SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 12, 2011, 02:01 PM
Registered User
schumixmd's Avatar
Moldova
Joined Jun 2010
1,155 Posts
Quote:
Btw: I think it was a good idea not to test this yesterday since must have looked like a terrorist with blinking and wires all over.
believe me, today you would not look different
schumixmd is online now Find More Posts by schumixmd
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 12, 2011, 02:18 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
17 Posts
how about using that G-OSD layout button for setting home position? Are You considering it to use somehow else?
Jancis is offline Find More Posts by Jancis
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 02:40 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
schumixmd: True...

Jancis: I have three options for setting home pos right now:

- Set at first fix.
- Set at >10 km/h (will be changable in next revision) when fix is good.
- Set with button. (Long press needed)

All can be enabled but only one of the first two should be selected.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 02:42 PM
Registered User
schumixmd's Avatar
Moldova
Joined Jun 2010
1,155 Posts
i'm for the long press i do love buttons
schumixmd is online now Find More Posts by schumixmd
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 12, 2011, 03:13 PM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by callelj View Post
[...]
Btw: Stop finding bugs in my code.
Really?

It did not obey. Just returned from testing it further...
(Or should I report bugs in private by mail?)

So Calle, here is my buglist of a modified r26 cl-osd:

1) first of all, distance from home is ten times to large. 320 meters traveled show up as 3200 meters. Besides from that it seems fine. Only about 2 meters of jumping around. (So your 300 meters displayed would "only" be 30 m)

2) Setting home via long press button works fine, but only for distance and heading, but not for altitude. Altitude displayed is always above sea level.

3) I am not sure about the heading. Maybe it is working okay. I got a bit confused with it, is there a certain side of the antenna that has to face the nose of the plane? Which one shall it be?

Hope to help you further with that tests, Parity
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 03:20 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Parity: Thanks for finding bugs. That makes cl-osd better!
Post bugs here or email me. :-)

1) Hmm, will have to look into that.

2) Yes, I know. I just thought about that the other day but haven't fixed it yet. It's straight from the gps right now.

3) Ok, heading is a bit hard to do without an compass. So instead I use the gps current heading. But for that to work you have to move in a direction. This far from perfect and I onestly havent tested more than I did today.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 03:22 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Or even better, post bugs on the project page.
That keeps me fom forgetting about them.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 03:45 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
791 Posts
If it's any help, feel free to copy whatever you like from the DIY OSD project here;
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...1473207&pp=100

Heading, LOS calculation, set homeposition after fix and delay, altitude offset etc. should work
It's the same microcontroller (just the 328 version with more space), so copy paste shouldn't be any problem.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 03:56 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Dennis Frie: Unfortunately size is a major problem with g-osd. I have looked at you code before, but since you use float and math.h I could not use those parts of your code since they would not fit.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 04:07 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
791 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by callelj View Post
Dennis Frie: Unfortunately size is a major problem with g-osd. I have looked at you code before, but since you use float and math.h I could not use those parts of your code since they would not fit.
Year the limited size is a pain in the ass
That was the main reason why I ended up using an Atmega328 instead of the cheap HK OSD's.

Good luck with the project

Edit; just checked, I use 23K bytes now. It could easily be a lot smaller, but 8K bytes limit is just annoying
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Last edited by Dennis Frie; Sep 12, 2011 at 04:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 04:40 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Parity: Found problem #1. I thought that the lat/long format from the gps was DDMM.MMM but it was DDMM.MMMM so I multiplied with 10 to get the right format some rev back.
Now I get a really good fix. Hehe.

It's a good thing my gf didn't leave me in the middle of nowhere...

Dennis Frie: 23k! That would be nice to have... I'm using 6,3k right now.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Last edited by callelj; Sep 12, 2011 at 04:40 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 04:19 AM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
I took the cl-osd for a walk now and distance and bearing works really good.
I have some fixes that needs to be done to make it perfect.
Altitude is always above sea for example and bearing should not be visible when stationary since it might be wrong.

Of course there might still be some bugs...
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 05:47 AM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
Once it has a decent fix, the GPS is quite nice. I think precision is higher than on my smartphone.
I experienced the following, what might also be an issue:
I only display one main battery voltage in the OSD (from ANALOG_IN_1). It is (of course) connected to BATT1 (connector 2.1) to power the OSD.
To adjust that voltage I had to turn pot 4.3 (the RSSI one).
I synced it with the pot to display the exact battery voltage I measured manually on my pack.
But all the time testing yesterday (I think) I had the same voltage reading from ANALOG_IN_1, not changing a single millivolt.
May there be something mixed up? Maybe someone can verify this by using a full and a close to empty battery pack.

Parity
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 03:57 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
I just tested the ANALOG_IN_1 level and it seems to be stuck. Will have to analyze why...
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 05:12 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
I found the bug with help from fpvkiwi.
I setup the adc in an order so that the channels got mixed up.

But during my investigation I got a better understanding of the analog inputs on the G-OSD by measuring and looking on the PCB.

ANALOG_IN_1 connects to BATT.
ANALOG_IN_2 connects to Voltage2.
ANALOG_IN_3 connects to RSSI, _BUT_ it has no pot as I initially thought.
ANALOG_IN_4 is not connected to any input but is instead a pot with gnd and vcc. Depending on the pot a constant voltage is output. This is what was was on ANALOG_IN_1 before.

So I have some work todo on rssi as it didn't work as I first thought.
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 11:07 AM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 06:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 02:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 05:22 PM