HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 28, 2011, 09:57 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2010
52 Posts
Help!
Turnigy Strips on 4s-Quad

Hey Guys,
i am adding a few turnigy LED-Strips to my Quad, which runs on 4s.

What are my best bets? Using a Balance Plug just plugged into 3 of the 4 cells (if so, will i have to risk ages-long balancing after every flight because one cell is loaded more? )
or is there any other way to do it?

Regards
daniel
theslayer666 is offline Find More Posts by theslayer666
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 28, 2011, 11:59 AM
Registered User
meshyx's Avatar
Norway
Joined Feb 2010
602 Posts
The strips take so little power that I doubt your balancing would take noticeably longer. A full strip with 60 lights takes 0.4A. I'm sure your motors use 100 times that
meshyx is offline Find More Posts by meshyx
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2011, 07:04 PM
RCPlaye
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined Aug 2009
711 Posts
You could just use a 12 volt regulator so that you don't screw up the balance of your lipo
CoolBudz is offline Find More Posts by CoolBudz
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2011, 09:14 PM
Jay Bird
jshall755's Avatar
Ohio
Joined Dec 2004
127 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbudz223 View Post
You could just use a 12 volt regulator so that you don't screw up the balance of your lipo
That would be my recommendation as well. Here are a couple of posts I made about the 12v linear regulator I used for the LEDs on my Phantom.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=639
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=644

Jay
jshall755 is offline Find More Posts by jshall755
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2011, 10:10 AM
AMA 964040
MAP123's Avatar
USA, MA, Worcester
Joined Oct 2008
220 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jshall755 View Post
That would be my recommendation as well. Here are a couple of posts I made about the 12v linear regulator I used for the LEDs on my Phantom.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=639
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=644

Jay
Just be aware that the regulator that was linked to in the post above is for only 1 amp, so if you have multiple strips you may need to run more than one of those regulators. I have about 3 1/2 strips on my night flyer, and the lights alone draw a little over 2 amps. You could just wire each strip to one of those regulators, just to be safe.
MAP123 is offline Find More Posts by MAP123
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Turnigy LED Strips.. wiring questions 0o0o0 Night Flying 6 Jun 14, 2011 11:51 PM
Sold Turnigy LED light strips Sonex128 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 3 May 11, 2011 03:02 PM
Discussion Turnigy 2835 280S 2200kv on 4S SARCFAN Racing Boats - Electric 0 Mar 07, 2011 03:00 AM
Sold Turnigy 3600mah 4s 30c & GForce 3300mah 4s 30c Sammy70 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 2 Mar 04, 2011 07:39 AM
Discussion Turnigy Vbar 600 on a quad or a tri? outsider787 Multirotor Talk 6 Feb 23, 2011 01:39 PM