HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 02, 2011, 08:34 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
I doubled check this morning and think I understand what you are seeing. I would suggest replacing R1 and R2 with a 500ohm to 1K Potentiometer. I am using a 1K because that is the smallest value I had on hand. This way, you can dial in the exact value required that is required for your viewing. Maybe Dennis can verify this but I am thinking using two pots will enable the background shallow and brightness to be adjusted seperately.
Hi,

thank you for your help!

My problem was the R1, the resistor I bought wasnt a 680kohm. The guy in the store gave me a wrong one...
For R2 I am using now a 500ohm resistor, I got the best results with it.

The osd runs now fine but the R3 change nothing if I play with the potentiometer...


greez Chrisser
Chrisser is offline Find More Posts by Chrisser
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 02, 2011, 08:43 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,520 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisser View Post
Hi,

thank you for your help!

My problem was the R1, the resistor I bought wasnt a 680kohm. The guy in the store gave me a wrong one...
For R2 I am using now a 500ohm resistor, I got the best results with it.

The osd runs now fine but the R3 change nothing if I play with the potentiometer...


greez Chrisser
there is an additional change required in Dennis' code to get Dimmer working using the LM1881 and Adrunio.

Code:
#if (dim_on == 1)
// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want. 
 //define SimpleOSD OPEN's dim pin C5
 #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000001;
 #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111110;
  
  //#define DimOn  DDRC |= 0b00100000;
  //#define DimOff DDRC &= 0b11011111;
#else
  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000000;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111111;
#endif
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Last edited by rimshotcopter; Nov 02, 2011 at 08:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2011, 07:01 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,520 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
In the beginning of setup you have this;


Have you tried to use another pin? For example pin 5, 4, 3 etc?
LOL, I have the button now working on Pin Seven. When all else fails, read the manual, sure worked this time. I had the button wired wrong.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2011, 07:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
64 Posts
What would be a good voltage divider for a 4s lipo? 4:1 or maybe 5:1?
also, the code says: "// Calculated by (1024)/(50*divider) "
would divider be 4 if using a 4:1 voltage divider?

I'm building a board with everything on it (voltage divider, video circuit, etc) but not the GPS rx. I'll post the files soon if anyone else wants to build it.

Also, at this point, would you recommend using the previous video circuit or the LM1881?

Thanks!
FPVdude is offline Find More Posts by FPVdude
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2011, 07:40 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
LOL, I have the button now working on Pin Seven. When all else fails, read the manual, sure worked this time. I had the button wired wrong.
Glad you solved the problem

And at least you are honest
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2011, 08:12 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FPVdude View Post
What would be a good voltage divider for a 4s lipo? 4:1 or maybe 5:1?
also, the code says: "// Calculated by (1024)/(50*divider) "
would divider be 4 if using a 4:1 voltage divider?

I'm building a board with everything on it (voltage divider, video circuit, etc) but not the GPS rx. I'll post the files soon if anyone else wants to build it.

Also, at this point, would you recommend using the previous video circuit or the LM1881?

Thanks!
1:4 voltage-divider should be fine and give you the best resolution. But I wouldn't go much lower than 1:4 with 4S. 1:5 will also give you plenty resolution.

The sync-detection made for this project is very simple. You can get a good result with very few components, but the LM1881 should be superior. After all it's a pretty sofisticated curcuit (compared to the one used here), with a few neat tricks to get a good sync detection.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2011, 08:23 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FPVdude View Post
also, the code says: "// Calculated by (1024)/(50*divider) "
would divider be 4 if using a 4:1 voltage divider?
Thanks!
Yes, you should write 4 if you use a 1:4 voltage divider.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2011, 05:36 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,520 Posts
Thank you Dennis

Dennis, I just wanted to say Thank you for all your support and this great ODS. Here is a few of pictures of my FPV Starter Kit, it will only get better from here.

I do not plan at present to fly higher then 200 feet and REMAIN very close to where I will be based from. So the Rubber Duck antenna should do well for this distant. I mostly will hover taking in as much of the view from a bird's perspective.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2011, 05:44 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
Dennis, I just wanted to say Thank you for all your support and this great ODS. Here is a few of pictures of my FPV Starter Kit, it will only get better from here.

