HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 21, 2001, 11:41 AM
Registered User
Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Joined May 2000
256 Posts
Twin Dimwatt--8 cells not enough power? Please help!!

I have a Twin Dimwatt I can't keep in the air.

Im running 2 Graupner S400 6.0, 8 x 600 cells, and Castle Creations PEGASUS-35 controller. I have standard rud/ele with HS-81's.

It takes most of the runway to get airborne--and once airborne I struggle to stay aloft. When I try to turn, even slightly, I lose attitude and make a forced landing. So far no major damage other than the wheel popping off the wire.

I know I have the c.g. correct. I made sure to use only hard balsa on the longerons and leading egde of the wing so it can't be that overweight.

Does anyone have any idea what may be the cause? I want to give it more more try before I declare this airframe a lost cause.

Thank you.
totalboss is offline Find More Posts by totalboss
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 21, 2001, 01:41 PM
Tork it or Dork it
Ryan Nau's Avatar
Elizabethville,PA USA
Joined Jul 2000
2,198 Posts
I don't think an 8x600ae battery pack is the right choice for the twin dimwatt. You are probably pushing the cells to much with 2 6v400's. Try an 8x800ar battery pack. That should make it fly good. Thats what TomH recommends for it.All of modelairtech planes fly great, I have 4 different ones! And want to built the twin dimwatt later this winter if time with no dihedral and put ailerons on it for areobatics. What props are you using with it? Any pics of it?
ryan
Ryan Nau is offline Find More Posts by Ryan Nau
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2001, 05:18 PM
Registered User
Mountain View, CA
Joined Sep 2000
112 Posts
Totalboss,

Are you running the two sp 400 motors in parallel off of your battery pack? If you are running them in series each motor will "see" only four cells, and will run too slowly for good flight.

I flew my Twin Dimwatt on seven 1mAh cells (what are now sold as 1250s) and it was more than enough power.

Dick Oglesbee
D Oglesbee is offline Find More Posts by D Oglesbee
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2001, 05:22 PM
Registered User
Mountain View, CA
Joined Sep 2000
112 Posts
Oops, read 1Ah cells, not 1 mAh.
D Oglesbee is offline Find More Posts by D Oglesbee
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2001, 09:29 PM
Registered User
Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Joined May 2000
256 Posts
Ryan here are some pics located at

http://photos.yahoo.com/bc/plymouthc...view=t&.last=1

The plans recommended 6 x 3.5 for folders. I couldn't find any that size so I used 6 x 3 Graupner folders.

Dick I have it wired in series per the plan instructions.
totalboss is offline Find More Posts by totalboss
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2001, 08:35 AM
LJH
Moths do not fly inverted
LJH's Avatar
Greenwich CT.
Joined Sep 2000
4,191 Posts
Total,
In series your battery is seeing 20+ amps. The 600AE's are good for no more then 12 or so. Try a diffrent pack, 800AR's, 1300CP's ect. Good luck. I have been looking at some of the Dimwatts and they are pretty cool.

Cheers,
Jim
LJH is offline Find More Posts by LJH
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8 cells not enough for E-Starter with 400 motor? ch2s Parkflyers 12 Jun 26, 2005 06:53 PM
Alert Problem: Not enough power on Eco-8 noam_h Electric Heli Talk 10 Nov 11, 2004 05:51 PM
Not enough power to stay airborne! rahtware Power Systems 8 Nov 04, 2002 09:18 PM
New Plain don't know if I have enough battery? Please Help. jekyll Parkflyers 2 Mar 09, 2002 01:36 PM
Not enough Power form Battery Snow Bird PA-FL Power Systems 2 Sep 21, 2001 02:14 PM