HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 13, 2012, 01:47 PM
Registered User
Joern's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
26 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by i3dm View Post
Is this the line ?

//#define TEXT_COMPASS_ENABLED //Enable compass when no statistics is shown.
Yes
Joern is offline Find More Posts by Joern
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 13, 2012, 02:07 PM
RC pilot by soul
Israel
Joined Apr 2005
2,477 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joern View Post
Yes
Thank you.

while its raining continously here, does anyone have a screen shot of the above compass enabled ?
i3dm is offline Find More Posts by i3dm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2012, 03:06 PM
Registered User
Joern's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
26 Posts
GPS coordinates accurate?

I flew several times with the G-OSD II and the stock gps module. All worked verry well including home vector, distance and so on. Because of this I think the GPS module is fully functional. I changed the firmware to show the coordinates during the flight, so I can record the coordinates in case the plane might go lost. Now I tried to put the coordinates in Google Maps (#define GPS_GOOGLE_FORMAT, both backslashes are deleted). The location of this coordinates are nearly 70KM north of my location. I had a stable fix with six sattelites.

Has anyone tried to put the coordinates into google before? Could this be an error in calculating the coordinates?

Regards
Joern
Joern is offline Find More Posts by Joern
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2012, 06:42 PM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Jul 2011
2 Posts
So, is G-OSD II faster and more accurate than the original one? I read that there was some "lag" on the earlier version due to the GPS module being only 1hz? Is this improved?
cfelicio is offline Find More Posts by cfelicio
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2012, 07:02 PM
RC pilot by soul
Israel
Joined Apr 2005
2,477 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joern View Post
I flew several times with the G-OSD II and the stock gps module. All worked verry well including home vector, distance and so on. Because of this I think the GPS module is fully functional. I changed the firmware to show the coordinates during the flight, so I can record the coordinates in case the plane might go lost. Now I tried to put the coordinates in Google Maps (#define GPS_GOOGLE_FORMAT, both backslashes are deleted). The location of this coordinates are nearly 70KM north of my location. I had a stable fix with six sattelites.

Has anyone tried to put the coordinates into google before? Could this be an error in calculating the coordinates?

Regards
Joern
we had the same happen here with eagle tree, and then noticed that 35.45 can say 35 hours and 45 mins or .45 might mean slightly less than 50% which is like 25 mins - this is where the relatively small deviation comes from.

try to convert as i said and see if that cures it ! - basically convert decimal to minutes of vise versa.
i3dm is offline Find More Posts by i3dm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2012, 10:57 PM
Registered User
Joern's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
26 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfelicio View Post
So, is G-OSD II faster and more accurate than the original one? I read that there was some "lag" on the earlier version due to the GPS module being only 1hz? Is this improved?
No it's only a 1Hz GPS module.

Regards
Jörn
Joern is offline Find More Posts by Joern
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2012, 11:14 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Ventura
Joined Aug 2007
688 Posts
My gosdII says 4hz....
MauiNate is offline Find More Posts by MauiNate
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2012, 12:11 AM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
lies
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 14, 2012, 02:08 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Ventura
Joined Aug 2007
688 Posts
Doh!
MauiNate is offline Find More Posts by MauiNate
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2012, 02:21 AM
Registered User
Joern's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
26 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MauiNate View Post
My gosdII says 4hz....
This is the datasheet of the GPS Module from G-OSD II.

http://iteadstudio.com/store/images/...CDatasheet.pdf

Have a look at page 13 -> 1HZ :-(

Regards
Joern
Joern is offline Find More Posts by Joern
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2012, 08:04 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Jan 2011
255 Posts
i really dont know how to update my avrdude, its really old it doesnt have the m88p or m88pa, which what i got, please i need help, when i followed the instructions after i i input "sh ./configure" then im stuck and trying to type "make" doesnt work it says no makefile is found, when i typed sh ./configure at the end it says, Configure: no acceptable C compiler found in the $PATH, please i need help how to update my AVRDUDE
Zombee is offline Find More Posts by Zombee
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 12:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2011
18 Posts
E-OSD with GPS: 2hz

Hello,

as promised: Here is a video of my E-OSD with 2Hz updatrate for both OSD and GPS.

You can see the fast updates. Video consists of launch, flyby (watch home-arrow) and landing (watch speed go back to 0).

E-OSD 2Hz update rate CL-OSD and GPS: Launch, Flyby and Landing (0 min 39 sec)
after.burner is offline Find More Posts by after.burner
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2012, 12:39 PM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
do you have circular polarized or just a patch?
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 16, 2012, 01:12 AM
Registered User
BigJimNZ's Avatar
Auckland New Zealand
Joined Sep 2010
1,294 Posts
Hi guys need a hand here


Sorry for the newb questions but......

+ - 5 volts needs to be applied to the board whilst programming ?
Do I need to connect the ground and + 5v back to the header ?
Or do I only need the rst, sck, miso, mosi connected to my programmer which is an avrisp2

Thanks for your help
BigJimNZ is offline Find More Posts by BigJimNZ
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2012, 01:51 AM
Registered User
BigJimNZ's Avatar
Auckland New Zealand
Joined Sep 2010
1,294 Posts
...
BigJimNZ is offline Find More Posts by BigJimNZ
Last edited by BigJimNZ; Jan 16, 2012 at 03:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 11:07 AM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 06:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 02:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 05:22 PM