Old Jul 26, 2011, 10:25 AM
Late for work again!
Northampton, England
Joined May 2004
1,789 Posts
Discussion
Mick Reeves Fournier RF-4

Hi folks, Not been in here before!!

I have a build thread going on a sailplane in 'Sailplanes - Thermal' but this machine has interrupted things!!

I am a full-size pilot and a friend asked me to 'look at something' in his workshop, the 'something' was a 1/4 scale Fournier RF-4! He is the owner of the real aircraft with this registration but not a modeller or model flyer.

He's asked me to check it over and fly it for him, I couldn't refuse!

It's been built very nicely, it is 110" span and weighs just under 10 lb (4.4 kg). It is fitted with an OS FS61 which I think is a discontinued engine and it has retractable gear.

The model type was the 1978 World Champion (presumably F4C?) in the designer's hands.

Hope to fly it later this week and will report back.

Cheers

Gary
Gary Binnie is offline Find More Posts by Gary Binnie
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 26, 2011, 02:24 PM
GEE,...it BEE model time
Interlochen, MI
Joined Dec 2009
1,536 Posts
Very nice photos of a great model aircraft. Thanks for sharing.

For those interested, contained within the July 2011 R/C Model Aeroplane magazine is a free construction article pull-out 72 inch wingspan plan for the Fournier RF-4 along with another related Fournier RF-4 article.

Soft landings,

Joe
piperjoe is offline Find More Posts by piperjoe
Old Jul 26, 2011, 03:12 PM
Beaumont tx
Joined Oct 2004
3,706 Posts
OS FS 61 with exposed rocker arms IS mid-1980's, one of the first 4 strokers. Very nice engine, not all that powerful, but has enough to fly that plane as it should be flown. IIRC the valves need setting fairly often.

howell
gwinhh is offline Find More Posts by gwinhh
Old Jul 26, 2011, 04:28 PM
Late for work again!
Northampton, England
Joined May 2004
1,789 Posts
Cheers guys, this has come out of the blue but it's such a nice model I thought I should share some details and photos.