HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 05, 2011, 04:35 PM
Evansville, IN
Joined Jul 2002
301 Posts
Help!
Nirvana or Vela for first boat

As the title says, for a total newby to rc sailing, would the "experts" here recommend the Nirvana or the Vela. Not interested in the least in racing, just going out on the lakes to kill some time in my retirement.

I'm currently leaning toward the Vela just because of the increased size and my old tired eyes but the Nirvana is still fairly large enough to see at a distance. Have read through the threads on here for both and also the rcsails website.

I've never even seen an rc sailboat in person but am hoping to go to a lake on Monday that I've been told that 3 or 4 people will show. If this doesn't pan out, I may wait until I go back to Orlando in mid September as I am sure there is a lot of sailing there.

Thanks in advance for any help.
11290 is offline Find More Posts by 11290
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 05, 2011, 04:56 PM
Minnesota, USA
Joined Aug 2002
2,358 Posts
Even though you 'SAY" you won't race - the Nirvana is an AMYA Class boat and if you stay "legal" there will always be a market for resale.

And if the importer drops the ball again getting product into country, a shortage of new boats might cause yours to increase in value - if/when you decide to sell.

If looking for a 1 meter size, I would recommend the Seawind over the Vela or similar knock-offs strictly for same reasons as the Nirvana - it is a class boat.

Dick
Dick L. is offline Find More Posts by Dick L.
Old Aug 05, 2011, 05:34 PM
Joined Mar 2009
48 Posts
nirvana from what iv read
tacomarunner is offline Find More Posts by tacomarunner
Old Aug 05, 2011, 05:38 PM
Joined Mar 2009
48 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick L. View Post
Even though you 'SAY" you won't race - the Nirvana is an AMYA Class boat and if you stay "legal" there will always be a market for resale.