HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 28, 2012, 02:45 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,943 Posts
what does he need a BEC for..... the NAZA has its own PU (do you mean power the Rx off a BEC rather than the Naza itself....)

also the ESCs from DJI are optically isolated and dont have a BEC on them
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 28, 2012, 03:06 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,092 Posts
he is saying whatever voltage that is supplied to his receiver is crapping out... down to 4.2 so I suggested he put an external known quality BEC on there to power both the WKM (I assume this is a WKM becuase this is the WKM thread) and his receiver...

I don't trust the BEC on the naza or the WKM...

I did not know the optos did not have a bec... sorry.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas4275 View Post
what does he need a BEC for..... the NAZA has its own PU (do you mean power the Rx off a BEC rather than the Naza itself....)

also the ESCs from DJI are optically isolated and dont have a BEC on them
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Last edited by saabguyspg; Jun 28, 2012 at 03:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 03:29 PM
Registered User
United States, IL, Chicago
Joined Dec 2010
652 Posts
When is the new firmware releasing ? I am getting impatient...
mmalik4 is offline Find More Posts by mmalik4
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 28, 2012, 03:31 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,092 Posts
my hope is that the longer it takes the better it is... and maybe a suprise like the gimbal twitch fix.

but I am an optimist
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 03:48 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,943 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
he is saying whatever voltage that is supplied to his receiver is crapping out... down to 4.2 so I suggested he put an external known quality BEC on there to power both the WKM (I assume this is a WKM becuase this is the WKM thread) and his receiver...

I don't trust the BEC on the naza or the WKM...

I did not know the optos did not have a bec... sorry.
You don't use the PU to power your WKM?

So you don't monitor voltage?

Hmm, okay. I don't think I have see anyone power the WKM with a BEC rather than the PU.
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 03:53 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Hayward
Joined Apr 2006
710 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas4275 View Post
You don't use the PU to power your WKM?

So you don't monitor voltage?

Hmm, okay. I don't think I have see anyone power the WKM with a BEC rather than the PU.
the original wkms (like mine) did not have a pmu. i had no problems but am running one now.
chris24g is offline Find More Posts by chris24g
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 04:06 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,092 Posts
I monitor voltage by other means... I don't trust theirs.... but that's just me... and mine is one of the first of the block... so it as all the extra special issues like gps twitch and PMU issues....
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 04:20 PM
John
United States, WA, Mason
Joined Apr 2011
803 Posts
...
digitalCAM is offline Find More Posts by digitalCAM
Last edited by digitalCAM; Jun 28, 2012 at 04:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 04:45 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,943 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris24g View Post
the original wkms (like mine) did not have a pmu. i had no problems but am running one now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
I monitor voltage by other means... I don't trust theirs.... but that's just me... and mine is one of the first of the block... so it as all the extra special issues like gps twitch and PMU issues....
that is interesting...

i had no idea. learn something new!

i use my telemetry to monitor battery voltage as well
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 05:22 PM
Registered User
jerrymeister's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
483 Posts
Ok I am really becomming more confused.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas4275 View Post
You don't use the PU to power your WKM?

So you don't monitor voltage?

Hmm, okay. I don't think I have see anyone power the WKM with a BEC rather than the PU.
jerrymeister is offline Find More Posts by jerrymeister
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 05:50 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,092 Posts
it's no different... I don't trust theirs, it's just a BEC but I guarentee it's not as good as a castle BEC.

there were some issues with the early DJI bec (you call a PMU) and may people don't use them...

if you don't care about voltage monitoring and don't want it to "auto land into a lake" or you neighbours house then you don't need it.

Steve
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 05:52 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,943 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post

if you don't care about voltage monitoring and don't want it to "auto land into a lake" or you neighbours house then you don't need it.

Steve

made me laugh.

interesting, you have me thinking. I have like 3 extra CC BECs.... hmm
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 05:53 PM
Registered User
jerrymeister's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
483 Posts
Steve is the Castle BEC easy to replace on my naza WKM system? Does it have the same connectors that my Naza BEC has?

Jerry


Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
it's no different... I don't trust theirs, it's just a BEC but I guarentee it's not as good as a castle BEC.

there were some issues with the early DJI bec (you call a PMU) and may people don't use them...

if you don't care about voltage monitoring and don't want it to "auto land into a lake" or you neighbours house then you don't need it.

Steve
jerrymeister is offline Find More Posts by jerrymeister
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 05:55 PM
Registered User
jerrymeister's Avatar
Joined Oct 2011
483 Posts
Well I actually did bounce off my neighbors house, so not really that funny from my vantage point. Luckily no one was home.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adidas4275 View Post
made me laugh.

interesting, you have me thinking. I have like 3 extra CC BECs.... hmm
jerrymeister is offline Find More Posts by jerrymeister
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 05:57 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,943 Posts
yeah i remember you posting about it.

made me laugh then as well.
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ballistic Recovery System for Multirotors Duck! Aerial Photography 65 Feb 26, 2014 10:58 PM
Discussion DJI - WooKong eStab for Scale sidneyw Scale Helicopters 97 Dec 30, 2012 11:48 AM
Discussion FY3ZT Autopilot for Aerial Photography feiyudz Aerial Photography 116 May 07, 2012 05:58 PM
Discussion DJI AceOne autopilot for sale... hazchem88 Aerial Photography 4 Mar 31, 2011 04:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 12:43 PM