HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 30, 2013, 05:32 AM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,650 Posts
The Mini OSD GPS doesn't expose out the RX only the TX.
So the White+Black cable is TX, GND.

You can see it here, the two black cables are soldered together.


Btw as a tool for windows I use the UBlox GPS center, is quite good and support any GPS sending NMEA formatted data. (Ublox, MTK, SirfIII,...)
One cool thing it has is that it auto-detects the connection setting, you just need to select the COM port.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:25 AM
Registered User
Philippines, NCR, Pasig City
Joined Mar 2002
44 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
The Mini OSD GPS doesn't expose out the RX only the TX.
So the White+Black cable is TX, GND.

You can see it here, the two black cables are soldered together.


Btw as a tool for windows I use the UBlox GPS center, is quite good and support any GPS sending NMEA formatted data. (Ublox, MTK, SirfIII,...)
One cool thing it has is that it auto-detects the connection setting, you just need to select the COM port.
I tried connecting RED to RED, BLK to GND, and TX to TX. I selected the correct com port and set the baud rate to 4800. I don't see any changes on the u-center software.
It maybe asking to much, but can you please do a video on how to connect the gps to the ftdi and how to test if it is working?
erwinf is offline Find More Posts by erwinf
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 01:35 PM
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
6,695 Posts
TX (Transmitting Pin)at the gps goes to RX (Receiveing Pin)at the ftdi as it needs the signal transmitting from the gps

If you were sending to the gps then you would need the other way around

I should have explained better before but I was tired and it was late
irun4fundotca is online now Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by irun4fundotca; Jan 30, 2013 at 02:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 06:48 PM
FPV Dealer,Getting People High
Johnnymeg's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcadia
Joined Sep 2011
1,068 Posts
I just ordered 2 more of these things after my last two took a crap one during install and one trying to flash.

I would like to know Id anyone can walk me through the flash process step by step. I have a usbasp programmer and I'm good with computers and soldering. Just need that little pointer or help to get it going.

Or I could pay you to flash mine for me.

Thanks
Johnnymeg is online now Find More Posts by Johnnymeg
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:33 PM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,149 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
It's not easy.First make sure you're using the thinnest wire you can get.
Monofilament would be better.
After pre tin it, what I do is tin a tip and cut it to size afterwards. Also give some heat to the pin in the chip to make sure it's solder will melt easier next time.
Next step will depend on how things progress, on the wire, etc...
Either you lay the wire tip on top of the pin and give it some heat, if the iron tip is thin you can place it on top for a second or two and the solder from both pin and wire will blend. Or put a tiny, I mean tiny, blob of solder in the tip of the iron and do the same process. This blob will make sure both pin and wire get joined better.
Either way you need a good may lens to do it as well as something to hold firmly the PCB.
can't re do it anymore i melted all the pin gonna do some practice with my old broken kk board atmega328
skellator is online now Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 09:41 PM
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
6,695 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator View Post
can't re do it anymore i melted all the pin gonna do some practice with my old broken kk board atmega328
I was told to hold the wire above a cm(away from the pin) and heat the wire with the solder iron then take away the solder iron and touch the wire to the pin, it should retain the heat long enough to melt onto the pin and stay

Thinking on buying one of these! http://www.ebay.ca/itm/1-5X-2-5X-3-5...item2ec505a82a
And the seller leaves feedback right away... I use them lots!
irun4fundotca is online now Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by irun4fundotca; Jan 30, 2013 at 10:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 01:47 AM
avt
Hell Flyer
Israel
Joined Nov 2006
1,220 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by irun4fundotca View Post
I was told to hold the wire above a cm(away from the pin) and heat the wire with the solder iron then take away the solder iron and touch the wire to the pin, it should retain the heat long enough to melt onto the pin and stay

Thinking on buying one of these! http://www.ebay.ca/itm/1-5X-2-5X-3-5...item2ec505a82a
And the seller leaves feedback right away... I use them lots!
A friend at work has those. They're pretty good.
avt is online now Find More Posts by avt
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:38 AM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,650 Posts
Is the focal length good? (i think that's what it's called)
I was checking some like those before, but the issue was that you had to hold the part close to your nose. Something not very safe when working with a hot iron.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 03:04 AM
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
6,695 Posts
I don't know but they come with 3 lenses you can swap out

I have one question about TX out from the gps module

Can it be split to supply an OSD and a flight controller? ,or would a diode be needed on one line after the split
irun4fundotca is online now Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:30 AM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,650 Posts
I believe that you can easily tap into the TX line from it, I actually plan to do the same.
As it will only output the diode won't be needed, just check for some ground loop depending on how you have your power setup.
But if you're using the same GPS remember it has a second TX port, that (need to check the manual) you can even set to a different baud rate.
OSD works with 9600 that usually is really low for most Flight Controllers, unless you're not going to use it for navigation.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:20 PM
Flying Wood For Fun
irun4fundotca's Avatar
Canada, ON, Harrowsmith
Joined Jan 2012
6,695 Posts
Ok thanks I was wondering if you could or not
irun4fundotca is online now Find More Posts by irun4fundotca
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 04:00 PM
Lets make it remote control!!!
abletowinginc's Avatar
USA, FL, St Augustine
Joined Jun 2009
998 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by erwinf View Post
Hi,

I was finally able to flash my OSD. I wasn't able to test it with the original firmware because I was only able to see either the bottom part or the top part of the overlay. Anyway, I flashed it with the CL-OSD firmware and I'm now able to see the top and bottom parts.

My problem now, is that I can seem to get any satellite fix in the OSD even if the blue led on the gps is solidly lit.

Can you give me some pointers on how to connect my gps to an ftdi adapter and what application can I use to check if it is working? I'm using Windows 7.

Thanks
some have reported poor soldering on the connections of the gps.cut your shrink tube off and check them
abletowinginc is offline Find More Posts by abletowinginc
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 12:13 PM
Registered User
Slovakia, Bratislava Region, Bratislava
Joined Jan 2013
16 Posts
can somebody help me with this issue?
Quote:
Flown my Mini OSD today. Everything works fine, except the max speed and altitude statistics - max speed >200km/h and max altitude >2000m on a Bixler and T9x with stock radio doesn't seem legit. How can I fix this?
BTW, I'm trying to do changes in firmware, but AVRStudio keeps reporting memory overflow:

Code:
Error	1		        Program Memory Usage 	:	8250 bytes   100,7 % Full	(Memory Overflow)
				Data Memory Usage 		:	886 bytes   86,5 % Full
				EEPROM Memory Usage 	:	512 bytes   100,0 % Full	cl-osd	0	0	cl-osd
I have ATmega88PA set as my device.
3zuli is offline Find More Posts by 3zuli
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:48 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,650 Posts
Correct if I'm wrong but there is no way to change from Imperial to Metric in the stock FW?
I tried it today, and I have speed showing as mph.

3zuli, I got some weird values today as well. Sometimes it would show 300mph.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Last edited by IceWind; Feb 02, 2013 at 02:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 03:52 PM
Registered User
Slovakia, Bratislava Region, Bratislava
Joined Jan 2013
16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
Correct if I'm wrong but there is no way to change from Imperial to Metric in the stock FW?
I tried it today, and I have speed showing as mph.

3zuli, I got some weird values today as well. Sometimes it would show 300mph.
Line 125 in config.h
are you able to compile the code? I keep getting that memory overflow...
3zuli is offline Find More Posts by 3zuli
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 11:07 AM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 06:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 02:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 05:22 PM