I do not plan at present to fly higher then 200 feet and REMAIN very close to where I will be based from. So the Rubber Duck antenna should do well for this distant. I mostly will hover taking in as much of the view from a bird's perspective.
That's a very nice and clean setup

The rubber-duck antenna should definitely be fine if you stay under 200 feet and within a descent range. I have been above 6000 feet high with 8 dBi patch
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2011, 01:46 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
14 Posts
Hi,

the current sensor and the voltage runs very good now. I think, I should now order the GPS-module

I am very happy with the Lm1881 solution the letters are very sharp, clear and doesnt fidget.
The only problem is the dimming behind the letters, it is a little bit blurred/stretched.

How can I fix this problem?

Thank you Dennis for the OSD, an antenna tracker would be awesome!


greez chrisser
Chrisser is offline Find More Posts by Chrisser
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2011, 01:50 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,520 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisser View Post
Hi,

the current sensor and the voltage runs very good now. I think, I should now order the GPS-module

I am very happy with the Lm1881 solution the letters are very sharp, clear and doesnt fidget.
The only problem is the dimming behind the letters, it is a little bit blurred/stretched.

How can I fix this problem?

Thank you Dennis for the OSD, an antenna tracker would be awesome!


greez chrisser
1. Did you make this modification to the code?

2. You can play with the values of R1 and R2, I used a trim Pot, make it easy to find the right values.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2011, 02:20 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
1. Did you make this modification to the code?

2. You can play with the values of R1 and R2, I used a trim Pot, make it easy to find the right values.
Thanks for help!

1. I added this to my code and i get a reaction on R3 now:
Quote:
// SimpleOSD XL 16 mhz
#else

// Input from current-sensor and voltage-divider
#define voltage_divider_input 5
#define current_sensor_input 6

#if (dim_on == 1)
// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want.
//define SimpleOSD OPEN's dim pin C5
#define DimOn DDRB |= 0b00000001;
#define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111110;

//#define DimOn DDRC |= 0b00100000;
//#define DimOff DDRC &= 0b11011111;
#else
#define DimOn DDRB |= 0b00000000;
#define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111111;
#endif



#define little_delay _delay_loop_1(13);

#endif
2. I use trim potis for R1, R2 and R3 but it doesnt get better results if i twist them... the "shadow" on the right from the letters is still there all the time.
Chrisser is offline Find More Posts by Chrisser
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2011, 02:27 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,520 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisser View Post
Thanks for help!

1. I added this to my code and i get a reaction on R3 now:


2. I use trim potis for R1, R2 and R3 but it doesnt get better results if i twist them... the "shadow" on the right from the letters is still there all the time.
Being that you are using an LM1881, R3 has no function. From my experimentation, the ratio between R1 and R2 is what gives me the shallow and character brightness.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2011, 03:22 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
Being that you are using an LM1881, R3 has no function. From my experimentation, the ratio between R1 and R2 is what gives me the shallow and character brightness.
Yeah I think I use a LM1881

I got it, the diode was the failure. I changed the 1N4001 with a 1N4148 and no more shadow.
Chrisser is offline Find More Posts by Chrisser
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2011, 12:06 AM
Registered User
Yhdysvallat, CA, Irvine
Joined Nov 2007
230 Posts
Got my done Attached couple pictures...

The current sensor seems to be quite heavy and something wrong with it. With nothing attached it push out 3V should be 1V.

I hope that I get my rc link so I can bring it for a run... Where and how can i connect RssI to the osd ?
p3jpaavi is offline Find More Posts by p3jpaavi
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Diy osd karl k FPV Talk 2 May 03, 2011 12:31 AM
Idea New DIY OSD? atari7202 FPV Talk 1 Mar 25, 2011 12:08 AM
Discussion see my own diy OSD video Passion Aerial Photography 7 May 27, 2010 01:28 AM
Discussion REAL homebrew DIY OSD - Check it out! jafoca FPV Talk 8 Jun 29, 2009 06:52 PM
Discussion picoOSD DIY PIC12F683 based OSD in C kbosak FPV Talk 6 Jan 31, 2008 07:47 AM