HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 20, 2013, 08:47 PM
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
6,634 Posts
I found this info on the EM406A

VCC (DC power input): This is the main DC supply for a 4.5V ~ 6.5V power module board.

TX: This is the main transmit channel for outputting navigation and measurement data to user’s
navigation software or user-written software.

RX: This is the main receive channel for receiving software commands to the engine board from
SiRfdemo software or from user-written software. (NOTE: When not in use this pin must be
kept “HIGH” for operation. From Vcc connect a 470 Ohm resistor in series with a 3.2v Zener
diode to Ground. Then, connect the Rx input to Zener’s cathode to pull the input “HIGH”.)


GND: GND provides the ground for the engine boards. Be sure to connect all grounds

PPS: This pin provides a one pulse-per-second output from the engine board that is synchronized to
the GPS time.

According to that I need a resistor and diode to work as my osd gps
irun4fundotca is offline Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by irun4fundotca; Feb 21, 2013 at 12:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 21, 2013, 10:10 AM
Still flying a desk..
ChilternFlyer's Avatar
United Kingdom, High Wycombe
Joined Sep 2001
1,865 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank48 View Post
Here you go... it s for PAL
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=1313

Let us know how you get on

Cheers
Frank
Cheers Frank.

Ok I've loaded it and I've still got the same problem - I must be doing something wrong. (see attached).

Any clues?

P.S. I should point out that I'm trying to flash the HK mini OSD:- http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...PS_Module.html
ChilternFlyer is offline Find More Posts by ChilternFlyer
Last edited by ChilternFlyer; Feb 21, 2013 at 11:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 11:34 AM
Went to mow a meadow
frank48's Avatar
Joined Feb 2007
1,435 Posts
Looks like its flashed

Is it an ntsc cam?
frank48 is offline Find More Posts by frank48
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 02:52 PM
Still flying a desk..
ChilternFlyer's Avatar
United Kingdom, High Wycombe
Joined Sep 2001
1,865 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank48 View Post
Looks like its flashed

Is it an ntsc cam?
LOL - No that was PAL but I've also tried my Go Pro in NTSC and got the same results.
In fact this is the same result I had when I first flashed it. (It was tested and working before I flashed it).
I've also got an E-OSD. I could flash that but I've already got one broken device


OK so Has anyone seen this before then?
ChilternFlyer is offline Find More Posts by ChilternFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 02:57 PM
Went to mow a meadow
frank48's Avatar
Joined Feb 2007
1,435 Posts
Flashed both files?

Tried extreme burner?

Grasping at straws now ..... uploaded what I think is the latest pal file

http://extremeelectronics.co.in/soft...1-3-beta-test/
frank48 is offline Find More Posts by frank48
Last edited by frank48; Feb 21, 2013 at 03:11 PM. Reason: added zip file
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 04:14 PM
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
6,634 Posts
Is that the same as the G-OSD? theres a G-OSDII aswell
I never seen the one for 24 bucks when I ordered my E-OSD
just this one

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...PS_Module.html
irun4fundotca is offline Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 04:45 PM
Still flying a desk..
ChilternFlyer's Avatar
United Kingdom, High Wycombe
Joined Sep 2001
1,865 Posts
Frank: I guess you thinking that the EEPROM data is wrong /not flashed?
That's what I'm thinking!

Here are some photos of the board to help identify it. I think it's a mk1 myself.
I'm using a HK USBASP dongle to programme it. It has worked OK on my ESC's and my KK2 boards.

I haven't plugged the GPS in yet but I would expect it to work without it. It did before it was flashed.
ChilternFlyer is offline Find More Posts by ChilternFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 04:48 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,643 Posts
If you used something like Tortoise to download the files from the SVN that it's normal to show those symbols as it's just flagging the files that changed.

Try disable the statistics as it releases a bit of memory.
Comment this line near the top of the config.h file.

