Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 26, 2011, 04:17 PM
Joined Jul 2011
6 Posts
Discussion
Esky E-500 Double Co-Axial RC Helicopter

First off, I'm a real beginner with no r/c helicopter experience. I was thinking of starting with the Syma S107 to have some fun and learn with indoor flying. I then saw the Esyy E-500 at a local hobby store and wonder if this helicopter might also be easy to fly as beginner, since I could also use it outdoors.

Thanks,

Joe
JoeM. is offline Find More Posts by JoeM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 26, 2011, 04:48 PM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,348 Posts
The Syma 3 channel helis don't use the standard channel assignments and are much to slow and tame to teach you anything. Simply for fun, they are fine. The large ESky coaxes are much better for learning how to fly. I've always felt they were a good place to start, because they have weight and mass that provides a realistic feel you don't get from the tiny helis that don't weigh anything. Unless any coax is modified pretty extensively, it's only good for very calm outdoor conditions.
Balr14 is offline Find More Posts by Balr14
Old Jul 26, 2011, 04:57 PM
Joined Jul 2011
6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balr14 View Post
The Syma 3 channel helis don't use the standard channel assignments and are much to slow and tame to teach you anything. Simply for fun, they are fine. The large ESky coaxes are much better for learning how to fly. I've always felt they were a good place to start, because they have weight and mass that provides a realistic feel you don't get from the tiny helis that don't weigh anything. Unless any coax is modified pretty extensively, it's only good for very calm outdoor conditions.
Thanks for the advice!
Old Jul 26, 2011, 06:05 PM
United Kingdom, England, Liverpool
Joined Mar 2009
1,654 Posts