SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 26, 2011, 09:10 PM
Team White Llama
Enthlapy's Avatar
United States, IL, Addison
Joined Dec 2010
500 Posts
Enthlapy is offline Find More Posts by Enthlapy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 26, 2011, 09:12 PM
Team White Llama
Enthlapy's Avatar
United States, IL, Addison
Joined Dec 2010
500 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
Sorry to hear about the current sensor, but hopefully the new one will be plug-n-play

Remember voltage-divider if you want to read battery-voltage.
Yea hope so too. Im actually reading on how to calculate it. Also talked to MrFliBoy on his setup.
Enthlapy is offline Find More Posts by Enthlapy
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 09:17 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,087 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enthlapy View Post
Yea hope so too. Im actually reading on how to calculate it. Also talked to MrFliBoy on his setup.
Thanks for the schematic

A voltage-divider can simply be calculated by:

R2 / (R2+R1)

If you use 3S lipo something like 1:3 should do it. I would go with 1:4
R1 = 6K
R2 = 2K

That will give you 0.25 times the actual voltage.

(picture from wikipedia)
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 09:22 PM
Team White Llama
Enthlapy's Avatar
United States, IL, Addison
Joined Dec 2010
500 Posts
I think this is a stupid question, but in the code:

Quote:
// Arduino
#if (controller == 0)

// Input from current-sensor and voltage-divider
#define voltage_divider_input 1
#define current_sensor_input 3
1 = A1
2 = A2
3 = A3
4 = A4
5 = A5

Example " #define voltage_divider_input 1" with voltage divider connected to A1 on the Pro Mini?
Enthlapy is offline Find More Posts by Enthlapy
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 09:25 PM
Team White Llama
Enthlapy's Avatar
United States, IL, Addison
Joined Dec 2010
500 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
Thanks for the schematic

A voltage-divider can simply be calculated by:

R2 / (R2+R1)

If you use 3S lipo something like 1:3 should do it. I would go with 1:4
R1 = 6K
R2 = 2K

That will give you 0.25 times the actual voltage.

(picture from wikipedia)
LOL thats where i was looking too! There is also a good video on YouTube:
Voltage divider tutorial (3 min 53 sec)



Looks like i got alot to read during winter. I'm also gonna get the SparkFun's beginer Arduino kit.
Enthlapy is offline Find More Posts by Enthlapy
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 09:27 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,087 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enthlapy View Post
I think this is a stupid question, but in the code:



1 = A1
2 = A2
3 = A3
4 = A4
5 = A5

Example " #define voltage_divider_input 1" with voltage divider connected to A1 on the Pro Mini?
Exactly, you just write the pin-number you wanna use
And yes;
0 = A0
1 = A1
... and so on
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 09:28 PM
Team White Llama
Enthlapy's Avatar
United States, IL, Addison
Joined Dec 2010
500 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
Exactly, you just write the pin-number you wanna use
And yes;
0 = A0
1 = A1
... and so on
Fantastic! Thank you!
Enthlapy is offline Find More Posts by Enthlapy
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 11:09 PM
Registered User
Yhdysvallat, CA, Irvine
Joined Nov 2007
230 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
I might be wrong, but you seem to be using the wrong pins. It uses the analog comparator, so you should use pin 6 and 7 for video and reference voltage as shown in the schematic:


As far as I can see you have connected the video-signal to the normal ADC input (named pin A0, A1, A2 etc).

Also, please see first 10 lines in the code for pin's:
// Notes on DIY hardware pins:;
// pin 6 = PD6 / AIN0 (Reference voltage)
// Pin 7 = PD7 / AIN1 (Video)
// Pin 11 = MOSI (SPI) used for pixel-generation.
// Pin 8 = Dimming (Optional)
// Pin 9 = Fast PWM (Optional)

Can I ask why you have used A0 and A1? If it's an error in a schematic I would like to fix it
Thank

It works now !!!

Next thing is to connect the GPS
p3jpaavi is offline Find More Posts by p3jpaavi
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 01:10 AM
Team White Llama
Enthlapy's Avatar
United States, IL, Addison
Joined Dec 2010
500 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by p3jpaavi View Post
Thank

It works now !!!

Next thing is to connect the GPS
PIC's or it didnt happen! Nah j/k. Glad to hear you got it. What GPS you gonna use?
Enthlapy is offline Find More Posts by Enthlapy
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 01:13 AM
Registered User
Yhdysvallat, CA, Irvine
Joined Nov 2007
230 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enthlapy View Post
PIC's or it didnt happen! Nah j/k. Glad to hear you got it. What GPS you gonna use?
I will put some pics tomorrow. I use this gps http://www.flytron.com/osd-headtrack...ps-module.html. Somehow I cant get to work with the OSD. The gps is working fine 9600 with anothet script. Any ideas what might be wrong ?

You connect the gps to RXI and TXO pins ?
p3jpaavi is offline Find More Posts by p3jpaavi
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 06:04 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,087 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by p3jpaavi View Post
I will put some pics tomorrow. I use this gps http://www.flytron.com/osd-headtrack...ps-module.html. Somehow I cant get to work with the OSD. The gps is working fine 9600 with anothet script. Any ideas what might be wrong ?

You connect the gps to RXI and TXO pins ?
I use the exact same GPS, and the code have more or less been written with that GPS as reference. It should definitely work.
You just connect ground and 5 volt to GPS.
And connect like this:
GPS TX -> Arduino RX
GPS RX -> Arduino TX
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 04:13 PM
Registered User
Yhdysvallat, CA, Irvine
Joined Nov 2007
230 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
I use the exact same GPS, and the code have more or less been written with that GPS as reference. It should definitely work.
You just connect ground and 5 volt to GPS.
And connect like this:
GPS TX -> Arduino RX
GPS RX -> Arduino TX
Does the GPS rx need also be connected ? Or is it anought that the Tx is only connected ?
p3jpaavi is offline Find More Posts by p3jpaavi
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 05:02 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,087 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by p3jpaavi View Post
Does the GPS rx need also be connected ? Or is it anought that the Tx is only connected ?
Only if you need to config the GPS. I use it (included in the code) to automatic set update-rate and NMEA-string settings everytime it start up.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 09:02 PM
Registered User
Yhdysvallat, CA, Irvine
Joined Nov 2007
230 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enthlapy View Post
PIC's or it didnt happen! Nah j/k. Glad to hear you got it. What GPS you gonna use?
Wohoo everything is working now !

Next step is to solder a board and mount it to the plane
p3jpaavi is offline Find More Posts by p3jpaavi
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 09:07 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,087 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by p3jpaavi View Post
Wohoo everything is working now !

Next step is to solder a board and mount it to the plane
That's great
You might want to add the dimming-resistor as well. The dimming makes it a lot easier to read the text on a bright sky etc. You can always turn it off in the software if you don't like it.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Diy osd karl k FPV Talk 2 May 03, 2011 01:31 AM
Idea New DIY OSD? atari7202 FPV Talk 1 Mar 25, 2011 01:08 AM
Discussion see my own diy OSD video Passion Aerial Photography 7 May 27, 2010 02:28 AM
Discussion REAL homebrew DIY OSD - Check it out! jafoca FPV Talk 8 Jun 29, 2009 07:52 PM
Discussion picoOSD DIY PIC12F683 based OSD in C kbosak FPV Talk 6 Jan 31, 2008 08:47 AM