Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 03, 2011, 04:16 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Parity: I tested r57 on my new G-OSD just now and it works like a sharm. And btw this board has a atmega88pa chip.

Are you using PAL and could you test another camera?
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 03, 2011, 05:01 PM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
Testing I have done so far:
I tried a different camera, a cheap Sony 1/3 CCD: Same problem.
I tried moving the lines up and down a bit: Same problem.
I tried lowering TEXT_LINES to 3: Same problem.

May it be the length of my connection wires?
I have two wires on the Cam, each 20cm. One to the TX, one to the OSD.

But then why should it only appear with the new revisions.
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2011, 11:53 PM
Registered User
charlienofun's Avatar
United States, CA, Santa Clara
Joined Mar 2008
374 Posts
I installed avrstudio and was able to compile after putting in the basic settings in config.h now I really want to load it on the device

Anyone else having trouble getting the E-OSD board talking with avrdude? I can't connect to it with my usbtiny (known working, I have used it to burn chips with arduino ide). I have triple checked my solder and pin connections with multimeter. The OSD lights up when its connected (I'm powering it from my programmer but also tried with an external power source).

any ideas? Also I tried this on my windows 7 32 box and on my macbook both yield the rc=-1 error

avrdude -c usbtiny -p m88

Tried slowing it down didn't make a difference.

avrdude -c usbtiny -p m88 -b 32

avrdude -c usbtiny -p m88 -b 250

I have a 2nd E-OSD I could test, but it isn't soldered up yet.

Charlie
charlienofun is offline Find More Posts by charlienofun
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2011, 01:05 AM
Ikaruswannab
Joined Sep 2009
968 Posts
E-OSD with GPS

...
teopbako is offline Find More Posts by teopbako
Last edited by teopbako; Oct 04, 2011 at 01:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2011, 01:15 AM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Parity: Might be the cables but as you said why should the revision change make any difference? I made some major changes in r53 regarding text layout and drawing so there must be an error there somewhere. Have you tested without connecting the gps?

charlienofun: If the E-OSD still work (shows text) then there must be a bad wire somewhere. Did you swap MISO and MOSI?

If the E-OSD do not work you might have changed the fuses and changing them bad is really hard.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2011, 04:25 AM
RC pilot by soul
Israel
Joined Apr 2005
2,475 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlienofun View Post
I installed avrstudio and was able to compile after putting in the basic settings in config.h now I really want to load it on the device

Anyone else having trouble getting the E-OSD board talking with avrdude? I can't connect to it with my usbtiny (known working, I have used it to burn chips with arduino ide). I have triple checked my solder and pin connections with multimeter. The OSD lights up when its connected (I'm powering it from my programmer but also tried with an external power source).

any ideas? Also I tried this on my windows 7 32 box and on my macbook both yield the rc=-1 error

avrdude -c usbtiny -p m88

Tried slowing it down didn't make a difference.

avrdude -c usbtiny -p m88 -b 32

avrdude -c usbtiny -p m88 -b 250

I have a 2nd E-OSD I could test, but it isn't soldered up yet.

Charlie
i had some trouble with this line also, and got rc-1, but when i put all files in c: and ran the command to flash them - it worked with AVRdude and USBTINY. i have a copy of the line in a past post by me in this thread. can you try it ?
i3dm is online now Find More Posts by i3dm
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2011, 06:47 AM
Registered User
(Jo)Hannes's Avatar
Trier, Germany
Joined Aug 2007
512 Posts
So, i got my E-OSD this days and i want to use the CL-OSD GPS fimware with it.

I allready have experience in SMD soldering and AVR programming. If i got it rights this is all i need to do:

1. Attach the ISP to the right pins
2. flash the cl-osd.hex
3. solder TX of the GPS to RX of the mega88 (pin 30)

Thats it? do i have to change the fuses of the chip?

Thanks
Johannes
(Jo)Hannes is offline Find More Posts by (Jo)Hannes
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2011, 07:04 AM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
It is important to flash cl-osd.hex into flash AND cl-osd.eep into Eeprom.
Only with Flash and Eeprom flashed cl-osd can work.
Do not change fuses! (unless you really know what you are doing)

Parity
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2011, 07:18 AM
Registered User
(Jo)Hannes's Avatar
Trier, Germany
Joined Aug 2007
512 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parity View Post
It is important to flash cl-osd.hex into flash AND cl-osd.eep into Eeprom.
Only with Flash and Eeprom flashed cl-osd can work.
Do not change fuses! (unless you really know what you are doing)

Parity

OK, must have missed the part with the Eeprom file.
I know what i am doing, not the first time i flash an AVR.
If the fuses are allright as is, i don't need to flash them.

Thanks
Johannes
(Jo)Hannes is offline Find More Posts by (Jo)Hannes
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2011, 07:19 AM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
I would say don't change fuses even if you know what you are doing.

I broke the soldering on my E-OSD+GPS yesterday so I took it to work today to repair.
It proved quite hard since some parts of the pcb had been torn of. But I took some pictures that might help others solder the connection.

Don't know if this is the best approach but it works...

Edit: First picture is a board with broken µP, second and third is another board with the soldered GPS pins beeing fixed. Just added the first to give some idea about how it looked before soldering.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Last edited by callelj; Oct 11, 2011 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2011, 07:29 AM
Registered User
schumixmd's Avatar
Moldova
Joined Jun 2010
1,078 Posts
nice approach callelj. I didn't think about that and was dealing with tiny wires that breaks very easy.
schumixmd is online now Find More Posts by schumixmd
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 04, 2011, 07:32 AM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by callelj View Post
I would say don't change fuses even if you know what you are doing.
True, true. But I couldn't write that, as I changed fuses (activated EESAVE) and I am happy with it.

But generally speaking: Do not change fuses, it will work perfectly if you leave the fuses what they are.

@callelj: nice soldering skills, at least with the repair
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2011, 07:33 AM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Thanks. But this is quite easy to break as well so you must make sure it stabilized good.

The best approach must be to solder tiny muti core wires and place the connector somewhere stable. But that's a bit much work for me.

Parity: Thanks! But it's so much easier with a microscope! I soldered the connector without microscope the first time thought...
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2011, 07:35 AM
Registered User
(Jo)Hannes's Avatar
Trier, Germany
Joined Aug 2007
512 Posts
Nice idea to solder it that way ;_)
I Think ill solder a small wire to keep the footprint of the osd small.
Ill show some pics if i have it ready.
(Jo)Hannes is offline Find More Posts by (Jo)Hannes
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2011, 08:46 AM
Registered User
fr3d-nexus's Avatar
France (near the ch'ti village)
Joined Apr 2007
133 Posts
G-osd issue

hye all,
I've received my g-osd
have a pb power it with 3S and after a while I still have the camera pictures but all OSd informations diseppear

Like a remzibi I've solder a huge wire of copper on 78L05 big ground pin, in order to dissipate a little more. But another trouble came : after a while osd informations dissepear or osd made a reset loop


do you think I can power it directly with a 5v from immersion video Tx and bypassing the 78L05 ?
fr3d-nexus is offline Find More Posts by fr3d-nexus
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 11:07 AM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 06:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 02:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 05:22 PM