SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 24, 2011, 11:09 AM
openrc*****s *****
rob.thomson's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Guildford
Joined Sep 2010
1,258 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Hi Martin

Nice effort ,
This is nice if you just want the basics , the things i like

1 Portable program rssi/ batt alarms

2 Small

3 Dont have to purchase any extras / plug n play

And at $22/23 usd well priced

Would like buttons instead of MP3 style three way controll

Can you comment on accuracy.
Agreed. This system once polished with a decent case will keep allot of people happy.

I suspect that I personally will be hedging my bets on the er9x + frsky mod being the way to go.

The pace of dev is really good at-the moment, so would not be surprised if all these features are supported within the next few months!

Rob
rob.thomson is online now Find More Posts by rob.thomson
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 24, 2011, 05:11 PM
7000 Ft up in NM mountains !
uphiearl's Avatar
Mountainair, NM
Joined May 2009
672 Posts
How do you delete a post ?
Earl
uphiearl is offline Find More Posts by uphiearl
Last edited by uphiearl; Jul 24, 2011 at 05:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 05:17 PM
7000 Ft up in NM mountains !
uphiearl's Avatar
Mountainair, NM
Joined May 2009
672 Posts
ardupilot

I use an Ardupilot and display it on the TX LCD on 10 screens
No external things hanging out !
All internal in the 9x.
Plus I have an autopilot with GPS, waypoints, stabilization, auto mode, takeoff/landing, and more to come.
I may modify the firmware to be able to change the waypoints while in the air.

Pic 1 is latitude/longitude ......great for lost plane
Pic 2 pitch and roll of plane ... if you lose sight of plane
Pic 3 stuff that goes in plane
Pic 4 xBee 2way telemetry unit in er9x.

Looks really cool with 2 antennas too !

Put FPV video on plane and you have a UAV that costs less than a USED Reaper (if you could get one)
Cost ??? about $300.00 Is YOUR plane worth it ?
uphiearl is offline Find More Posts by uphiearl
Last edited by uphiearl; Jul 24, 2011 at 06:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 09:25 PM
the lift is always in the sun!
SUNSQUINT's Avatar
USA, AZ, Tucson
Joined Feb 2008
402 Posts
PLMS, please delete

only the owner of the thread ( in this case "PLMS") may delete a post...
you may just ask him to delete it (and this one as well)
SUNSQUINT is offline Find More Posts by SUNSQUINT
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 04:57 AM
Martin - AKA mr.sneezy
PLMS's Avatar
Adelaide, Australia
Joined May 2004
1,687 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUNSQUINT View Post
only the owner of the thread ( in this case "PLMS") may delete a post...
you may just ask him to delete it (and this one as well)
Hi. I can only close the thread, I can't see a way to delete a post. Probably a good thing anyway
PLMS is offline Find More Posts by PLMS
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 05:35 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
15,199 Posts
OP can moderate only if thread is sticky.
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 09:32 AM
Martin - AKA mr.sneezy
PLMS's Avatar
Adelaide, Australia
Joined May 2004
1,687 Posts
FDD and stuff

I've done some checking out of the LCD FDD display tonight. It seems to be fairly accurate when the right divider ratio is selected and used with the FrSky voltage divider sensor.
I also note that the new D8R-II receiver has two independent AD inputs again (old news ?). A1 (Ain1 on the FDD) is not tied to the 5V RX supply. Both A1 and A2 seem to read the right (same) voltage when checked with a partly used 3S pack. As normal, any unused AD input needs to be grounded or the LCD FDD will show a floating voltage on it.

I did investigate more on the FDD, but need to ask FrSky a couple of questions before I could say more on it's functions.

One last comment.
I have photos of the insides of the Hub and the sensors if anyone is interested in seeing the build quality of the boards and the components (quite good IMO) ?
Martin
PLMS is offline Find More Posts by PLMS
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 09:38 AM
Registered User
Nobert's Avatar
Tucson Avra Valley, Arizona, United States
Joined Jul 2002
1,475 Posts
Martin
Please post the pics.
Thanks,
Neal
Nobert is offline Find More Posts by Nobert
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 09:49 AM
Registered User
Emoto's Avatar
Australia, NT, Anmatjere
Joined Oct 2010
86 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob.thomson View Post
Agreed. This system once polished with a decent case will keep allot of people happy.

