HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:25 PM
low tech high tech
vtdiy's Avatar
Southern Vermont
Joined Feb 2007
2,762 Posts
Did you match the antenna length exactly (31 mm) ?

For help you also need to specify exactly what Tx, RX, and and TX module you have.

And what switch positions you have.
vtdiy is offline Find More Posts by vtdiy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 17, 2012, 09:29 PM
No place like cloud base......
SuperBarlow's Avatar
United States, VT
Joined Aug 2012
401 Posts
I got exactly the same length

TX- Turnigy 9X

RX- 3Ch with brushed esc and 2 linear actuators

TX Module- JR module

Switch positions- All off
SuperBarlow is offline Find More Posts by SuperBarlow
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 09:39 PM
low tech high tech
vtdiy's Avatar
Southern Vermont
Joined Feb 2007
2,762 Posts
Sorry, I don't know about using this system with the Turnigy 9x -- maybe someone else does.
vtdiy is offline Find More Posts by vtdiy
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 10:57 PM
"Unnecessary Necessity"
coriolan's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Sep 2006
5,601 Posts
The manual for the Tx module and Rx are a bit difficult to understand!
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...82X7478X31.pdf
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...82X7478X42.pdf
Few peoples are using the actuator Rx but it seems to be less troublesome than the brick, the switches position on the module have to be set differently for binding and use but the manual isn't very clear about what to do. Do you have nothing at all (esc/actuators)or is the problem only with binding?
coriolan is offline Find More Posts by coriolan
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 08:13 AM
No place like cloud base......
SuperBarlow's Avatar
United States, VT
Joined Aug 2012
401 Posts
My problem is that yes, it won't bind.
SuperBarlow is offline Find More Posts by SuperBarlow
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 08:29 AM
low tech high tech
vtdiy's Avatar
Southern Vermont
Joined Feb 2007
2,762 Posts
I don't see anything in the manual that says this system will work with a Turnigy 9x Transmitter. It isn't one of the listed brands. If someone here has managed to make them work with it, then perhaps they can advise how they did it.

But assuming it can, I have found that if the Tx is too close to the receiver it can fail to bind. So I keep them apart while binding.

Also make sure that where you soldered the new antenna is exactly where the old one was and that you have a good solder joint. Also make sure that you don't have a solder bridge to another pad. A digital photo or scan of the solder area, enlarged on a computer screen, often shows what the naked eye can't see.

To bind, I believe, switches must be set properly for your transmitter, then turn on receiver, wait until it does a skip blink pattern after it has done a regular blink pattern for a short time.

Then turn on the module in bind mode (bind button pressed) and watch the module LED it will turn off then on again, and you should release the bind button and let the two communicate until bound.
vtdiy is offline Find More Posts by vtdiy
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 12:15 PM
No place like cloud base......
SuperBarlow's Avatar
United States, VT
Joined Aug 2012
401 Posts
Of course, when I go to try to bind it with the RX and TX further apart, the batteries in the TX are dead...

Ill make another post when I have new batteries.

Thanks!

SuperBarlow
SuperBarlow is offline Find More Posts by SuperBarlow
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 08:02 AM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Deagon
Joined Oct 2011
53 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtdiy View Post
Sorry, I don't know about using this system with the Turnigy 9x -- maybe someone else does.
You could hack a radio module to the old 9x, but now HK sell a 9x sans module, (and sans need to cut&solder stuff) which takes S'micro module, or Orange module, et al.... almost plug'n'play
omnivorr is offline Find More Posts by omnivorr
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 06:06 PM
No place like cloud base......
SuperBarlow's Avatar
United States, VT
Joined Aug 2012
401 Posts
GRRRR!
Nothing! It just sits there, blinking!

What else is there to do other than buy another?
SuperBarlow is offline Find More Posts by SuperBarlow
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 06:07 PM
No place like cloud base......
SuperBarlow's Avatar
United States, VT
Joined Aug 2012
401 Posts
If I were to get another, which is the least troublesome?
SuperBarlow is offline Find More Posts by SuperBarlow
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 12:50 AM
Scratch building addict
rotagen's Avatar
United States, CA, Felton
Joined Jan 2005
654 Posts
Would be cool if someone would start a thread of planes people have built for this rig.
rotagen is offline Find More Posts by rotagen
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:01 PM
low tech high tech
vtdiy's Avatar
Southern Vermont
Joined Feb 2007
2,762 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperBarlow View Post
GRRRR!
Nothing! It just sits there, blinking!

What else is there to do other than buy another?
Can you be more precise?

If you leave the transmitter off and just turn on the receiver, does it do a straight on-off blink pattern at first, then change to a skip blink pattern?

If you then turn on the transmitter and watch the blink pattern on the TX module is it a regular on-off?

And then if you press the bind button on the TX module and hold, does the TX module change its blink pattern?

If so, when you release the bind button does your receiver now bind?
vtdiy is offline Find More Posts by vtdiy
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 02:57 PM
No place like cloud base......
SuperBarlow's Avatar
United States, VT
Joined Aug 2012
401 Posts
The receiver does a blink blink pattern for a few seconds, and then moves to a blink blink skip pattern, which it does no matter what I do with the transmitter (off, on, bind button held, module in bind mode etc.)

When I turn the transmitter and module on, the module does a blink on blink off pattern in red, till it press and hold the bind button. Then, the module led turns orange, then green, then orange and then original blinking red till I let go of the bind button and it turns to a fast blinking red.

I have tried letting go of and pressing the bind button in all stages of this.

Hope that makes sense.
SuperBarlow is offline Find More Posts by SuperBarlow
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 02:58 PM
No place like cloud base......
SuperBarlow's Avatar
United States, VT
Joined Aug 2012
401 Posts
I've given up and just got a DX6i- shouldn't have trouble now
SuperBarlow is offline Find More Posts by SuperBarlow
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 06:17 PM
How do I land this thing?
fathergoat's Avatar
United States, IN, Warsaw
Joined Feb 2012
217 Posts
I can't seem to get mine to bind. I've tried several different methods and get the same result at best. Basically it goes into bind mode, I press the bind button, light goes solid for a second and then back to bind mode. I'm either missing a step or this thing is broke.

MVI 0281 (0 min 9 sec)
fathergoat is offline Find More Posts by fathergoat
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product New: HobbyKing HK6DF 2.4Ghz FHSS 6Ch Tx j10fighter Radios 3 Feb 28, 2012 12:42 PM
Discussion hobbyking 2.4ghz hks3000 rudy999 Racing Boats - Electric 10 Mar 24, 2011 10:28 AM
Sold Hobbyking T6A 2.4ghz 6ch Radio System with extras whitty7628 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Sep 29, 2009 08:16 PM
Mini-Review Big test, Hobbyking(flysky) 2,4ghz system. sebbe Radios 5 Sep 13, 2009 05:02 AM
Discussion First Impressions using the HobbyKing 2.4Ghz 6Ch System Desert Hawk Radios 5 Sep 10, 2009 10:32 AM