HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 02, 2011, 07:43 PM
Facts, Logic, 3D
Tom K.'s Avatar
Florida
Joined Nov 2010
3,582 Posts
Yeah, Lee's link was the one I was talking about. Thanks Lee.

--Tom K.
Tom K. is offline Find More Posts by Tom K.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 12S on the 3DHS 74" Edge 540
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 02, 2011, 10:36 PM
Wherever you go there you are
7oneWo1f's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined Nov 2011
8,402 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Semeraro View Post
I'm running a set of them, and they feel great! The recommended airboss elite 80amp ESC has a 6v BEC that powers them nicely..

I'm actually flying mine right now, and I'm with a friend that just maddened his 60" extra today! He also says thumbs up!!
I picked up the airboss 80 A ESC, and it says it has a 3 amp (4 amp peak) 5.2 volt ESC.

Is 3 (4 max) enough, and is 5.2 volts enough? What can a set of HS5245s pull during a no throttle, full elevator, rudder, and aileron snap at moderate speed?
7oneWo1f is offline Find More Posts by 7oneWo1f
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2011, 11:24 PM
Some.. call him Tim...
Ducati Mechanic's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Oct 2008
6,349 Posts
If it's a newer one(within a year),and you physically check it, it has a 6v BEC but the package, and directions say 5v max..

If it's a older one? it might max around 5.5v(one of my old 45amp ESC's does).. In that case I would get a separate castle BEC(20.00$), for the 60" EXP's..

One way to check is with a radio like my A9.. The heads up display tells you rx voltage..
Ducati Mechanic is offline Find More Posts by Ducati Mechanic
Last edited by Ducati Mechanic; Dec 03, 2011 at 10:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2011, 12:52 AM
Registered User
vienquach's Avatar
Chicago, IL
Joined Nov 2009
2,996 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Semeraro View Post
One way to check is with a radio like my A9.. The heads up display tells you rx voltage..
+1 on the A9's voltage telemetry.

Vien
vienquach is online now Find More Posts by vienquach
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2011, 06:22 AM
Registered User
fierce's Avatar
LI NY
Joined Sep 2008
1,011 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Semeraro View Post
One way to check is with a radio like my A9.. The heads up display tells you rx voltage..
Love mine. Built in volt meter. Put it on high rates wiggle the sticks like crazy and watch for a voltage drop. However with the new minima rx's for indoor there is no telemetry makes me feel naked when I look at my screen
fierce is offline Find More Posts by fierce
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2011, 10:17 AM
Facts, Logic, 3D
Tom K.'s Avatar
Florida
Joined Nov 2010
3,582 Posts
Motrolfly also makes a BEC for $15.95 and it works great!

--Tom K.
Tom K. is offline Find More Posts by Tom K.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 12S on the 3DHS 74" Edge 540
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2011, 10:27 AM
Not as Good as The Kid
Aeroplayin's Avatar
South Pasadena, FL
Joined Sep 2009
6,401 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom K. View Post
Motrolfly also makes a BEC for $15.95 and it works great!

--Tom K.
Yes, we have seven of them and they do provide the option of 4.8v and 6v and come plug and play with Deans attached.
Aeroplayin is online now Find More Posts by Aeroplayin
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 12:10 AM
Registered User
baumerm's Avatar
USA, OR, Carlton
Joined Aug 2009
177 Posts
Maiden flight - 60" Extra 300

I did the maiden flight of the Extra today. Great flying airplane! Using the transmitter setup from the 48" Edge, it just took a couple clicks of trim and flew very well right out of the box. Initially, there was a little KE coupling, but once I installed the SFGs, it tracked nice and straight. It seemed to be a little more lively on the ailerons.

I did about 6 flights and since the batteries are new I took it easy using a 15x6 Xoar prop. Started out with 5 minutes, and worked up to 8 minutes of flight time on 50% discharge doing IMAC style flying. Should be no problem to fly the routine twice.

The Torque motor and Airboss ESC are powered by 6S 3300mAh GenAce batteries. Placed centered on the battery tray, it resulted in a neutral CG.

Only trouble I had was the canopy latch. A sharp burr on the end of the pin prevented smooth operation. Once I filed the end of the pin to a round shape it worked great.

Can't wait to go fly it again!!! EF planes fly awsome!!!

Martin
baumerm is offline Find More Posts by baumerm
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2011, 04:12 AM
Some.. call him Tim...
Ducati Mechanic's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Oct 2008
6,349 Posts
Congrats!! If you can? Post video!
Ducati Mechanic is offline Find More Posts by Ducati Mechanic
Last edited by Ducati Mechanic; Dec 05, 2011 at 05:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2011, 11:37 PM
Wherever you go there you are
7oneWo1f's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined Nov 2011
8,402 Posts
I am looking at the gens ace 25C 6S batteries. I have the 4016T/500 motor, and 5245MG servos.

