HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 02, 2012, 06:01 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,419 Posts
When talking about ubec's how critical is it if the ubec does not provide exactly 5V to the gps and arduino, for example this one http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...V_5A_UBEC.html (as told in the reviews) provides 5,5V, is that 0,5V going to ruin the gps?
This one is also a bit too high: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...23v_Input.html

I'm looking at the ones that are currently in stock now...If someone from EU has one that is more accurate spare I would buy one (can paypal the needed amount).
msev is online now Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 02, 2012, 06:06 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
When talking about ubec's how critical is it if the ubec does not provide exactly 5V to the gps and arduino, for example this one http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...V_5A_UBEC.html (as told in the reviews) provides 5,5V, is that 0,5V going to ruin the gps?
This one is also a bit too high: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...23v_Input.html

I'm looking at the ones that are currently in stock now...If someone from EU has one that is more accurate spare I would buy one (can paypal the needed amount).
This is why I oped for the voltage regulator on board verse using a UBEC. Would have like to have used a switching regulator but I used what I had on-hand.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 06:07 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,419 Posts
Which one did you buy? I think Dennis is using a ubec without problems, but I just wanna know if I should wait for that 3A ubec the most popular one, if that one is more accurate?
msev is online now Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 06:12 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
I am using a LM7805 regulator that I built. I have not flown or had any problems with anything at this point, just over designing.

When powering the Arduino ProMini with 6 or higher volts to the RAW Pin, the 5 volts out is regulated. So if the circuity is powered from the 5 volt pin of the ProMini, there should not be a problem.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 06:22 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,419 Posts
So can you feed the power to the gps maybe from the arduino? ubec->arduino->gps?
msev is online now Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 06:28 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
So can you feed the power to the gps maybe from the arduino? ubec->arduino->gps?
That would depend upon the current requirement of the GPS unit. The Specs for the ProMini doesn't really state how much current it can supply for powering external devices but I would ASSUME 200ma would be OK. Don't hold me to this please.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 06:32 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
P.S. BUT you have to make sure the voltage to the RAW pin remains above 6 volts, they suggest 7 in the specs. I have set the UBEC to six volts and never had a problem that way.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 06:35 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,419 Posts
there isn`t a 7V ubec...thanks for the answers anyway, gotta wait on how Dennis has the power made before proceeding...i have every other part except power for it
msev is online now Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 06:41 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
You can also connect the RAW Pin directly to the battery.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 06:56 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,419 Posts
I need 3S on the plane for the vtx...thats gonna probably be too high...about your voltage regulator is that just mounting that "chip" on a pcb or did you have to add some additional components.
msev is online now Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 07:30 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
I need 3S on the plane for the vtx...thats gonna probably be too high...about your voltage regulator is that just mounting that "chip" on a pcb or did you have to add some additional components.
I posted pictures here: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=1282

The specs for the ProMini states 5-12 volts and you maybe right, I have seen some 3S Lipos run close to 13 volts fully charged.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 08:16 PM
Registered User
United States, ID, Fruitland
Joined Apr 2008
32 Posts
The Arduino Pro Mini from Sparkfun.com uses a Micrel MIC5205 voltage regulator.

The schematic for the Pro Mini is here: http://dlnmh9ip6v2uc.cloudfront.net/...o-Mini-v12.pdf

and the datasheet for the MIC5205 is here: http://www.micrel.com/_PDF/mic5205.pdf

The MIC5205 can source up to 150mA and has a normal operating input of +2.5 to +16v.

I think Arduino states max of 12v just to be on the safe side but the absolute maximum input for the MIC5205 is +20v. Other Arduino boards may use a different voltage regulator as well so that may explain the difference.
vasago17 is offline Find More Posts by vasago17
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 08:20 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
Thanks for sharing that information, very good indeed.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 08:26 PM
Registered User
United States, ID, Fruitland
Joined Apr 2008
32 Posts
No problem

Here's a link to the Sparkfun.com Pro Mini page: http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9218

and I was looking at the link to the Arduino page you referenced above. It does look like there are some differences between Sparkfun's and the official Arduino.

Sparkfun's uses a 328 chip and Arduino's uses a 168 Atmel. As far as I know, this only affects the amount of program memory and what not.

Also, Arduino's schematic, here: http://arduino.cc/en/uploads/Main/Ar...-schematic.pdf

doesn't list the actual part number for the voltage regulator...so if you're using Sparkfun's, you can rest assured that it's 150mA and up to +16v but if you bought your Pro Mini elsewhere, you might want to read the part number on the board you have and try to find the datasheet.
vasago17 is offline Find More Posts by vasago17
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 08:27 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,706 Posts
Agreed.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Diy osd karl k FPV Talk 2 May 03, 2011 01:31 AM
Idea New DIY OSD? atari7202 FPV Talk 1 Mar 25, 2011 01:08 AM
Discussion see my own diy OSD video Passion Aerial Photography 7 May 27, 2010 02:28 AM
Discussion REAL homebrew DIY OSD - Check it out! jafoca FPV Talk 8 Jun 29, 2009 07:52 PM
Discussion picoOSD DIY PIC12F683 based OSD in C kbosak FPV Talk 6 Jan 31, 2008 08:47 AM