HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:21 AM
Posting, but should be working
furyphoto's Avatar
Brackendale, BC, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
251 Posts
I spent a lot of time getting my measurements right, and tuning my WKM on 5.16

It paid off today with perfect performance, and rock solid position hold.

It took about 2 min for the first gps lock, but subsequent batteries took about 5 seconds.
furyphoto is offline Find More Posts by furyphoto
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:10 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
412 Posts
John,
No, actually neither, it just loses power not all the way so it doesn't, just cut off and crash, it,s like the LIPO is running out off juice very quickly, though I tried it with a freshly charged battery and got same results.
I emailed DJI and they told me to downgrade FW, that's it.
Yet I don't know where to get older software from.


Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalCAM View Post
Does it just come straight down like you shut it off, or does it veer off to one side and crash? -- JOHN
kuau is offline Find More Posts by kuau
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:17 AM
Registered User
VerticalVue's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Blackpool
Joined Aug 2011
290 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by furyphoto View Post
I spent a lot of time getting my measurements right, and tuning my WKM on 5.16

It paid off today with perfect performance, and rock solid position hold.

It took about 2 min for the first gps lock, but subsequent batteries took about 5 seconds.
Can you tell me what Gimbal and Landing Gear you are flying?
VerticalVue is offline Find More Posts by VerticalVue
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:26 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
127 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuau View Post
I emailed DJI and they told me to downgrade FW, that's it.
Yet I don't know where to get older software from.
Old versions can be found here:
http://www.djiwookong.co.uk/dji-wook...d-firmware.htm
DaveyWavey is offline Find More Posts by DaveyWavey
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:47 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
412 Posts
My copter is very similar to yours, can you share your autopilot setup?
Thanks
Steven

Quote:
Originally Posted by furyphoto View Post
I spent a lot of time getting my measurements right, and tuning my WKM on 5.16

It paid off today with perfect performance, and rock solid position hold.

It took about 2 min for the first gps lock, but subsequent batteries took about 5 seconds.
kuau is offline Find More Posts by kuau
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:33 PM
Registered User
hexa's Avatar
United Kingdom, Scotland, Edinburgh
Joined Nov 2010
1,839 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Efti View Post
I use the Graupner 9x5 props and camera is on the green silicone gel pad that might don't need more introduction
Fastened on the frame with thin rubberband.
Cool.
hexa is offline Find More Posts by hexa
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 03:54 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2008
93 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevegalle View Post
Hi. Quick question: bought a new Wookong with the version 3 GPS. It showed up today, but the top of the GPS says V2. Is that right? Is there a way to verify that it's actually V3?

Thanks
Steve
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJI INNOVATIONS View Post
V2 tag indicates your GPS is the latest one, don't worry
Steve,

Does your GPS unit have the black or grey connector plug? http://www.dji-innovations.com/compa..._rma/#checkdiv

I have also just received the Wookong and the GPS v2 is completely white with a black plug.

On the DJI site it says that units purchased after June 15th 2012 should check their units. I would have thought that buying 8 months after this date all the new GPS units would have the grey plug??

I did enter in the product code to check it and said it was all good, but I just don't know weather to trust it? Heard too many bad stories about the old firmware.

If the unit has the updated firmware, putting a grey plug on it at the time of update would have made me feel a lot more comfortable.

Craig
crcr is offline Find More Posts by crcr
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 07:59 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
50 Posts
Radio swap for 2.4ghz ground link?

Hi I'm new here. Has anyone changed out the radios for the ground link? I have my DJI 2.4ghz ground link interface open to see about swapping the radios. It is just a simple serial interface link. I will dump what work and parts list I order here.
http://shup.com/~picasso/dji_wookong/



Also this is the 2.4ghz radio pair in the DJI 2.4ghz ground link.
http://www.sectron.eu/products/147-l...y-2-4-ghz.html
GoneSilent is offline Find More Posts by GoneSilent
Last edited by GoneSilent; Jan 22, 2013 at 08:10 PM. Reason: added pics
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 11:01 PM
Registered User
Austin, Texas
Joined Apr 2009
499 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuau View Post
John,
No, actually neither, it just loses power not all the way so it doesn't, just cut off and crash, it,s like the LIPO is running out off juice very quickly, though I tried it with a freshly charged battery and got same results.
I emailed DJI and they told me to downgrade FW, that's it.
Yet I don't know where to get older software from.
Check your wiring and plugs to make sure they are up to the amp rating that you are pulling during flight.
I used to use Anderson Powerpole connectors that are only rated at 30amps and I was pulling more than this during flight. It flew great for a long time but the plugs wore down over time and ended up in what effectively was a brown-out. A loss of power, but not completely. It was enough to bring the copter down hard but the flight controller was still powered up. Sounds similar to your situation.

