HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 29, 2011, 08:12 AM
MyFlyDream
erazotropa's Avatar
The Netherlands
Joined Jun 2010
414 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by schumixmd View Post
what fixes do you need?
it still cannot predict your next turn
lol

Well i would know if the Repository is up to date with all new code fixes discussed here
erazotropa is offline Find More Posts by erazotropa
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 31, 2011, 05:59 AM
Expert
Joined Mar 2007
83 Posts
i just test v2 g-osd with this firmware
all good, but speed is wrong
looks like it is double then real.
my easy star fly at 120km/h ;;-)
redsonic is offline Find More Posts by redsonic
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2012, 10:46 AM
Registered User
yzguy's Avatar
Florida
Joined Mar 2007
891 Posts
oh, does increasing the refresh rate affect the speed calc maybe?
yzguy is offline Find More Posts by yzguy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: wing wing z-84 fpv setup
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2012, 11:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2011
18 Posts
No LOS / Home Arrow with E-OSD

Hello guys,

I'm using CL-OSD with E-OSD and a Trenz PA6C NMEA GPS Module. The GPS indicates speed correctly. However LOS always stays at 0 and home arrow does not move a bit, even when flying. Alt is weird too.

I'm using the latest version (r85) straight from the repository. Only change: Change GPS-Baud from 4800 to 9600 in config.h.

The GPS-Coordinates that are shown below the "No home pos" text go to my current position if I put them into maps.google.com (and replace : with Space). The "No home pos" disappears when I start the plane. Also the little home-icon goes from crossed out to not crossed out after starting the plane.

Any ideas on what the problem could be?

Edit:

Here is a little vid that show the problem. LOS stays at 0 even when I move 10m in either direction.

(This VID was done with enabled #define HOME_SET_AT_FIX as I didn't want to run >10km/h for home set. Also I sped up the part where home is set)


E-OSD no LOS no Home arrow (1 min 45 sec)
after.burner is offline Find More Posts by after.burner
Last edited by after.burner; Jan 01, 2012 at 03:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2012, 06:37 PM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
props for getting the stuff wired up but honestly i dont know. i gave up on my gps/eosd combo, it's sitting in a box in my closet

i caved in and bought g-osd
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 02, 2012, 01:11 AM
Registered User
BigJimNZ's Avatar
Auckland New Zealand
Joined Sep 2010
1,296 Posts
Subscribed and G-OSD2 on the way.
Thanks for sorting the issues for us down here that fly inverted by default
BigJimNZ is online now Find More Posts by BigJimNZ
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2012, 11:11 AM
Expert
Joined Mar 2007
83 Posts
cl-osd speed (0 min 13 sec)

you can see
the speed is about 100km/h
but real speed is about 44km/h
(146m for 12 sec)
redsonic is offline Find More Posts by redsonic
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2012, 12:02 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
1,177 Posts
Hi all,

Just joined the party with a G-OSD II - flashed with the current firmware and flown today. I have not played with anything in the code yet, but did notice the same issue with over reading speed. My slow correx wing got to 189 on one downwind run Everything else seemed to work fine - so a big thanks to all who have got this project to where it is today.

Any thoughts on what needs changing to get an accurate speed?

Malcolm
highviz is offline Find More Posts by highviz
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2012, 12:33 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2011
18 Posts
Got my E-OSD to work! The reason for my problems: GPS Checksums were invalid 99% of the time @ 9600 baud. I switched to 4800 baud and everything works like a charm. Here is a patch that will make the satellite symbol blink if the OSD receives GPS data with wrong checksum.

Code:
--- Temp/layou-revBASE.svn001.tmp.h	Mo Okt 31 23:01:25 2011
+++ CL-OSD/layout.h	Mo Jan  2 19:02:39 2012
@@ -138,7 +138,9 @@
 			pos = printText(gText[textId], pos+3, "\147");
 		}
 		
-		pos = printText(gText[textId], TEXT_LINE_MAX_CHARS-10, "\150");
+		if (gGpsLastData.checksumValid> 0 || gBlink1Hz) {
+  		  pos = printText(gText[textId], TEXT_LINE_MAX_CHARS-10, "\150");
+		}		
 		pos = printText(gText[textId], TEXT_LINE_MAX_CHARS-5, "ALT");
 		//pos = printText(gText[textId], pos-2, "\144-\145");
 #endif //GPS_ENABLED

Also I switched to 2 hz update rate on GPS and OSD. Judging from my ground test this is way more reactive than 1 Hz. I'll try to post a flying vid soon.
after.burner is offline Find More Posts by after.burner
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2012, 03:30 PM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
thank you, glad you got it to work! you've outdone me for sure lol.
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 02, 2012, 04:53 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chatch15117 View Post
LOS is wrong sometimes when i'm right overhead. for example altitude will be 1200m and LOS only is 800m or so.
LOS does not account for altitude since that calculation is a bit harder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by i3dm View Post
Guys,

Does any one of the new versions of CL-OSD support a current sensor already ?
Already? I did some test but I don't have much time right now. All the code is there just hack away!

