HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 23, 2012, 02:31 AM
FPV! and nothing else matters.
guy1a's Avatar
Israel, Haifa
Joined Aug 2010
1,891 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnygogo View Post
if you look at the product on hk website(link above your post) you can see on the second picture that the inputs are very clear...
i am sorry, i must have been not clear .. i meant for the cl-osd ...
i connected a 2nd battery to the 2nd battery connection and it is not working ... and i have found in the thread thta i should connect the rssi pin to the 2nd battery port.

i think it means that some where in the code it changes the path ... ?
guy1a is online now Find More Posts by guy1a
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 23, 2012, 04:19 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2010
255 Posts
cl-osd is that one just with other firmware right, or am i mistaken?
vinnygogo is offline Find More Posts by vinnygogo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 08:56 AM
Registered User
yzguy's Avatar
Florida
Joined Mar 2007
891 Posts
there is no difference in 1 vs 2 for the osd. It is supposed to have a faster gps unit, but that is debatable. The GPS unit is a little smaller (mostly just the pcb) and I think a tad lighter, but the OSD part looks to be identical to the first. (I'm also assuming you are talking about the GOSD 1 or 2 and not the EOSD, the EOSD does not have all three inputs from the factory)

the code allows you to turn on and off different inputs, but you still use bat1, bat2 and rssi inputs.
yzguy is offline Find More Posts by yzguy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: wing wing z-84 fpv setup
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 03:09 PM
FPV! and nothing else matters.
guy1a's Avatar
Israel, Haifa
Joined Aug 2010
1,891 Posts
so where is the rssi connected ??
and how come i can see only B1 and % on the display ?

thanks.
guy1a is online now Find More Posts by guy1a
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 04:37 PM
Registered User
yzguy's Avatar
Florida
Joined Mar 2007
891 Posts
don't you see bat1 bat2 and rssi in the pic?

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=19832

the display can have things turned on or off depending on code changes. Also you have to select the right thing you are building for when you build the code (there is EOSD and GOSD and a couple other options)
yzguy is offline Find More Posts by yzguy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: wing wing z-84 fpv setup
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 09:00 AM
FPV! and nothing else matters.
guy1a's Avatar
Israel, Haifa
Joined Aug 2010
1,891 Posts
ok..

1st, this is what i have http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ing_E_OSD.html

2nd, it has two batteries in stock program... but after the cl-osd program it has only single battery.
look in this pic of my flight from yesterday.

so iam asking if i can use more then single battery here.

thanks
guy1a is online now Find More Posts by guy1a
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 01:07 PM
Registered User
yzguy's Avatar
Florida
Joined Mar 2007
891 Posts
Im not sure. I have not. programed that one yet. But i do know this one only has 2 inputs so you can do rssi and voltage or 2 voltages.
yzguy is offline Find More Posts by yzguy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: wing wing z-84 fpv setup
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 03:52 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2010
255 Posts
how and wich gps can you connect to an e-osd? and why should you use an e-osd with another gps instead of the g-osd? is it cheaper?
vinnygogo is offline Find More Posts by vinnygogo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 05:19 AM
Registered User
Canberra, Australia
Joined Jan 2008
60 Posts
CL-OSD fails in ground-station

I recently built a diversity rx/ground-station box and wanted to add an OSD to it (to display rx rssi and battery voltage) so I grabbed my trusty cl-osd (E_OSD) and hooked it up. Alas no text is displayed whatsoever, not even a flicker! Yet the light turns solid when connected to vid suggesting that the sync was found ok.

I then connected the same E_OSD inline with the tx/cam and it worked perfectly...

Next up I grabbed an E_OSD that I had not yet burned cl-osd onto and to my surprise it *does* work on the rx end, which gives me hope!

Any ideas what's going on here?

My camera is a gopro in PAL mode, tx is a fatshark 100mw 5.8Ghz.
Ground-station is two custom-made airwave 5.8ghz rx modules going into a max4545 switch, controlled by an arduino.

I've tried two monitors, my fatshark dominators, and a cheapo 7" LCD from ebay, both behave as described above.

Any ideas to try would be welcome, I'm quite comfortable modifying the code.

Dave
davico is offline Find More Posts by davico
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 09:40 AM
Registered User
yzguy's Avatar
Florida
Joined Mar 2007
891 Posts
well I am using a stock Eosd for a small GS, to show GS voltage and a timer. Works fine stock, so I did not even program that one.
yzguy is offline Find More Posts by yzguy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: wing wing z-84 fpv setup
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2012, 12:03 AM
Registered User
United States, MN, Rochester
Joined Oct 2004
57 Posts
Hey there, I could use a hand..
I downloaded the compiled files for E-OSD from :
http://code.google.com/p/cl-osd/sour...Ftrunk%2FE-OSD
Ran the following per the wiki:
C:\>avrdude.exe -p m88 -c usbasp -U flash:w:"cl-osd.hex" -U eeprom:w:"cl-osd.eep

avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude.exe: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.02s

avrdude.exe: Device signature = 0x1e930a
avrdude.exe: NOTE: FLASH memory has been specified, an erase cycle will be performed
To disable this feature, specify the -D option.
avrdude.exe: current erase-rewrite cycle count is -117833985 (if being tracked)
avrdude.exe: erasing chip
avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude.exe: reading input file "cl-osd.hex"
avrdude.exe: input file cl-osd.hex auto detected as invalid format
avrdude.exe: invalid input file format: -1
avrdude.exe: write to file 'cl-osd.hex' failed

avrdude.exe: safemode: Fuses OK

avrdude.exe done. Thank you.

Did I download the wrong 'cl-osd.hex' ? I do not plan to make changes so, not planning to download and compile source but, I guess that is the next step...

Apparently "Device signature = 0x1e930a" means I have ATmega88A.
sandmaninator is offline Find More Posts by sandmaninator
Last edited by sandmaninator; Mar 01, 2012 at 10:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2012, 06:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
11 Posts
Hi all.
I can not organize your settings.
Even if I did not touch konfig.h file is still on the video display strange figures.
Rec#11 (2 min 52 sec)

Why ?
hatuul is offline Find More Posts by hatuul
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2012, 06:12 PM
Opt
Registered User
New Zealand, Auckland
Joined Oct 2010
397 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy1a View Post
ok..

1st, this is what i have http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ing_E_OSD.html

2nd, it has two batteries in stock program... but after the cl-osd program it has only single battery.
look in this pic of my flight from yesterday.

so iam asking if i can use more then single battery here.

thanks
Hang on, so you can use a GPS with the E-OSD? Does the GPS signal just input to a voltage input?
Opt is offline Find More Posts by Opt
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2012, 11:15 PM
Registered User
United States, MN, Rochester
Joined Oct 2004
57 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opt View Post
Hang on, so you can use a GPS with the E-OSD? Does the GPS signal just input to a voltage input?
Leprud did it. See post # 534. You would need to be able to solder very, very, very small contacts to be able to use GPS with E-OSD.
sandmaninator is offline Find More Posts by sandmaninator
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2012, 04:52 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Dallas
Joined Dec 2010
95 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatuul View Post
Hi all.
I can not organize your settings.
Even if I did not touch konfig.h file is still on the video display strange figures.
http://youtu.be/IayEu7Ik-zY
Why ?
I experience the same - all my voltage numbers and coordinates are just a set of strange symbols after compiling and flashing following the instructions. I have a G-OSD and NTSC camera, so I have to change settings in config. Can somebody help with an advice? Is it the eeprom part that is affecting the symbols on the display?
thebgrian is offline Find More Posts by thebgrian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 11:07 AM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 06:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 02:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 05:22 PM