I now use 4mm bullet connectors rated at more like 96amps and have never had a problem since. I also upgraded my wiring and removed all plugs (except for the battery) in my system and soldered everything. Never another issue.

It's worth at least ruling out this possibility.

Brent
dmsgodeep is offline Find More Posts by dmsgodeep
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 02:11 AM
John
United States, WA, Mason
Joined Apr 2011
813 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuau View Post
John,
No, actually neither, it just loses power not all the way so it doesn't, just cut off and crash, it,s like the LIPO is running out off juice very quickly, though I tried it with a freshly charged battery and got same results.
I emailed DJI and they told me to downgrade FW, that's it.
Yet I don't know where to get older software from.
In that case, I agee with "dmsgodeep". I think connectors could be a really good suspect. A bad solder on a connector, or a connector not rated for the amps that you are pulling through. The connector will start to heat up, which causes more resistance, which causes more heat, which causes more resistance ..etc, etc. Finally you just can't get enough power through to keep it in the air. Next time it comes down, immediately feel everything you can, feeling for heat. -- good luck, JOHN
digitalCAM is offline Find More Posts by digitalCAM
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 04:30 AM
Registered User
Aviator1's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Surrey
Joined Jan 2012
429 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoneSilent View Post
Hi I'm new here. Has anyone changed out the radios for the ground link? I have my DJI 2.4ghz ground link interface open to see about swapping the radios. It is just a simple serial interface link. I will dump what work and parts list I order here.
http://shup.com/~picasso/dji_wookong/



Also this is the 2.4ghz radio pair in the DJI 2.4ghz ground link.
http://www.sectron.eu/products/147-l...y-2-4-ghz.html
Swap them for what?
Aviator1 is offline Find More Posts by Aviator1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 06:29 AM
Ready to fly MRs
Sid3ways's Avatar
Swanton, OH
Joined Jul 2007
5,082 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aviator1 View Post
Swap them for what?
1.2Ghz/900Mhz for extended range since maybe he flies on 2.4 RC? 2.4GHz model is half the price of the 900Mhz one so a cheap RF unit could save a DIY Hacker some money.
Sid3ways is offline Find More Posts by Sid3ways
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:40 PM
Registered User
Aviator1's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Surrey
Joined Jan 2012
429 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid3ways View Post
1.2Ghz/900Mhz for extended range since maybe he flies on 2.4 RC? 2.4GHz model is half the price of the 900Mhz one so a cheap RF unit could save a DIY Hacker some money.
Oh O.K? I suppose you can get a pretty good 433mhz serial modem for about 30? if you feel the need for more range with the GCS..
Aviator1 is offline Find More Posts by Aviator1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2008
93 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid3ways View Post
1.2Ghz/900Mhz for extended range since maybe he flies on 2.4 RC?
I am using a Futaba 2.4 RC radio and was going to order the 2.4Ghz DJI data link.

Just want to confirm that there are no issues using these two 2.4Ghz systems side by side?

Thanks
crcr is offline Find More Posts by crcr
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 02:24 PM
Registered User
Aviator1's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Surrey
Joined Jan 2012
429 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crcr View Post
I am using a Futaba 2.4 RC radio and was going to order the 2.4Ghz DJI data link.

Just want to confirm that there are no issues using these two 2.4Ghz systems side by side?

Thanks
I have no issues with it? I have sent it out over 1km and no problem...
Aviator1 is offline Find More Posts by Aviator1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ballistic Recovery System for Multirotors Duck! Aerial Photography 65 Feb 26, 2014 10:58 PM
Discussion DJI - WooKong eStab for Scale sidneyw Scale Helicopters 97 Dec 30, 2012 11:48 AM
Discussion FY3ZT Autopilot for Aerial Photography feiyudz Aerial Photography 116 May 07, 2012 05:58 PM
Discussion DJI AceOne autopilot for sale... hazchem88 Aerial Photography 4 Mar 31, 2011 04:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 12:43 PM