HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 12, 2011, 05:58 PM
Track clear , smoke on !
cap231ex's Avatar
3 miles from AMA HQ Muncie, IN.
Joined Jan 2009
1,768 Posts
Discussion
T600 stretched to a T700

I was wanting to find out if anyone has stretched their 600 into a 700 belt driven tail rather the going with a TT driven tail? It seems it can be done by just swaping out the tailboom and belt and to the best of my measurements it looks like the belt is going to be around 73.6" in length with a XL pitch and a width of 1/4". I would be using the 600 tail gearbox and front drive gear and just change out the boom and belt , has anyone done this or thought about doing it ?
cap231ex is offline Find More Posts by cap231ex
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 13, 2011, 05:42 AM
Redjestird Youser
SidewaysLS4's Avatar
Joined Jan 2009
3,878 Posts
I'd think it should work, Align is listing the OD of the 700 boom as the same 21.5mm as the 600 boom. Then a trip to Stock Drive Products for a longer belt and you should be set. I'd also think belt is the preferred setup as far as vibration goes versus TT, my foray into TT tail rotor shafts showed a whole lot of vibration with the Align shafts showing in the Vbar spectrum analyser. Going to a belt tail got me a much straighter shaft with a 1/4 of the vibration with the same tail hub and grips installed. 2 versions of a brand new TT tail shaft had significant balance issues, probably bent or machined wrong out of the box

Thanks for asking this question also...checking into this got me thinking of stretching a T550 to a 700, lol. Makes the whole project seem easier as I'm familiar with that chassis vs. having to start from scratch.
SidewaysLS4 is offline Find More Posts by SidewaysLS4
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 10:24 AM
Track clear , smoke on !
cap231ex's Avatar
3 miles from AMA HQ Muncie, IN.
Joined Jan 2009
1,768 Posts
Have the 700 tailboom and yes it fits great same dia. as the 600 boom just longer , I have also visited SDP and ordered a new belt 73.6" in length just waiting for parts at this time .

I have a question about the T550 , does it have a similar frame width as the T600 and is the boom dia. 21.5mm?
cap231ex is offline Find More Posts by cap231ex
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 11:27 AM
Redjestird Youser
SidewaysLS4's Avatar
Joined Jan 2009
3,878 Posts
Yep, uses the same boom dia as the 600. I believe the boom block is the same part as the 600 also.

Kinda wish Hobbyking got restocked on those MKS oem'ed brushless servos they were selling for cheap. Really wish I got a set last Spring, but I guess the cat's out of the bag on them and they got cleaned out. Would be great for FBL big blades I'd think. DS610's could be a good functional cost effective alternative, but I'm really liking MKS servos lately after seeing the DS95 series they make
SidewaysLS4 is offline Find More Posts by SidewaysLS4
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 05:33 PM
Joined Jul 2007
8,810 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cap231ex View Post
Have the 700 tailboom and yes it fits great same dia. as the 600 boom just longer , I have also visited SDP and ordered a new belt 73.6" in length just waiting for parts at this time .

I have a question about the T550 , does it have a similar frame width as the T600 and is the boom dia. 21.5mm?
I have flown a T-Rex5500 with a 600 boom. Very easy bolt up installation. All I ordered was the boom and 600 Torque tube and servo rod to tail. T-Rex600 with 700 boom is not as easy. Modifications required. Extending the torque tube. I have a 700 size Jet Ranger comming from TF Model and Im using 600 flybarless mechanics. I have bought the boom and torque tube but the torque tube is to short. Once I get the fuse I can fit it all up and then work out how long the torque tube should be.
Zootster is online now Find More Posts by Zootster
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 06:58 PM
Track clear , smoke on !
cap231ex's Avatar
3 miles from AMA HQ Muncie, IN.
Joined Jan 2009
1,768 Posts
The whole ideal of this mod is to do it using a belt and not a TT.

If it works with the parts I have ordered the complete mod with only cost $35.00 for the belt and the tailboom plus the price of a set of main blades.

For a belt driven T600 you would need a tailboom , TT , bearings & bearing holders, front drive gear , and tail rotor gearbox ( which is $69.99 by it's self). Added all up and that is over $100.00 and as Sideways said there is no guarantee you will have a viberation free TT drive.
cap231ex is offline Find More Posts by cap231ex
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 07:57 PM
Joined Jul 2007
8,810 Posts
Yep thats true. I supose the belt size is the issue. Everything else is bolt up. I changed from a belt to TT on my 600 because of ease of installation into a fuselage. Now Im changing to 700 boom. Issue as I said is lengthening the TT. Maybe should have stuck to the belt system LOL
Zootster is online now Find More Posts by Zootster
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 08:11 PM
Track clear , smoke on !
cap231ex's Avatar
3 miles from AMA HQ Muncie, IN.
Joined Jan 2009
1,768 Posts
Yeah , Sideways turned me on to this https://sdp-si.com/eStore/ company they have all the belts and pulleys you need and at a good price to. Although I don't know what you would be looking at as far as shipping to Australia , that may be alittle on the rich side as they are in New York ,USA.

