HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 02, 2012, 11:06 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
794 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
There is 100ohm resistor inline, the value can be adjusted of course.
Hmm, you might be able to use the 75 ohm audio input impedance and just a series resistor? Not quite sure about this, I would just make a quick test-setup and see what gives the best result.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 02, 2012, 11:47 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
Hmm, you might be able to use the 75 ohm audio input impedance and just a series resistor? Not quite sure about this, I would just make a quick test-setup and see what gives the best result.
What I am thinking of trying is a trim-pot and of course do lots of ground testing. I am also looking into a DTMF chip, I ordered a few.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 06:21 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,408 Posts
Hope you two guys develop a diy-able solution with widely available parts, like for the osd, so that I can make it myself

Here's another pic of the osd screen.

I have an issue...the dimming and brightness pots (both 200ohm) have NO effect whatsoever...
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Last edited by msev; Apr 03, 2012 at 09:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 10:05 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
794 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Hope you two guys develop a diy-able solution with widely available parts, like for the osd, so that I can make it myself

Here's another pic of the osd screen.

I have an issue...the dimming and brightness pots (both 200ohm) have NO effect whatsoever...
How have you connected the pot? It have 3 pins, and should be connected like this:

- Input
- Output
- not connected

If you connect it like this it will always be 200 ohm
- Input
- not connected
- Output
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Last edited by Dennis Frie; Apr 03, 2012 at 10:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 10:09 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,408 Posts
I have connected the central and outside pin...and the third pin is not connected to anything.
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 10:15 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
I have connected the central and outside pin...and the third pin is not connected to anything.
I believe I saw that you are using 1.7, you need to add or change the following for the Arduino for the Dimmer Pin that you are using.

Code:
#if (dim_on == 1)
// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want. 

  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b000000010;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b111111101;
#else
  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000000;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111111;
#endif
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 10:48 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,692 Posts
Dennis, I have a question for you.

I was out testing my FPV setup and noticed I am getting these lines in the video that I am not sure of the source. Do you think it is because I am powering everything from the same power source? I have a LC Filter, maybe it is not working correctly?



P.S. The Current readings is still wrong.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 12:59 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,408 Posts
Try it with a separate battery and you'll know the answer :P
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 01:02 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,408 Posts
Do I need to replace this under "// SimpleOSD XL 16 mhz" or above where there is "// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want."

Does it matter if I change this in both areas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
I believe I saw that you are using 1.7, you need to add or change the following for the Arduino for the Dimmer Pin that you are using.

Code:
#if (dim_on == 1)
// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want. 

  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b000000010;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b111111101;
#else
  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000000;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111111;
#endif
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Last edited by msev; Apr 03, 2012 at 01:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 01:09 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Do I need to replace this under "// SimpleOSD XL 16 mhz" or above where there is "// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want."
Yea, replace the SimpleOSD code with the mentioned. the SimpleOSD uses a different Dimming Pin then the Arduino.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 02:59 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,408 Posts
Is it okay if I change at both spots under arduino and under Simpleosd?
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 03:05 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Is it okay if I change at both spots under arduino and under Simpleosd?
Try it and see, you will have your answer.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 03:17 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,408 Posts
Hehe gave me my own medicine
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 04:27 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,408 Posts
Still nothin'...If you're wondering i have dimming defined (1).

maybe i have to try this:
Code:
#if (dim_on == 1)
// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want. 
 //define SimpleOSD OPEN's dim pin C5
 #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000001;
 #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111110;
#else
  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000000;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111111;
#endif
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 04:32 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Still nothin'...If you're wondering i have dimming defined (1).

maybe i have to try this:
Code:
#if (dim_on == 1)
// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want. 
 //define SimpleOSD OPEN's dim pin C5
 #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000001;
 #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111110;
  
  //#define DimOn  DDRC |= 0b00100000;
  //#define DimOff DDRC &= 0b11011111;
#else
  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000000;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111111;
#endif
You are not using the code that I posted,

#define DimOn DDRB |= 0b00000010;
#define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111101;
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Diy osd karl k FPV Talk 2 May 03, 2011 12:31 AM
Idea New DIY OSD? atari7202 FPV Talk 1 Mar 25, 2011 12:08 AM
Discussion see my own diy OSD video Passion Aerial Photography 7 May 27, 2010 01:28 AM
Discussion REAL homebrew DIY OSD - Check it out! jafoca FPV Talk 8 Jun 29, 2009 06:52 PM
Discussion picoOSD DIY PIC12F683 based OSD in C kbosak FPV Talk 6 Jan 31, 2008 07:47 AM