SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 15, 2012, 07:48 PM
This is NOT a TOY?
C_Watkins's Avatar
United States, GA, Atlanta
Joined Jul 2011
2,559 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryyoungs View Post
Are most of you using the recommended throws suggested by the manual?
I don't own the Extra, but I do have a couple 60" MXS's and picking up a 60" Edge in a trade tomorrow.
Regardless of size though, I usually go for "everything I can get without binding" personally.

Ailerons, I do match both left and right up/down to the same measurement.
Basically whichever measurement is lowest is what I set all around.
(So always matched, on all four measurements, even if it's less throw than I would like overall)

I know a lot of the better flyers also setup low (and sometimes mid) rates though, like the manual suggests.
C_Watkins is offline Find More Posts by C_Watkins
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 15, 2012, 09:53 PM
Some.. call him Tim...
Ducati Mechanic's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Oct 2008
6,349 Posts
I like 60 elevator 70% Expo, 35 alierons 70% Expo, Rutter all you can get, 70 to 80% expo..

The alierons are very fast on this plane!
Ducati Mechanic is offline Find More Posts by Ducati Mechanic
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:06 AM
Suspended Account
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Sep 2011
510 Posts
Has anyone had any issues with replacement canopies not fitting flush with the fuse? A toolbox was dropped on the original and replaced, but the new one now leaves a gap.
bwbkx125 is offline Find More Posts by bwbkx125
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:38 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
13 Posts
Have one ordered, its going to be great!
Expect it to arrive in about two weeks, went with the torque/airboss combo. Also going with Hitec 5245 servos
Can't wait
Ahmd is offline Find More Posts by Ahmd
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:51 AM
TEAM EXTREME FLIGHT
Doc Austin's Avatar
USA, FL, Largo
Joined Dec 2005
17,071 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwbkx125 View Post
Has anyone had any issues with replacement canopies not fitting flush with the fuse? A toolbox was dropped on the original and replaced, but the new one now leaves a gap.

When replacing any canopy, sometimes you have to tinker with the hole that the latch pin goes through. If it will fit right with the latch held open, look for other things can can be jacking it up.

I paint a dot on the point of the latch pin with a black sharpie, hold the latch open and then hold the canopy down flush. If the pin doesn't go all the way in, it will leave a mark where it's hitting. Use that as a reference to start trimming. Most of the time it is so close that a scrape or two with an Xacto is enough.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahmd View Post
Have one ordered, its going to be great!
Expect it to arrive in about two weeks, went with the torque/airboss combo. Also going with Hitec 5245 servos
Can't wait
I've have had great luck with the HS5245MG, but not until I had reset the deadbands. I was getting extremely poor centering until I bought a programmer and set them all at 1. You want your deadbands as low as possible, and mine came out of the box at something like 2, 5, 7, 8.

The plane was always flew fine except I was trimming it out on every straight pass. It just woukdn't stay trimmed out, because the servos were centering so poorly. Once I reset the dead bands, the plane became super locked in and groovy.

You can get a Hi tec servo programmer that works on your PC for as little as $25, but I bought the expensive one because I can use it at the field. It saved me once when I forgot to set the dead bands on my new MXS. The heli guys are always wanting to borrow it too, so now I just keep the programmer in my glovebox.

If you're in Florida, stop by and we'll set your servos up!
Doc Austin is offline Find More Posts by Doc Austin
Last edited by Doc Austin; Dec 16, 2012 at 10:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 02:15 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, Echo
Joined Dec 2012
140 Posts
48 or 60" Extra battery/power recommendation?

Hi All, I'm new to this forum and a relatively new RC pilot. I really love the looks of the EF Extras and would like to get a 48 or 60" with their respective EF power combos. I would rather go with the 60" if I can afford it. I've been flying a few years, mostly 450 and 500 size helis, and smaller (3S) planes. I have a bunch of high quality 3S 2200 and 2700 mAh batteries as well as 6S 2600 batts. I have been told that the 60" planes may be too hard on the 6S 2600 packs. I've read so many threads and it seems that there are endless combinations that guys are using. So, a few questions. As a novice with a non- aggressive flight skills, are my 6S-2600's too small? I am trying to cut the cost of a new 60" inch Extra project by utilizing the packs I already have. Would there be any performance or other drawbacks to a 6S setup utilizing my 3S-2200 or 2700 mAh batts with 2 in series for 4800 or 5400 mAh total? Lastly, can you guys recommend a 48 or 60 inch airframe and power setup using these packs? Or, should I just bite the bullet and buy some new packs? Thank you... Joe
3 Mistakes High is offline Find More Posts by 3 Mistakes High
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 05:44 PM
Back in the hobby- ALL in!
dth7's Avatar
United States, NH, Greenland
Joined Feb 2012
1,004 Posts
Joe, welcome.