Yeah I read your post about the TT length and Willis's reply and I just didn't get it at all , is there that much difference between the 600 frame and 700 frame? That is the only thing I can think of that would effect the TT length, or is there more to it?
cap231ex is offline Find More Posts by cap231ex
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 08:43 PM
Joined Jul 2007
8,810 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cap231ex View Post
Yeah , Sideways turned me on to this https://sdp-si.com/eStore/ company they have all the belts and pulleys you need and at a good price to. Although I don't know what you would be looking at as far as shipping to Australia , that may be alittle on the rich side as they are in New York ,USA.

Yeah I read your post about the TT length and Willis's reply and I just didn't get it at all , is there that much difference between the 600 frame and 700 frame? That is the only thing I can think of that would effect the TT length, or is there more to it?
There is a difference in the Front block from a 600 to 700. Boom still fits but TT doesnt stick out enough ot engage front gear. So TT has to be lengthend. I dont think a 700 block will fit onto a 600
Zootster is online now Find More Posts by Zootster
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2011, 06:24 AM
Redjestird Youser
SidewaysLS4's Avatar
Joined Jan 2009
3,878 Posts
I've seen some power logs before, but forget where and the exact details. What do you guys think about pushing some 700mm blades on 6S? Max headspeed I'm thinking will be below 1400-1500. Just sport flying here. Sure would make the electronics package somewhat cheaper.

As far as balance goes in pod/boom...6000mah worth of battery sound like enough forward weight to counter the longer tail boom? I totally forget if that would fit under a pod/boom canopy though, lol. Any balance tips appreacheated though!
SidewaysLS4 is offline Find More Posts by SidewaysLS4
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2011, 12:52 PM
Track clear , smoke on !
cap231ex's Avatar
3 miles from AMA HQ Muncie, IN.
Joined Jan 2009
1,768 Posts
I can't speak for running 700mm blades , but my T600 with 600mm blades and using a Watt Meter in flight says it pulls about 43amps max at 8.5* in 7 minutes of flight. I would think that 10cm more of blade would not increase the amp by more than 10-12amps so it looks very do-able to me.

I run two 3000mah 6s packs in parellel on my T600 right now which is 934gr , so I may have to add some weight to mine.
cap231ex is offline Find More Posts by cap231ex
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2011, 01:39 PM
Redjestird Youser
SidewaysLS4's Avatar
Joined Jan 2009
3,878 Posts
I'm doing the same with the 550, 2 3000's with the Jetranger fuse to balance. As I didnt have a 5000mah pack while in pod/boom, 2 2200 6S's balanced I believe as forward as I could get it and still have the canopy on.

Now the 550 has the tail servo in the frame stock, so maybe 2 3000's could balance with a 700 boom out back? Switching to belt and maybe plastic tail grips could help as well, hard to tell.

Gotta back on to pricing out a Tarot 550 frame (cheaper and 2mm) and the various Align bits to complete this hybrid idea, along with deciding on the electronics available....or just get a Logo 600SE and be done with it. Or get nothing once sticker shock arrives again, lol
SidewaysLS4 is offline Find More Posts by SidewaysLS4
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2011, 02:55 PM
Track clear , smoke on !
cap231ex's Avatar
3 miles from AMA HQ Muncie, IN.
Joined Jan 2009
1,768 Posts
Where do you find that Tarot 550 , do you have a link?

I have looked at the Logo 600SE , it is a very nice heli that comes with a very hi price IMO.

I'm thinking of moving the tail servo from the boom to the frame and do think a plastic tail gearbox and grips would help in the CG department.
cap231ex is offline Find More Posts by cap231ex
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2011, 05:20 PM
Redjestird Youser
SidewaysLS4's Avatar
Joined Jan 2009
3,878 Posts
There isnt an entire Tarot 550 that I'm aware of, but some less costly spares...

http://www.hobby-wing.com/tarot-550-spare-parts.html


Yeah, the Logo is $$, but has that herringbone gear. Now Align has the slant gear as well, kind of a toss-up which is better/quieter. And running a belt to the tail makes it like-like. I do like the idea of fine tolerances though, totally loving the miniprotos I have after playing with Align pattern stuff. I'd imagine the Mikado is the same reading stuff about it.
SidewaysLS4 is offline Find More Posts by SidewaysLS4
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2011, 12:01 PM
Track clear , smoke on !
cap231ex's Avatar
3 miles from AMA HQ Muncie, IN.
Joined Jan 2009
1,768 Posts
Well SDP has shipped the belt their form of handling and shipping is alittle bit of a rip-off $3.95 for handling and $8.68 for shipping using UPS Ground. I don't think I will be using them to often at those prices for one belt that would have fit in a standard envelope and 3 stamps.

Oh and on the Logo 600 gear the ones I saw at the show over this last weak out at the AMA ( the IRCHA Jamboree )they have a straight cut main. I didn't pay that close of attention to them as I wasn't checking them out, so they may offer one with an angle cut main.
cap231ex is offline Find More Posts by cap231ex
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Turnigy T600 880kv Delta to Wye help mattyhawk Electric Motor Design and Construction 34 Jul 09, 2011 08:04 AM
For Sale Turnigy T600-880KV motor helifrek Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 2 May 20, 2011 09:29 PM
Sold *** Turnigy T600-1100Kv for Trex 600 *** Rudderman98 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 May 19, 2011 06:19 PM
Sold *** Turnigy T600-1100Kv for Trex 600 *** Rudderman98 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 19, 2011 06:14 PM
Discussion Quieting down a T600/T550 scaler with a Helical main gear SidewaysLS4 Scale Helicopters 2 May 02, 2011 06:00 AM