HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 07, 2011, 01:22 PM
Joined Mar 2011
535 Posts
Build Log
The best possible hexa for Sony NEX 5...

I work as a fulltime televison-cameraman and the last few months I have experimented with different kinds of multicopters and GoPro to see if I would manage to add filming from the air to my repertoire. I soon found out that small quads and GoPros were not good enough. On the other end ogf the scae you have octos with Canon 550d/5d but those are simply too big for me.
A good hexa with a Sony Nex 5 seems to me to be a good compromise and thats what I wil build here.

So here is my goals with this build:
-First of all I want to build the best HEXA one possible can have for a Sony NEX 5
-The hexa should have smooth and vibrationfree filming with no rolling shutter problems
-The hexa should be not to big so it can easily transported

I have decided that since I will use this professionally I will not focus on keeping the costs down allthough I will do that when it doesnt interfere with quality.

So here is what I so far have decided to use:
Controller: Hoverfly pro - its good quality, have output for two-axis camera-gimbal, I have this one already

Motors: AXI 2217-20 short shaft - these are very expensive but recommende by "everyone, regarded as having very little vibrations

ESCs: Jeti advance pro SB - yes, these are insanely expensive but they are recommended by AXI themselves and are regareded as being some of the best ESCs out there.

Propellers: APC 10x4.7 Slowflyers - Slowflyers are regarded by many as good for smooth stable flying, 10" is chosen to keep the size of the HEXA down

Frame: Homemade w/centerplate and landing gear from mikrocopter - I could have just bought droidworx but I decided to build my own one. I have got some 10mm square alu pipes and that enables me to use stuff from mikrkopter since they are also 10mm