I have the 60" Extra on the bench and I've been flying a 48" 3DHS Edge. The 48" was a nice step up but I've flown the 60" and it is much nicer for precision, IMAC AND 3D flying. It is much more stable and has better lines. So, if you can swing it go for the 60". The setup that was recommended to me by a very good source was 6s 3300 as a minimum with the EF stock setup Torque motor. It should get 4:30-6 minutes of flying. Others feel free to correct but I think your series idea- " Would there be any performance or other drawbacks to a 6S setup utilizing my 3S-2200 or 2700 mAh batts with 2 in series for 4800 or 5400 mAh total?" is mixing parallel and series! 2 3S 2200s in series would yield 6S (22.2V) at 2200 mAh. In parallel 2 3S 2200s would = 3S (11.1V) at 4400 mAh. Parallel adds Amps, Series adds Volts. You can't get both unless you series 2 2200 3S for 6S 2200 and parallel 2 more in series (2 2200 3S series = 3S 4400 paralleled with 2 2200 3S series = 3S 4400 for a total of 6S 4400). Gets a little cumbersome and confusing huh! I don't think you want 4 batteries stuffed in your plane! Welcome to my world. I too have a bunch of 1800-2200 mAh 3S and 1800-2200 4S and they really don't help with a 6S set up since I need a min of 3300. You need the "gas" (mAh) to fly. I bit the bullet and bought 4 6S batteries, 3 Gens Ace 3300 25C and an Ecopower 3300 30C and now plan to get an icharger, 24V power supply and a deep cycle marine battery. I have 2 AC680 chargers but they are not big enough for the 6S batts. Have to pay to play! I know that's probably not what you wanted to hear, sorry. I hope this helped clear up some of your questions.
dth7 is offline Find More Posts by dth7
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 05:50 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,422 Posts
I run my 6s 2500mah gens ace in my 60 extra all the time, get 5 minutes and I actually prefer the lighter set-up, but do like my 3300's when the wind picks up
3drcparts is offline Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:11 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, Echo
Joined Dec 2012
140 Posts
Thank you!

Thanks, dth7, for your quick and thoughtful reply. Yes, I guess I need a refresher in electrical theory but I should know better. So, sorry for the brain fart. I already have an iCharger and a 1000W power supply so I am in good shape that way.

The power requirements and motor/battery recommendations for different planes are confusing. I have a Sebart Sbach 30E with a 53 inch span that flies well on the recommended 3S setup with a Hacker A30-10XL and its not a super light airframe. I don't have the skills/experience to know if this is a totally docile setup but it seems pretty capable.

It makes me wonder if I can get by on my 6S-2600's for a little while until I can spring for some 3300's. Although it would be nice to have the right packs for this application as I am tired of trying to make what I have work in all my aircraft.

Inverted, Do you have to add weight or have any balance issues with the lighter 2500 mAh batteries?
3 Mistakes High is offline Find More Posts by 3 Mistakes High
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 08:34 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3 Mistakes High View Post
Inverted, Do you have to add weight or have any balance issues with the lighter 2500 mAh batteries?
no, plenty of room to move the battery
3drcparts is offline Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:03 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, Echo
Joined Dec 2012
140 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverted-I-Fly View Post
no, plenty of room to move the battery
Thank you, Inverted ! Sometimes it's necessary but I really hate to add weight to model aircraft, especially those designed as lightweight as these. If EF still has a 60 inch combo at the end of the month, I hope to order one...!
3 Mistakes High is offline Find More Posts by 3 Mistakes High
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:25 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,422 Posts
I should add that I fly the 4315-480, not the torque, not sure if there is a weight difference
3drcparts is offline Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:30 PM
Suspended Account
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Sep 2011
510 Posts
Thanks Austin, it sits perfectly flush now!
bwbkx125 is offline Find More Posts by bwbkx125
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:02 PM
Some.. call him Tim...
Ducati Mechanic's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Oct 2008
6,349 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3 Mistakes High View Post
Thank you, Inverted ! Sometimes it's necessary but I really hate to add weight to model aircraft, especially those designed as lightweight as these. If EF still has a 60 inch combo at the end of the month, I hope to order one...!
We found that these planes really like a Heaver battery. The 3300s seem to be The lightest pack, The plane actually flys the best on 3600 6s..

The wing loading is crazy light and if you go to light on your battery pack, the plane just floats around and won't settle into its moves..

A couple of new six cell packs are well worth the investment you can get Jen-ace 25 C packs or nano tech 25 c packs for around $45 apiece if you shop around..
Ducati Mechanic is offline Find More Posts by Ducati Mechanic
Last edited by Ducati Mechanic; Dec 16, 2012 at 11:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:35 PM
Suspended Account
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Sep 2011
510 Posts
I have changed the battery packs to 6s 3000s (487g) and am finding it to be quite nose heavy even with the pack up against the wing tube. The plane is built exactly per the manual and it was a little heavy on 5s but not this bad. Is it just me? I have moved the esc from under the motor box into the fuse but have yet to see if it improves it.
bwbkx125 is offline Find More Posts by bwbkx125
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Extreme Flight 70" Extra 300 EXP - build/fly/video hercdriver7777 3D Flying 2459 Sep 11, 2014 08:29 AM
Build Log Extreme Flight 60" Edge 540T EXP - Build/Fly/Video FlopGun 3D Flying 249 Apr 16, 2012 10:46 AM
Help! D-60 build thread Chronic DS'er Dynamic Soaring 3 Jun 23, 2011 10:04 PM
Sold Extreme Flight 58" Extra Ready To Fly (GA) traderdave2 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 11 Apr 26, 2011 05:33 PM
Video EXTREME FLIGHT RC EXTRA 300EXP in Action! EXTREME FLIGHT Electric Plane Talk 1 Jun 10, 2009 08:45 PM