HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 18, 2011, 03:39 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Baggus: I always use the following line:

avrdude.exe -p m88 -c usbasp -U flash:w:"cl-osd.hex" -U eeprom:w:"cl-osd.eep"

You might have to change the paths to the files...
This line will flash both flash and eeprom.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 18, 2011, 03:44 PM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
callelj:
I am pretty sure, I can read it on the chip of my G-OSD.
It has "ATMEL MEGA88PA" written on it.
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 03:47 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2010
83 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by callelj View Post
Parity: Are you sure it's a ATmega88PA? I have always programmed as a ATmega88. Maybee there is no difference?

The USBASP do not work in AVR Studio. At least not mine...
But my stk500 and my AVR mkII works.
holy poop

just clicked "continue anyway" in extreme burner with the ATmega88 selected and it worked

was afraid to continue before because i thought it could brick my osd

going to hook it up to a cam and tv right now brb
Baggus is offline Find More Posts by Baggus
Last edited by Baggus; Nov 06, 2011 at 02:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 03:50 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Parity: Ok, strange. Mine reads:
ATMEL
MEGA88
20M....
......

... = More letters and numbers
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 04:32 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2010
83 Posts
a picture can tell a 1000 words:
Baggus is offline Find More Posts by Baggus
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 04:39 PM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
Yeah, cool Baggus.

Little to much data on the screen for my taste. Have posted my layout earlier, but already changed since then.
Unfortunatly with goggles its not so easy to make a "screenshot".

I do have mine ready to fly now. With RSSI working (for me), altitude above home and a nice screen layout. I added the hex-file, if someone wants to have a look at it.
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Last edited by Parity; Sep 18, 2011 at 05:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 02:04 AM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Baggus: Nice! :-)

Do anybody have an G-OSD that I can buy?
Preferably someone in Europe.
They seem to be back ordered at HK.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 03:42 AM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Never mind about buying a G-OSD.

The got back into stock now so I ordered a new one!
The donations payed a part of the cost at least.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 04:41 AM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
Wouldnt a E-OSD have been sufficient in your case? As far as I understood you, it is basically a G-OSD with different firmware and of course without the GPS-module?
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 04:51 AM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Parity: Yes, I will work on an extra E-OSD I bought from a friend until I get my G-OSD.
But I like the pots and extra inputs of the G-OSD and soldered cables on the E-OSD might come lose during flight => bad!
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 05:59 AM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
Not really software-related, I know, but I would like to know: I had a hard time getting a fix yesterday. Took me more than 20 minutes. Tried to restart after 10 minutes, but didn't help. I don't think I will be so patient, when I actually want to fly.
What is your experience? Manual said somthing like 60 seconds to fix, I am far from that.
How many satellites do you get? I was with (only?) 4 sat yesterday.
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 06:14 AM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Parity: I have seen some problems with fix as well. I think that the gps-module is far from top quality.
I saw somewhere that placing the gps module on some aluminium foil might improve performance.
When I was walking around testing the cl-osd the other week I first had some problems getting a fix but then placed it on top of my car and got a fix right away.

But one test point is not enough to prove anything... :-)
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 06:24 AM
You can't take the sky from me
Rastislavko's Avatar
Slovakia, Bratislava Region, Bratislava
Joined Jun 2006
754 Posts
callelj: I really like this project, but there is no information about it - I haven't found any list of features for both OSDs, screenshots or something... I only know it brings a home arrow in the G-OSD.

My question is about E-OSD - is it possible to use it the way the first battery will be displayed as a standard voltage and the second one as a RSSI? I just want to use it this way on my tricopter... I'm sorry I'm too bad in C to find all the informatins inside the source codes... Thanks in advance!
Rastislavko is online now Find More Posts by Rastislavko
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 06:53 AM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Rastislavko: Yes, it would be possible. But you would have to change the code a little bit and recompile it.

Sorry for bad documentation, will try to work on that.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2011, 06:58 AM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
That leads myself to the question why I did not just use the Batt2 with pot to measure my RSSI instead of using Analog3 and Analog4 to calculate the value
Note: RSSI voltage has to be ripple free. I had to flatten the signal of my 2G4 receiver with a opamp and capacitor to get a flat voltage, otherwise I had values jumping all around.
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 12:07 PM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 07:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 03:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 06:22 PM