop,put on the 10x8 and 8x8 prop,
and run it on 5S 3300.I have a ICE 100 in it so im gonna see what it runs on the wattsupmeter with the 10x8 and a 8x8 prop before i give it a flight.
trying to find out how much the motor can take but cant find any info.
If i see way to many watts and amps,then i'll just put the 10x10,and run it on
4S again.
But i really want to try 5S..
dbgood is offline Find More Posts by dbgood
Last edited by dbgood; Jan 04, 2012 at 01:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 01:13 AM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,827 Posts
dbgood,

I would say that is no need to step back down to 4S again.

You can always reduce the 5S prop's pitch if you need a little AMP reduction.


Have fun,

Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 01:39 AM
Fly Fast!
dbgood's Avatar
scotia ,NY
Joined Jul 2008
627 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GryphonRCU View Post
dbgood,

I would say that is no need to step back down to 4S again.

You can always reduce the 5S prop's pitch if you need a little AMP reduction.


Have fun,

Gryphon
Yea Gryphon i hear ya..
I figure stock setup,10x8,4S ..about 58 amps,mid 800 watts
so a 5S im gonna see what she pulls,sure its gonna be alot higher.
Then i'll put on the 8x8 and see what that pulls..Dont know if the 8 inch prop on 5S will be enough thrust. Soon i'll test both props and share to everyone..
Dan
dbgood is offline Find More Posts by dbgood
Last edited by dbgood; Jan 04, 2012 at 01:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 08:04 AM
"Chuck Yeager"
hotdog1's Avatar
Bradenton FL
Joined Apr 2010
842 Posts
I was planing on doing the same thing I have an ice100 laying here but it makes me nervious that I cant find any specs on the motor at all and since i haven't even flown mine yet i dont want to have to replace a $80 motor of worst half a plane from a motor failure induced crash.

so I am really intested to hear your result
hotdog1 is offline Find More Posts by hotdog1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 08:17 AM
No meat = no pudding
brwilkins's Avatar
Machesney Park, IL
Joined Jul 2008
1,430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotdog1 View Post
I was planing on doing the same thing I have an ice100 laying here but it makes me nervious that I cant find any specs on the motor at all and since i haven't even flown mine yet i dont want to have to replace a $80 motor of worst half a plane from a motor failure induced crash.

so I am really intested to hear your result
I'm in 'wait and see' mode as well. I'm kind of hoping that somebody is going to identify a motor that's a simple 5S or 6S drop-in replacement motor for the stock one. If there was a Scorpion or something else that would just bolt into the stock mount so that thrust vectoring could still be used, etc, I'd swap mine out. I don't want to be the guy that does the experimenting to figure that out though.
brwilkins is offline Find More Posts by brwilkins
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 09:04 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Cypress
Joined Jan 2012
891 Posts
Horizon hobby main site site says it has a: Motor Size: 32-size 1010Kv Brushless Outrunner (installed)
If y'all were still wondering
corsair2014 is offline Find More Posts by corsair2014
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools