HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 23, 2011, 09:37 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
22,377 Posts
Discussion
When you recalibrate your DX8

I've been working offline with a guy trying to get his radio to calibrate properly. No matter how many times he tried calibrating, it kept coming up with -99% instead of -100% throttle.

Offhand, he mentioned something that gave me a clue what he was doing wrong, and I figured it might be something others are experiencing when they do the mode-change-recal thing.

When you are moving the sticks, only move the sticks in one axis. Since you are calibrating the elevator and throttle, only move in that "vertical" direction. DO NOT move the rudder or aileron directions very much (a little is OK).

The problem comes when you calibrate by going to the corners, the mechanics cause a very small amount of change in the rotation of both pots, causing the transmitter to see a little more travel than you would normally have.

Back in the "old days" they solved this by having round (or rounded-corner) gimbal sockets. Now we solve it by doing the calibration in a + rather than an X sort of way.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 23, 2011, 10:13 AM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
6,566 Posts
I might add- (your suggestion) just push the throttle lightly (one finger each direction) to each end - shoving it hard against the stop only means the calibration will read the " pushed hard "position

try it .
richard hanson is offline Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 08:09 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,239 Posts
And make sure when you center prior to saving the settings that the sticks are as close too as possible of being centered.

The nice thing about doing this is that you get a practice calibration when you change modes the first time in order to get the calibration for your mode selection.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 06:32 PM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Hi
I need to recalibrate my Aileron and Rudder, they read different values in the monitor section depending on what #model is selected. Why would I get different reading on different models?
VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Last edited by Victory Pete; Jul 25, 2011 at 06:44 PM.
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 25, 2011, 06:41 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,239 Posts
The User calibration screen and setting from the mode change ONLY calibrate the THROTTLE & ELEVATOR.

Up and down motion of the stick do to the LIMITING of the throttle stick.

The rest you will need to contact HH and have the radio serviced.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 06:45 PM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip View Post
The User calibration screen and setting from the mode change ONLY calibrate the THROTTLE & ELEVATOR.

Up and down motion of the stick do to the LIMITING of the throttle stick.

The rest you will need to contact HH and have the radio serviced.
Is this true Andy, I need to "Just Send It In"
VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Aug 05, 2011, 06:13 PM
FPV'r
ror1's Avatar
Canada, ON, Carleton Place
Joined May 2011
1,124 Posts
unable to calibrate Aile stick

version 2.03 beta
Unable to calibrate the aile stick. The ?? will not say OK.
If I move the stick a little to the left it says OK.
The other sticks were fine.
With the old software(2.01) on the monitor screen, the AILE shows -98 and 101
same for elevator.
ror1 is offline Find More Posts by ror1
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2011, 06:23 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
22,377 Posts
Thanks for resurrecting this thread.

This info is already in several other threads, but bears repeating here:

Be sure you cycle and center the knob.

When you get the 4 OK's, move the cursor to SAVE. Then release the sticks. THEN click on SAVE.


Hope this helps.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2011, 07:18 PM
FPV'r
ror1's Avatar
Canada, ON, Carleton Place
Joined May 2011
1,124 Posts
Ok I did rotate the AUX3 pot but still I get "??" in CENTER RIGHT.
In order to get OK in CENTER RIGHT I have to just push the aileron stick a little left of center.
I did not save the calibration because I still have a "??"
ror1 is offline Find More Posts by ror1
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2011, 08:40 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,239 Posts
Rotating the knob does not show anything on the screen.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2011, 03:00 PM
FPV'r
ror1's Avatar
Canada, ON, Carleton Place
Joined May 2011
1,124 Posts
ok i see on another thread to move stick to get to OK and let go of stick and save. So I did that.
The travel on Aile is +98 and -101 so calibration did not work..
ror1 is offline Find More Posts by ror1
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2011, 03:36 PM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ror1 View Post
ok i see on another thread to move stick to get to OK and let go of stick and save. So I did that.
The travel on Aile is +98 and -101 so calibration did not work..
Are all your subtrims and trims centered?
VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Aug 06, 2011, 04:21 PM
FPV'r
ror1's Avatar
Canada, ON, Carleton Place
Joined May 2011
1,124 Posts
subtrims yes since it is a reset model.
the calibration should set all trims to zero but it did not.
Ok now it is +-100%
ror1 is offline Find More Posts by ror1
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2011, 05:00 PM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ror1 View Post
subtrims yes since it is a reset model.
the calibration should set all trims to zero but it did not.
Ok now it is +-100%
What was the problem?
VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Aug 07, 2011, 01:19 AM
FPV'r
ror1's Avatar
Canada, ON, Carleton Place
Joined May 2011
1,124 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Victory Pete View Post
What was the problem?
VP
version 2.03 beta
Unable to calibrate the aile stick. The ?? will not say OK.
If I move the aile stick a little to the left it says OK.
The other sticks were fine.
With the old software(2.01) on the monitor screen, the AILE shows -98 and 101
same for elevator.
ror1 is offline Find More Posts by ror1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion How do you like your new DX8? Have you had problems? Victory Pete Radios 1653 Jan 07, 2014 09:14 PM
Yippee! what is your feeling when you make your heli flying to sky flying lx Electric Heli Talk 27 Jun 25, 2011 05:36 AM
Careful! What happens when you hold your plane with one hand! RknRusty 1/2A Planes 0 May 04, 2011 09:24 PM
Discussion you know your a rc redneck when ????? Ldm Electric Warbirds 58 Apr 20, 2011 02:10 PM
Poll Do you wear safety goggles/glasses/sunglasses when flying your heli? jabsten Micro Helis 70 Apr 14, 2011 01:33 PM