I suspect that I personally will be hedging my bets on the er9x + frsky mod being the way to go.

The pace of dev is really good at-the moment, so would not be surprised if all these features are supported within the next few months!

Rob

Yeessss in the perfect world i would like this data integrated on my Jrx2610 screen,this would look more pro, instead of a extra screen.
[ Dont want our transmitters looking like the car in back to the future,some might though ]
but this is great for now.

Just so ive got the basics right, the" LCD-fdd_lite" ad1 /ad2 voltage and rssi tx/rx values are realtime/live data right.
Emoto is offline Find More Posts by Emoto
Last edited by Emoto; Jul 25, 2011 at 03:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2011, 02:27 AM
Registered User
darook's Avatar
Johannesburg, South Africa
Joined Apr 2006
472 Posts
HI Chase Wu/ Guys

I have the earlier DIY module in a JR2610. To get the telemetry features up and running what will I need? Do I need to install a new telemetry module or what? I can't quite understand what they are saying on the Frsky website.
darook is offline Find More Posts by darook
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2011, 03:33 AM
openrc*****s *****
rob.thomson's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Guildford
Joined Sep 2010
1,258 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by darook View Post
HI Chase Wu/ Guys

I have the earlier DIY module in a JR2610. To get the telemetry features up and running what will I need? Do I need to install a new telemetry module or what? I can't quite understand what they are saying on the Frsky website.
At this point you will be hard pressed to display anything on the jr - or to achieve much more than beeps with the telemetry on your radio.

In time, the tiny LCD looks like it is going to be updated, and this will be the route you will need to take. Essentially, a separate LCD to view the telemetry data. I would personally wait for the system to get a proper case before you worry about buying it. The plastic tape version is a bit rubbish!

I may be wrong, but at this point I believe the best integrated system is the er9x. Reason is simply because the OS is opensource the effort hS been put in to integrate things into the actual display!

Rob
rob.thomson is online now Find More Posts by rob.thomson
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2011, 03:51 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
297 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by darook View Post
HI Chase Wu/ Guys

I have the earlier DIY module in a JR2610. To get the telemetry features up and running what will I need? Do I need to install a new telemetry module or what? I can't quite understand what they are saying on the Frsky website.

Dear darook,
We suggest you to use DHT-U (all-in-one telemetry module with built-in display and programable setting function) with sensor hub and your required sensors.

Thanks and regards!
Chase Wu is offline Find More Posts by Chase Wu
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2011, 05:10 AM
Registered User
darook's Avatar
Johannesburg, South Africa
Joined Apr 2006
472 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chase Wu View Post
Dear darook,
We suggest you to use DHT-U (all-in-one telemetry module with built-in display and programable setting function) with sensor hub and your required sensors.

Thanks and regards!
OK, so I won't have to buy a new tx module. All I need is the DHT-U and the new 2 way rx's ***edit transmitters edit***. Right?

Where can one buy the new DHT-U and other goodies?
darook is offline Find More Posts by darook
Last edited by darook; Jul 26, 2011 at 05:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2011, 05:16 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
15,199 Posts
No, all you need is the DHT-U only, it embed the transmitter thing.
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2011, 07:16 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2005
84 Posts
@renatoa
Can I use the DHT-U with the D4FR receiver without using the hub?
nanoflyer is offline Find More Posts by nanoflyer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion FrSky 2.4ghz - Telemetry protocol discussions PLMS Radios 1418 Sep 04, 2014 08:26 AM
Discussion FrSky 2.4Ghz - Telemetry PDA application Mybrains Radios 18 Jun 23, 2011 10:02 AM
Sold FrSky Telemetry 2.4Ghz for JR Module, 2 RXs & extra nizee Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 May 07, 2011 03:28 PM
Wanted FrSky 2.4Ghz DIY Kit with Telemetry purcilas Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 5 May 04, 2011 05:10 PM