SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 16, 2012, 05:04 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
922 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
So do I ...Altitude hold for planes? I assume you bought the bmp085...Cool
Yes, exactly a BMP085
The plan is to play with the pressure sensor and the OpenLRS Multicopter receiver on a very little quadro-copter.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 16, 2012, 05:06 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,700 Posts
All I did was to decompress and loaded onto existing hardware. I did not do any configuration but will now. LOL

The I2C bus and a few other pins will need to be extended but this is very workable.


rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Last edited by rimshotcopter; Mar 16, 2012 at 05:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 05:22 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
922 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
All I did was to decompress and loaded onto existing hardware. I did not do any configuration but will now. LOL

The I2C bus and a few other pins will need to be extended but this is very workable.


That arrow looks familiar

Nice to see that the software can be used for the DIY hardware aswell.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2012, 03:14 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,414 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
All I did was to decompress and loaded onto existing hardware. I did not do any configuration but will now. LOL

The I2C bus and a few other pins will need to be extended but this is very workable.
Ha , nice work,...even more code to play with ...I gotta look into it, if its as well documented as Dennis's.
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2012, 01:45 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,700 Posts
Here is another one of my FPV ground video testing the OSD. Still requires lots of work but we are getting better. The current sensor is installed but I have the wrong calculation value plugged in. I also need to work on the video-in VPP, I am not sure how to go about lowering it. Any ideas or suggestions?

Thank you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SQyVLV0bqI
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2012, 05:08 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,700 Posts
Found it.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 06:16 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,414 Posts
I got a few off topic questions,...Is it okay to mix 5 and 3.3V arduinos when doing i2c communications between them? If you feed 5V to gps, can you connect just the tx and rx (which you share between two arduinos) to the 3.3V one?

On a side note, what about using openlrs telemetry protocol for antenna tracking?
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 01:09 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,700 Posts
Here is a very short video of after the adjustments. Now I need to focus on the Antenna.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-GfVxtkWXo
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 04:03 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
922 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
I got a few off topic questions,...Is it okay to mix 5 and 3.3V arduinos when doing i2c communications between them? If you feed 5V to gps, can you connect just the tx and rx (which you share between two arduinos) to the 3.3V one?

On a side note, what about using openlrs telemetry protocol for antenna tracking?
I'm not sure, but I don't think it's a problem with I2C with 3.3 and 5 volt. The threshold value is probably somewhere between 1-3 volt. Should be easy to find some info with a quick google-search

Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
Here is a very short video of after the adjustments. Now I need to focus on the Antenna.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-GfVxtkWXo
Now that looks a lot better. Can I ask what you have changed from default?
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 08:09 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,700 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post

Now that looks a lot better. Can I ask what you have changed from default?
Changed within the code or with the hardware? In the code, I just changed the values for the top line. I will post the modification as soon as I clean up the code, lots of hacks. As for the hardware, the most dramatic change was making the adjustment for the VPP as you suggested.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 09:31 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,414 Posts
If rssi signal voltage is between 0-5V, I don't need any voltage dividers infront of the analog input right? I just feed the +rssi into that input.
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 09:32 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,700 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
If rssi signal voltage is between 0-5V, I don't need any voltage dividers infront of the analog input right? I just feed the +rssi into that input.
0-5 volts is perfect. Which RX has this feature?
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 09:34 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
922 Posts
Voltage-divider should only be necessary to read the battery-voltage. Never heart of any receiver with more than a a couple of volts max RSSI out.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 09:45 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,414 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
0-5 volts is perfect. Which RX has this feature?
No it has 0,91-1,11V ... I just meant its inside that voltage range which arduino accepts (0-5V) ...another off topic thing, I've been thinking about that openlrs diy, what about if I still use the 5V nano's, but put them on headers, so when I would upload a new sketch on to the board I would remove it, hence the 5V wouldn't burn the rfm22b...But when on board it would run on 3,3V.
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 10:50 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,700 Posts
Dennis, may I ask you to post a picture of your FPV Transmitter Antenna and what Frequency used to transmit on?

Thank you.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Diy osd karl k FPV Talk 2 May 03, 2011 12:31 AM
Idea New DIY OSD? atari7202 FPV Talk 1 Mar 25, 2011 12:08 AM
Discussion see my own diy OSD video Passion Aerial Photography 7 May 27, 2010 01:28 AM
Discussion REAL homebrew DIY OSD - Check it out! jafoca FPV Talk 8 Jun 29, 2009 06:52 PM
Discussion picoOSD DIY PIC12F683 based OSD in C kbosak FPV Talk 6 Jan 31, 2008 07:47 AM