HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 15, 2012, 06:58 AM
Gravity always laughs last
cadzilla's Avatar
USA, PA, Milford
Joined Feb 2008
259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by goryc View Post
I bought the model 2m. I noticed that the aileron and flap cuts are deep and seem very weak, how you solved it? thanks
Who sells them with the 2m wing? I've only found the 1600mm version
cadzilla is offline Find More Posts by cadzilla
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 27, 2012, 07:38 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
6 Posts
Battery Setup for 1600mm

I have my 1600mm setup and ready to fly. What I need to know is some of the batttery setups to use. Will the 1600mm handle 2 -2200 3s ? Any Pics of battery placement would be great.

Thanks

btw - I got to this point because of these forums---- Thanks...
sepalmer is offline Find More Posts by sepalmer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 08:37 AM
Yeah Baby
bignose13's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,394 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sepalmer View Post
I have my 1600mm setup and ready to fly. What I need to know is some of the batttery setups to use. Will the 1600mm handle 2 -2200 3s ? Any Pics of battery placement would be great.

Thanks

btw - I got to this point because of these forums---- Thanks...
Yep you will fit 2x2200 in the fuz no problem
bignose13 is offline Find More Posts by bignose13
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 08:42 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
13 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sepalmer View Post
I have my 1600mm setup and ready to fly. What I need to know is some of the batttery setups to use. Will the 1600mm handle 2 -2200 3s ? Any Pics of battery placement would be great.

Thanks

btw - I got to this point because of these forums---- Thanks...
I use two Turnigy 3S 2200mah 20C in parallel, with a 3542 1450kv motor. The plane flyes very nice, but for me its impossible to hand launch it, and I need to take off in a plain terrain. I take off without wheels with no problems at all, and in very few meters.

I place the batteries almost in the front, at about 5 cm away from the front extreme.
julupanter is offline Find More Posts by julupanter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 10:02 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
6 Posts
Thanks

As I said this is a great group of people...

Thanks for the info.
sepalmer is offline Find More Posts by sepalmer
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2012, 02:33 PM
FPVnoob
Joined Jan 2012
6 Posts
Mine will be delivered tomorrow. Here is the JIT :
BSKT1357 JIT SCAN OUT @Feb 16 2012 11:01AM
BSKT1357 JIT SCAN OUT @Feb 16 2012 11:22AM
JIT Picked in BackWarehouse @Feb 17 2012 3:13PM
JIT In Transit to FrontWarehouse @Feb 17 2012 3:13PM
BOX1357 JIT OFF TRUCK @Feb 18 2012 3:16PM
BSKT1357 JIT ARRIVED IN WAHLOK @Feb 20 2012 10:10AM
If that is any indication, shipped to Alaska.
runnynoze is offline Find More Posts by runnynoze
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 06:02 PM
Suspended Account
United Kingdom, Swansea
Joined Mar 2011
2,225 Posts
My maiden line of sight flight, just wanted tom get it trimmed in and didn't have much time

FPV Raptor Maiden Flight (1 min 52 sec)
TeeJayBee is offline Find More Posts by TeeJayBee
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Mar 12, 2012, 05:56 AM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
413 Posts
Pay attention to stock ESC. It has been burned out at fitrst attempt.

I hope servos will wotk fine.
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 06:54 AM
Registered User
Florence, Italy
Joined May 2009
6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadzilla View Post
Who sells them with the 2m wing? I've only found the 1600mm version
...ultraQUOTE
mekfly is offline Find More Posts by mekfly
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 02:04 PM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
413 Posts
Hey,
Do we have anyone who put flaps to 1600mm version?
Recommends?
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2012, 03:45 PM
Registered User
cody069's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
3,329 Posts
I have flaps on the 1600mm wing..Makes it easy to gain height a bit quicker with about 1/2 flap
cody069 is online now Find More Posts by cody069
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2012, 04:10 PM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Turkey, Istanbul
Joined Dec 2010
413 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cody069 View Post
I have flaps on the 1600mm wing..Makes it easy to gain height a bit quicker with about 1/2 flap
Thanks, to be honest , I want it for short and slow landings.
Firatp is offline Find More Posts by Firatp
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2012, 05:05 PM
Registered User
cody069's Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
3,329 Posts
It lands about 30 kph with little wind
cody069 is online now Find More Posts by cody069
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 12:30 AM
KJ6BFN
henkvdw's Avatar
United States, CA, Fountain Valley
Joined Aug 2008
732 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aussiecree View Post
Hi Guys,
I have recently flown my 1600mm version and attached a shock proof camera to the unit and the ESC got too hot and stopped the motor from turning. Obviously i need to replace the stock ESC but.........to what???
As i am a noobie to all this powered stuff..(have flown Gliders for years but never with motors) i need to know what to change the ESC and possibly motor, if required, to have untroubled flying without ANY concern for it just shutting down.
Can you PLEASE help me with what i need to replace and where i can get it....ie; Hobbyking or similar with exact description and part #.
So in summary i need new ESC and possibly motor to suit FPV raptor 1600mm that a noobie like me will understand and, with relation to the motor, no modification to the fuselage.
I look forward to hearing your recommendations and any advice to have trouble free flying in the future. Price is not the concern....... within reason!!!!.
Cheers.
I've had very reliable results with this ESC and it should probably be sufficient for the FPV Raptor:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ontroller.html

Using it in the motor pod though, and it seems not well ventilated, I may opt for this ESC if it would fit:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ontroller.html

Assume you are running a 3S LiPo Flight Pack.

My motor choices would be 2836 size or 3530 to 3536 size. These are all values based on seat of the pants and not verified. So one will have to test and make sure that the motor/ESC does not over heat.
The 28mm diameter motor will probably fit inside the pod whereas it seems the 35mm diameter motors do not and will have to be mounted SkyWalker style behind the pod as demonstrated in this thread.
The 2836 or 3530 motor should probably have a kV of around 1200 to 1300 RPM/V and swing a 8x4.
A 3536 could have a higher kV of around 1500 to 1600 RPM/V and swing a 8x6.
Since this is not a fast plane I would prefer not using a 8x8.
henkvdw is offline Find More Posts by henkvdw
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Futaba 9CHPS
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2012, 03:28 AM
To the Skies!!!!
Centzabul's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Aug 2011
16 Posts
hey guys,

just purchased one of these and after reading quickly through this thread I see a few people are putting 2 x 2200mah 3 cell batteries in it. Could anyone advise what amps they're pulling at cruise speed and also what flight times can I expect if I somehow manage to load this plane with say 5000-6000mah? Just planing to use the stock setup at the moment.

Cheers
Centzabul is offline Find More Posts by Centzabul
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion FPV Car and Other Fun FPV Projects Thread: Crash9 FPV Talk 7302 Today 04:29 AM
Discussion Skywalker or Lanyu FPV Raptor? alishanmao FPV Talk 141 Dec 27, 2013 08:49 PM
Discussion New home of Trappy's "Ultimate Zephyr FPV Build" Thread timnilson Other Websites 19 Mar 21, 2011 03:58 PM
Discussion FPV WARS (Thread for FPV "B" Movies) ch1 FPV Talk 8 Sep 16, 2009 05:37 PM
Raptor - how to install thread malcolmm 3D Flying 1 Jan 15, 2005 05:29 PM