HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 19, 2012, 08:09 AM
Registered User
Talespa's Avatar
Brazil, São Paulo, Sao Paulo
Joined Sep 2011
12 Posts
Firmware v5.10 are not suitable for octos and due to it's use assistant v 1.28 many issues was related with windows 7.
From version 5.12 some changes below:
-Fix the problem that Octocopter can't used with traditional receiver in firmware version 5.10.
-Fix the problem that assistant software version 1.28 will crash under some win7 system.
Talespa is offline Find More Posts by Talespa
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 19, 2012, 12:01 PM
uavservices on MRF
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,101 Posts
5.12 has been reliable for me with two hexas but the gimbal does some strange drifting... usually if I unplug and re-plug it goes away.
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 01:51 PM
What goes around comes around.
squigg's Avatar
Joined May 2011
440 Posts
Second that, .. i have a hexa flying on 5.10, no problems at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nisouck View Post
"a" version are for octo.

I tried 5.08 and now I fly 5.10 without problem with 2 hexa and 1 S800.
I don't test the 5.12 until now.
squigg is offline Find More Posts by squigg
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 10:00 PM
Registered User
Jeffem62's Avatar
United States, TX, El Paso
Joined Apr 2012
527 Posts
Please guys need some help help.
Doing a job tomorrow and im worried.
In ATTI mode im getting BLUE led
In GPS Mode im getting GREEN led

This is new, what could be the problem? Everything in the Assistant has been checked. What am I doing wrong? I have the latest Software and Firmware.
Jeffem62 is offline Find More Posts by Jeffem62
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 10:04 PM
Needs more bacon!
Dolby's Avatar
United States, WI, Milwaukee
Joined Jan 2011
1,064 Posts
Blue would be failsafe, I would load up the software and see if your switches are working correctly. You might need to recalibrate your transmitter in the software.
Dolby is online now Find More Posts by Dolby
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 10:05 PM
Registered User
Jeffem62's Avatar
United States, TX, El Paso
Joined Apr 2012
527 Posts
Ok, check this out. Searched Google and every thread I could find. Jasper from RC Groups says press on the led and it will fix it self. Can you believe it worked...... Amazing.

Ok I feel better.

Does DJI cover the led light? If so how long? Mine is only 4 months old.
Jeffem62 is offline Find More Posts by Jeffem62
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 12:37 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
168 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidneyw View Post
Purple blink means good GPS reception. Why is it a problem?
because he is not saying purple is a problem, his concern is for the now Blinking Blue led.
Davebbb is offline Find More Posts by Davebbb
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 04:07 PM
Z06 Tony's Avatar
United States, NY, Rochester
Joined Sep 2008
7,149 Posts
I use v5.12 on all my customers builds.

Here is an X8 running all 8 motor outputs on v5.12.

Its a beast in the wind.
I am running 8 400kv motors on 6s.

Notice the windstorm->

Rc-Drones KongEight-6S 650mm X8 Multi-Rotor/Quad/MultiCopter In Wind Storm (1 min 58 sec)
Z06 Tony is offline Find More Posts by Z06 Tony
Site Sponsor
Old Sep 20, 2012, 06:43 PM
Registered User
Harpia's Avatar
Brasil, PE, Gravatá
Joined Apr 2004
73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z06 Tony View Post
I use v5.12 on all my customers builds.

Here is an X8 running all 8 motor outputs on v5.12.

Its a beast in the wind.
I am running 8 400kv motors on 6s.

Notice the windstorm->
Nice!

What is the flight time and what is the 6S batteries?
Are you using avrotos 3515-15?
Harpia is offline Find More Posts by Harpia
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 02:50 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2010
1,217 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z06 Tony View Post
I use v5.12 on all my customers builds.

Here is an X8 running all 8 motor outputs on v5.12.

Its a beast in the wind.
I am running 8 400kv motors on 6s.

Notice the windstorm->

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z1ywe...ature=youtu.be
And that was with stock Plush FW.
FlyingMcCoy is online now Find More Posts by FlyingMcCoy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Indoor 3d
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 08:43 AM
Z06 Tony's Avatar
United States, NY, Rochester
Joined Sep 2008
7,149 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harpia View Post
Nice!

What is the flight time and what is the 6S batteries?
Are you using avrotos 3515-15?
Flight time should be about 15 mins with no payload as I used 1100mAh for 2 mins.

I used Rc Tiger motors-> http://rc-drones.com/mt3515-15.php

6s means 6 cell batteries.
It uses 2 of them.

They are 22.2v-> http://rc-drones.com/HYPERION-G3-EX-5000-6S.php


@FlyingMcCoy

Yes they are stock 40a Turnigy Plush ESC's.

Props are Graupner 14x8.

More pics-> http://www.z06tony.com/Other/Rc-Dron...1026&k=Rr86jNx
Z06 Tony is offline Find More Posts by Z06 Tony
Site Sponsor
Old Sep 21, 2012, 07:58 PM
Registered User
Harpia's Avatar
Brasil, PE, Gravatá
Joined Apr 2004
73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z06 Tony View Post
Flight time should be about 15 mins with no payload as I used 1100mAh for 2 mins.
I used Rc Tiger motors-> http://rc-drones.com/mt3515-15.php
6s means 6 cell batteries.
It uses 2 of them.
They are 22.2v-> http://rc-drones.com/HYPERION-G3-EX-5000-6S.php
Tony,

Thanks for sharing the information about the setup of octocopter.
I understand the meaning of "S" of lipo batteries (means 6 cell ), I messed up because I did not know to ask correctly. My question would be which brand of batteries, lol. I think they are Hyperion.
Harpia is offline Find More Posts by Harpia
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 11:26 AM
Registered User
jabtyler's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Jun 2011
118 Posts
Thats a bummer cause that was the first flight for that batt. its a turnigy 4s 5000mah.
Im going to solder the motors to the ESCs and I am thinking about new motors.

while I am putting everything back together I have a GPS question. I get a GPS lock with the GPS sitting on the arm, can I just connect it there or does a good lock not guarantee that it will keep a lock? I broke the GPS arm in the crash so I thought I would try keeping it a little lower this time.



Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites View Post
I wouldn't trust that battery or the connectors. Test that battery and check for a cold solder on all of the connectors. The way it had no power at the end seemed more like a power issue. Erratic tipping can be bullet connectors, power loss is bigger.
jabtyler is offline Find More Posts by jabtyler
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 01:15 PM
Registered User
United States, WV, Harrison
Joined Jul 2012
303 Posts
Naza GPS and Wookong GPS

Can anyone tell me if the GPS/Compass on both the naza gps and the wookong are the exact same size?

I'd like to know if the wookong piece will fit in the protector/standthat I make with the 3d printer

Name: 2012-09-19 22.25.40.jpg
Views: 110
Size: 248.0 KB
Description:
wdelarme is offline Find More Posts by wdelarme
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 03:20 PM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
Do I need to calibrate and program the Simon K flashed ESC?
Thanks
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ballistic Recovery System for Multirotors Duck! Aerial Photography 65 Feb 26, 2014 10:58 PM
Discussion DJI - WooKong eStab for Scale sidneyw Scale Helicopters 97 Dec 30, 2012 11:48 AM
Discussion FY3ZT Autopilot for Aerial Photography feiyudz Aerial Photography 116 May 07, 2012 05:58 PM
Discussion DJI AceOne autopilot for sale... hazchem88 Aerial Photography 4 Mar 31, 2011 04:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 12:43 PM