Which would be better:

2600 mah 464 grams
3300 mah 532 grams
3800 mah 628 grams.

They are all about the same price per nominal watt hour ($0.68-$0.69/nom. W-Hr). The 2600 mah weight might not be right, because it's coming up at 5.6 mah/gram, compared to 6.1-6.2 for all of the other gens ace 6S 25C batteries I looked at.

How much weight is too much? What kind of flight time can I expect?

Thanks
7oneWo1f is offline Find More Posts by 7oneWo1f
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2011, 02:37 AM
Some.. call him Tim...
Ducati Mechanic's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Oct 2008
6,349 Posts
The 3800's at 628 gram are a bit heavy and you might have trouble balancing the plane..

The 3300's at 532 grams are perfect. You should get 6 minutes of hard flying with 30% left in the pack..

600 grams is the max weight I like to Recammend, and even at 600g you need to move your components back as far as possible, in order to balance the plane properly.
Ducati Mechanic is offline Find More Posts by Ducati Mechanic
Last edited by Ducati Mechanic; Dec 06, 2011 at 02:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2011, 10:41 AM
Team Extreme!
michaelJH's Avatar
Wa, state
Joined Oct 2009
1,166 Posts
For 3D flying, the 3300s are a perfect match for this plane. I have also used a few 3600s and they work well also, but if you are doing alot of slow 3D, I would get the 3300s. I like the extra flight time on the 3600s though!
michaelJH is offline Find More Posts by michaelJH
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2011, 10:59 AM
Wherever you go there you are
7oneWo1f's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined Nov 2011
8,402 Posts
Thanks guys. I was afraid you were going to say that. The Gens Ace 25c 3300 mah are not in stock. I do use sky lipos for my T-28, Pitts Model 12, P-47, and widowmaker, but they seem to have a steeper voltage roll-off than some of my better batteries.

Has anybody used the SpyderBatteries 3300 mah (527 grams). They are almost twice as much as the Gens Ace, but less than the Thunder Power 65C, which seems excessively high priced for my current skill level and purposes.
7oneWo1f is offline Find More Posts by 7oneWo1f
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2011, 12:55 PM
Registered User
Northwest Indiana
Joined Feb 2011
1,461 Posts
Got my 80 amp airboss ESC and my 500T torque motor in the mail yesterday...EF was awesome enough to take 20% off! Should have the GForce 6S 3300 40C's today I think. The ones they had on the there website look like Gens Ace copies and only weigh 550 grams so I went with the higher C rating.

I have everything I need except for the plane now.....
CRFan1 is offline Find More Posts by CRFan1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2011, 05:24 PM
Facts, Logic, 3D
Tom K.'s Avatar
Florida
Joined Nov 2010
3,582 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelJH View Post
For 3D flying, the 3300s are a perfect match for this plane. I have also used a few 3600s and they work well also, but if you are doing alot of slow 3D, I would get the 3300s. I like the extra flight time on the 3600s though!
More flight time? How long does a 3300 last you? For me it lasts about 6:30 and comes down about an average of 3.71vpc. This means I'm using 75% capacity which is exactly what I calculate my flight times to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by N6145k View Post
Thanks guys. I was afraid you were going to say that. The Gens Ace 25c 3300 mah are not in stock. I do use sky lipos for my T-28, Pitts Model 12, P-47, and widowmaker, but they seem to have a steeper voltage roll-off than some of my better batteries.
I can't really notice a big differnce between the Gens Ace 3300 25C 6S and the Sky Lipo 3300 30-60C 6S. Maybe because the Sky has a higher C rating (both average and burst) than the Gens Ace... but I can't really notice a substantial difference. But, I haven't flown my Gens Ace enough yet and I've heard they get better after the first 10 flights or so.

--Tom K.
Tom K. is offline Find More Posts by Tom K.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 12S on the 3DHS 74" Edge 540
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Extreme Flight 70" Extra 300 EXP - build/fly/video hercdriver7777 3D Flying 2454 Aug 14, 2014 06:39 PM
Build Log Extreme Flight 60" Edge 540T EXP - Build/Fly/Video FlopGun 3D Flying 249 Apr 16, 2012 10:46 AM
Help! D-60 build thread Chronic DS'er Dynamic Soaring 3 Jun 23, 2011 10:04 PM
Sold Extreme Flight 58" Extra Ready To Fly (GA) traderdave2 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 11 Apr 26, 2011 05:33 PM
Video EXTREME FLIGHT RC EXTRA 300EXP in Action! EXTREME FLIGHT Electric Plane Talk 1 Jun 10, 2009 08:45 PM