Quote:
Originally Posted by after.burner View Post
Does anybody successfully use an update rate of 2Hz or more for E-OSD and GPS?. Do you see less latency than at 1Hz? (eg. for home arrow)? What is the highest rate you have successfully tried?

I tried 4Hz for OSD-Loop and GPS Globaltop PA6C GPS @9600 baud. I limited GPS-Messages to GGA and RMC so it used about 70% of Bandwidth @9600. Result: Sometimes very strange values are displayed (e.g. 110 satellites are tracked) - I guess it is transmit-errors. Has anybody else seen this behaviour?
I haven't tested any other settings than 4800 but if I have some time I could look into why it's not working so good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MauiNate View Post
Is there any way to implement an rpm sensor?

I also read earlier in the thread that the 3rd pot does nothing with the new firmware, is that still true?
Depends on the output of the sensor, if it's a analog level it could be done.
If it's a pulse it's a bit harder...

Yes, the third pot is unused...

Quote:
Originally Posted by after.burner View Post
Hello guys,

I'm using CL-OSD with E-OSD and a Trenz PA6C NMEA GPS Module. The GPS indicates speed correctly. However LOS always stays at 0 and home arrow does not move a bit, even when flying. Alt is weird too.
Somehow the speed is not read correctly. As above I haven't tested the code at that speed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by redsonic View Post
you can see
the speed is about 100km/h
but real speed is about 44km/h
(146m for 12 sec)
This might be caused by your GPS outputing speed in km/h instead of knots as the G-OSD GPS do. I didn't implement any check for that I think.
Ex: 44*1.85 = 81.4 (knots to km/h)

Quote:
Originally Posted by after.burner View Post
Got my E-OSD to work! The reason for my problems: GPS Checksums were invalid 99% of the time @ 9600 baud. I switched to 4800 baud and everything works like a charm. Here is a patch that will make the satellite symbol blink if the OSD receives GPS data with wrong checksum.

Code:
--- Temp/layou-revBASE.svn001.tmp.h	Mo Okt 31 23:01:25 2011
+++ CL-OSD/layout.h	Mo Jan  2 19:02:39 2012
@@ -138,7 +138,9 @@
 			pos = printText(gText[textId], pos+3, "\147");
 		}
 		
-		pos = printText(gText[textId], TEXT_LINE_MAX_CHARS-10, "\150");
+		if (gGpsLastData.checksumValid> 0 || gBlink1Hz) {
+  		  pos = printText(gText[textId], TEXT_LINE_MAX_CHARS-10, "\150");
+		}		
 		pos = printText(gText[textId], TEXT_LINE_MAX_CHARS-5, "ALT");
 		//pos = printText(gText[textId], pos-2, "\144-\145");
 #endif //GPS_ENABLED

Also I switched to 2 hz update rate on GPS and OSD. Judging from my ground test this is way more reactive than 1 Hz. I'll try to post a flying vid soon.
Nice, will try to add that...
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2012, 05:04 PM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
thank you for responding callelj! I did not know that it doesn't include altitude. I actually prefer that, maybe I will change it from LOS to DIS or DIST. The math is kind of simple for real LOS. sqrt(|(x-x1)^2+(y-y1)^2+(z-z1)^2|)

x, y, z = your position, x1, y1, z1 = home position
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 02, 2012, 05:38 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
1,177 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsonic
you can see
the speed is about 100km/h
but real speed is about 44km/h
(146m for 12 sec)
This might be caused by your GPS outputing speed in km/h instead of knots as the G-OSD GPS do. I didn't implement any check for that I think.
Ex: 44*1.85 = 81.4 (knots to km/h)
Could be the same problem I've got with the newer gps provided with the G-OSD too.

Have been looking through the code to see if there was a multiplier in there for speed, but being a novice at this, have not been able to find it. I was going to do some test runs in the car at known speeds to check it properly, but would appreciate it if you could direct me to the right file location to change...

Thanks

Malcolm
highviz is offline Find More Posts by highviz
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2012, 06:13 PM
Registered User
United States, TX
Joined Oct 2010
331 Posts
Had mine up and running for a little while. I want to remove the second voltage reading as well as the RSSI indicator from the display. I dont use either of those and want to clean my screen up a bit. Ive gone through the config and layout files but cant seem to find any specific lines that refer to those directly.
Slaphappysamy is offline Find More Posts by Slaphappysamy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2012, 09:06 PM
Registered User
mark963's Avatar
United States, IA, Cedar Rapids
Joined Apr 2006
477 Posts
If the speed thing isn't kmph to knots, then you might check the bit definitions to make sure something isn't getting shoved off by a bit - a factor of 2. If someone was driving on the interstate and got an accurate reading of real speed to what the OSD was reading, that might help to troubleshoot the issue, too.
mark963 is offline Find More Posts by mark963
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 11:07 AM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 06:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 02:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 05:22 PM