SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 01, 2013, 10:32 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,169 Posts
Oh...and I put my second and third flights on the Byper today, a little trimming the first flight, great flight the second flight!!

SteveT.
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 01, 2013, 10:36 PM
Registered User
teddy5085's Avatar
United States, MN, Mankato
Joined Sep 2012
170 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnav View Post
No reason to set failsafe if it doesn't fail (or at least I can see why you would put it off)... When a signal (or lack thereof) catches the best of your Planes as oppose to your thumbs, you try and get all the help you can...

Of course, a buddy of mine installed this $500 box from Germany that let you fly with two Rxs simultaneously (don't remember what it is called) in his Chipmunk to try and collect some telemetry from the field and its increasing signal issues. As luck would have it, it was a (0.90) motor stall that brought it down and not a signal issue last week...

The best idea is to probably fly with a horse shoe, clover of garlic or something....
sorry for my lack of knowledge but what is this fail safe and what does it do
teddy5085 is offline Find More Posts by teddy5085
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 10:44 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,169 Posts
In case of loss of signal from the transmitter, your receiver will take the servos to a pre set position, hopefully saving the aircraft from doing a flyaway...As noted, 0 throttle, and full up elevator works nicely for 3D planes. I don't know about Futaba radios, but that is one of the first things in a JR or Spektrum manual...

SteveT.
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 10:50 PM
Registered User
teddy5085's Avatar
United States, MN, Mankato
Joined Sep 2012
170 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
In case of loss of signal from the transmitter, your receiver will take the servos to a pre set position, hopefully saving the aircraft from doing a flyaway...As noted, 0 throttle, and full up elevator works nicely for 3D planes. I don't know about Futaba radios, but that is one of the first things in a JR or Spektrum manual...

SteveT.
so?? it will kinda float to the ground then ??
teddy5085 is offline Find More Posts by teddy5085
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 10:52 PM
Registered User
Alex Schauer's Avatar
United States, MN, North Mankato
Joined Feb 2011
4,669 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy5085 View Post
so?? it will kinda float to the ground then ??
Depends on what you set it at
Alex Schauer is offline Find More Posts by Alex Schauer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 11:08 PM
Registered User
teddy5085's Avatar
United States, MN, Mankato
Joined Sep 2012
170 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexjschauer View Post
Depends on what you set it at
is signal loss a big thing with new controller's now days??
teddy5085 is offline Find More Posts by teddy5085
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 11:13 PM
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
USA, UT, St George
Joined Aug 2010
8,069 Posts
No... signal loss is very rare but it is always a big deal if it happens to you.
3DNater is online now Find More Posts by 3DNater
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 07:16 AM
Registered User
Capt. Roll's Avatar
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Dec 2010
525 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnav View Post
Thanks quad. That did the trick. One hole in, max deflection in Tx Now I know the motivation...

btw, how much elevator do you guys like to set on your failsafes? A few percent so that it supposedly glide in, or 45 deg so that it supposedly harrier down?

Oh, the EF CF Tail wheel assembly is back in stock if anyone needed one...
I asked a general "failsale setup" question over on FG.........it's about three pages of reading; there are some good opinions and viewpoints.

http://www.flyinggiants.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=72771
Capt. Roll is offline Find More Posts by Capt. Roll
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 11:18 AM
Registered User
toolman18's Avatar
United States, TX, Portland
Joined Apr 2008
248 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy5085 View Post
is signal loss a big thing with new controller's now days??
Just spectrum just kidding but we have had lots of spectrum failures at our field. Seems to be an area between 2 cell towers. Not sure if that is the cause but most failures are almost exactly in between the towers. Never had a problem with my futaba though
toolman18 is offline Find More Posts by toolman18
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 11:43 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jul 2011
2,243 Posts
btw i remem er a couple days ago a question why one would put vg on the bottom of winfs if bernulli force is active only on top... my guess is its because you fly inverted aswell....
rimaarts is offline Find More Posts by rimaarts
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 12:25 PM
I live my life 12oz at a time
arnav's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Nov 2011
2,699 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolman18 View Post
Just spectrum just kidding but we have had lots of spectrum failures at our field. Seems to be an area between 2 cell towers. Not sure if that is the cause but most failures are almost exactly in between the towers. Never had a problem with my futaba though
The story of our field. That's how i lost my edge two weeks ago. What is it about FL and signal failures? Lately even with Futuba we have been having glitches.
arnav is offline Find More Posts by arnav
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 02, 2013, 12:31 PM
Got the Slickness
gabrielisrael's Avatar
Seattle, WA
Joined Jul 2010
2,521 Posts
I do not want to start radio wars, but the only radio issues I have ever seen at the field (never experienced personally), is Futaba.
gabrielisrael is offline Find More Posts by gabrielisrael
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 02:31 PM
Registered User
teddy5085's Avatar
United States, MN, Mankato
Joined Sep 2012
170 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnav View Post
The story of our field. That's how i lost my edge two weeks ago. What is it about FL and signal failures? Lately even with Futuba we have been having glitches.
lmao opps this was ment for toolman , sorry to hear about ur edge
teddy5085 is offline Find More Posts by teddy5085
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 05:21 PM
Registered User
toolman18's Avatar
United States, TX, Portland
Joined Apr 2008
248 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy5085 View Post
lmao opps this was ment for toolman , sorry to hear about ur edge
Yep
toolman18 is offline Find More Posts by toolman18
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 05:29 PM
Registered User
wedoitall's Avatar
United States, WV, Clay
Joined Sep 2012
3,051 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnav View Post
The story of our field. That's how i lost my edge two weeks ago. What is it about FL and signal failures? Lately even with Futuba we have been having glitches.
sorry for my ignorance but whats a "FL"?
wedoitall is offline Find More Posts by wedoitall
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product 3DHS 41" Edge "$99 Buck Huck" Ducati Mechanic 3D Flying 17299 Mar 27, 2012 03:37 PM
Sold 3dhs 41' edge buck huck bnf JBuck Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 7 Jul 02, 2011 06:58 AM
Sold 3DHS 41" EDGE - ORANGE - 99 Buck Huck 6L6Amp Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 14 Aug 22, 2010 07:45 PM