//#define STATISTICS_ENABLED

Remember to burn the flash and the eeprom, as both are needed.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 05:22 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,643 Posts
Any idea on these settings?

#define GPS_CAL_GOOGLE_LAT 7382 //Local calibration of Google GPS Lat (Truglodite)
#define GPS_CAL_GOOGLE_LON 4728 //Local calibration of Google GPS Long (Truglodite)

Seems we can refine the GPS data to get more accurate positioning!?
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 05:34 PM
Still flying a desk..
ChilternFlyer's Avatar
United Kingdom, High Wycombe
Joined Sep 2001
1,865 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank48 View Post
Flashed both files?

Tried extreme burner?

Grasping at straws now ..... uploaded what I think is the latest pal file

http://extremeelectronics.co.in/soft...1-3-beta-test/
Hi Frank. Tried it - still the same. I'm going to try the E-OSD firmware on it tomorrow - I'm assuming that the schematics are similar. It can't get any worse!
ChilternFlyer is offline Find More Posts by ChilternFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 10:44 AM
100mph club member
turbodriven's Avatar
NW O-town
Joined Jun 2005
1,653 Posts
Can anyone tell me how to get the RSSI to function on a HK Mini-OSD flashed with the irun4fundotca files given here?

At this point the whole layout looks exactly like it should and the Home arrow works with 4-5 satellites locked. Only problem is the RSSI value shows a permanent 100%. Even when the I switch the tx off it's still at 100%. The pots on the back don't seem to do anything. How do I calibrate this function?

Also, the Batt1 lead only powers the unit. To get any voltage to display I have to hook it up to Batt2. I thought I could display 2 voltages? Maybe not with this new firmware though. Hrmm.

turbodriven is offline Find More Posts by turbodriven
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 10:57 AM
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
6,634 Posts
the rssi is now Batt1 input, so if you attach a battery it will peak to 100 (you need to hook this to the rssi on the rx)
it was programed that way in the code allready I wasnt sure how to turn it back to the battery monitor

the code I posted was intended or compiled for the e-osd , but good to know it works on that one too
(updated the post to include more info)

..next on my shopping list! ...darn gps wire drives me krazy soldering

Post a pic if you can
irun4fundotca is offline Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by irun4fundotca; Feb 22, 2013 at 11:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 11:26 AM
100mph club member
turbodriven's Avatar
NW O-town
Joined Jun 2005
1,653 Posts
Ok, that's helpful. I'll try RSSI into Batt1. I wonder what powers the unit then? I'll have to play around with it and see. I'm not sure Batt2 does. I think I remember having Batt1 and Batt2 both connected to 12v and when I pulled Batt1 lead off the unit shut down. I could be wrong here, it was 11pm a few nights ago that I did it.

You want a pic of my setup??

EDIT: I just remembered that in my testing a few nights ago I only hooked up a spare 5v supply to Batt2 to see if it would register a voltage (which it did when Batt1 wouldn't). In hindsight now I'm thinking that 5v on Batt2 wasn't enough to power the unit by itself. So that's why the unit shut down when I removed the 12v from Batt1. Still strange that even though Batt1 is now RSSI, it still powered the unit up? Hrmm. I'll get home tonight and fully test it with these new pieces of info and see what happens.
turbodriven is offline Find More Posts by turbodriven
Last edited by turbodriven; Feb 22, 2013 at 11:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 12:49 PM
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
6,634 Posts
I could be wrong about what one is used for rssi, but I know one turns into the rssi
5v would peak it to 100 also tho try a resistor or a AA battery to verify if need be

I would have to open it up and see what the code says
irun4fundotca is offline Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 06:03 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,643 Posts
Finished configuring my E-OSD hacked with GPS.



Moved the text around, mostly to put it away from the GoPro OSD text/icons and
move it more to the center to avoid the blurry borders on the FatShark goggles.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 11:07 AM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 06:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 02:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 05:22 PM