HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 14, 2012, 08:51 AM
Registered User
Belgique, Région Wallonne, Braine-l'Alleud
Joined Dec 2008
190 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilli Paste View Post
Uhhh... I know I run the risk of sounding stupid... but where in the new release (1.34) is the height limit setting?
Thing you are not: can't find it either ........
nisouck is offline Find More Posts by nisouck
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 14, 2012, 08:51 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2012
31 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hex junky View Post
If you have a motor or prop fail then the torque is out of balance, so it will rotate!!
Look what happens when one prop brakes (at 3:02)
dji F550 with broken propeller (5 min 15 sec)
STASID is offline Find More Posts by STASID
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 08:57 AM
Registered User
Namibia, Khomas, Windhoek
Joined Jul 2012
173 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hex junky View Post
Very top menu bar, under "Tools", if I remember right!!
Thanks for that tip.
"Tool" is greyed out currently 'cause I don't have the WKM connected yet. Will check later if "height limit" is indeed there.
Chilli Paste is offline Find More Posts by Chilli Paste
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 09:34 AM
Registered User
Belgique, Région Wallonne, Braine-l'Alleud
Joined Dec 2008
190 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hex junky View Post
Very top menu bar, under "Tools", if I remember right!!
YES! Ok, thanks.
nisouck is offline Find More Posts by nisouck
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:52 AM
Registered User
hexa's Avatar
United Kingdom, Scotland, Edinburgh
Joined Nov 2010
1,839 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed View Post
I see no reason to update yet. Hexa, you go first and report back, ok.
Yep the new firmware is all good. Tested it on a f450. And cs 6. Will try it on the s800 tomorrow or so.

There is defiantly a new algorithm in this fw seems like it calculate wind speed or other things then switch To a suitable stabilisation mode by it self.
I notice it on take off from the prop wash hitting the ground copter sense it's movements then adjusts to its surrounding conditions.

No bias talk. It's the first time I have seen my copters fly so smooth and spot on even in moderate wind.

I have to pat Dji on the back for this new firmware. Seems there are getting better at programming.
hexa is offline Find More Posts by hexa
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:40 AM
Registered User
Aviator1's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Surrey
Joined Jan 2012
429 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexa View Post
Yep the new firmware is all good. Tested it on a f450. And cs 6. Will try it on the s800 tomorrow or so.

There is defiantly a new algorithm in this fw seems like it calculate wind speed or other things then switch To a suitable stabilisation mode by it self.
I notice it on take off from the prop wash hitting the ground copter sense it's movements then adjusts to its surrounding conditions.

No bias talk. It's the first time I have seen my copters fly so smooth and spot on even in moderate wind.

I have to pat Dji on the back for this new firmware. Seems there are getting better at programming.
Sounds like good news Hexa!! I have heard that this firmware was developed off the back of the recent 72hour tests DJI have carried out? I will check it out in the next couple of days
Aviator1 is offline Find More Posts by Aviator1
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:44 AM
Registered User
Aviator1's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Surrey
Joined Jan 2012
429 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by STASID View Post
Look what happens when one prop brakes (at 3:02)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGL7y2o9AEA&feature=plcp
Your 550 doesnt appear to rotate? just pitch forward and lose height...

DJI WKM Octo 5.12a Prop loss with Canon 5D and zoom lens (0 min 10 sec)

My Octo losing a prop..
Aviator1 is offline Find More Posts by Aviator1
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 12:58 PM
I never finish anyth
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2012
2,585 Posts
My hexa also dipped to the side that lost the prop. I did some throttle feathering and careful yawing while full stick in the opposite direction of the failure. I was able to glide it down.

DJI F550 Naza GPS - Lost a prop midflight (2 min 0 sec)
MCrites is offline Find More Posts by MCrites
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 02:12 PM
Registered User
Canada, ON, Toronto
Joined Sep 2012
412 Posts
Just finished a seven waypoint test with my wkm with new compass on the s800, it flew flawlessly! What a beautiful bird! I will post video soon.
apvxtreme is offline Find More Posts by apvxtreme
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 03:36 PM
Registered User
Efti's Avatar
Norge, Rogaland, Bryne
Joined Oct 2011
331 Posts
I wish I had the newer FW when this happened

DJI props fail (0 min 17 sec)
Efti is offline Find More Posts by Efti
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 03:37 PM
Registered User
Canada, ON, Toronto
Joined Sep 2012
412 Posts
Guess I know what I'm doing tonight! I will post my findings tomorrow!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hexa View Post
Yep the new firmware is all good. Tested it on a f450. And cs 6. Will try it on the s800 tomorrow or so.

There is defiantly a new algorithm in this fw seems like it calculate wind speed or other things then switch To a suitable stabilisation mode by it self.
I notice it on take off from the prop wash hitting the ground copter sense it's movements then adjusts to its surrounding conditions.

No bias talk. It's the first time I have seen my copters fly so smooth and spot on even in moderate wind.

I have to pat Dji on the back for this new firmware. Seems there are getting better at programming.
apvxtreme is offline Find More Posts by apvxtreme
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 05:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
446 Posts
subscribed
tombrown1 is offline Find More Posts by tombrown1
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:03 PM
Posting, but should be working
furyphoto's Avatar
Brackendale, BC, Canada
Joined Sep 2006
250 Posts
I'm going out to Home Depot right now to buy Ny-lock nuts! hopefully I won't have to test the new firmware.

Actually, waiting on a replacement MC. Hope it's on the way!
furyphoto is offline Find More Posts by furyphoto
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:12 PM
Registered User
rruiz's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
399 Posts
Also subscribed
rruiz is offline Find More Posts by rruiz
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:18 PM
Stay airborne my friends
rc-mike's Avatar
USA, TN, Dickson
Joined Nov 2004
998 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tombrown1 View Post
subscribed
Quote:
Originally Posted by rruiz View Post
Also subscribed
You know you can go up to the top of the thread under "Thread Tools" and there is an option to subscribe to the thread without posting if you want to.
rc-mike is offline Find More Posts by rc-mike
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ballistic Recovery System for Multirotors Duck! Aerial Photography 65 Feb 26, 2014 09:58 PM
Discussion DJI - WooKong eStab for Scale sidneyw Scale Helicopters 97 Dec 30, 2012 10:48 AM
Discussion FY3ZT Autopilot for Aerial Photography feiyudz Aerial Photography 116 May 07, 2012 04:58 PM
Discussion DJI AceOne autopilot for sale... hazchem88 Aerial Photography 4 Mar 31, 2011 03:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 11:43 AM