SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 24, 2011, 09:31 PM
Expat
Japan
Joined Apr 2010
3,024 Posts
Discussion
Trying to get back into FPV - couple of questions

Hi all
I took a break from FPV since crashing into someones house last year.
Now, I have a new Lawmate 2.4 500mw VTX and a GoPro Hero.
I've hooked up the Lawmate to a cheap HK camera for testing. I tested all teh components separately using the included RCA jacks etc. and everything seems to work great. After soldering together and using servo plugs, I'm not getting a discernible picture. Also, the VTX only gets slightly warm, as opposed to hot when it tested OK.
I had to solder in 2 places. I also added servo wire for extension. The rest is factory wire joints, such as the JST and Y split. I'm using the included 12v->5v regulator for the Lawmate. I just used the sheath ground on the power wire from the regulator, and not the sheath ground around teh video out. The entire length from cam to VTX is about 130cm.
White, red, black VTX wires to corresponding cam wires.


Is teh problem the cheap solder gun/solder I used? Or the length of the wires? Or???

Thanks
TheNiceGuy is offline Find More Posts by TheNiceGuy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 24, 2011, 09:39 PM
T#0
PilotKeeg's Avatar
Steamboat Springs, CO
Joined Aug 2010
623 Posts
Your problem shouldn't be in the wire length, I would re-solder the connections and test the voltage coming out of the regulator.
PilotKeeg is offline Find More Posts by PilotKeeg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2011, 09:43 PM
Expat
Japan
Joined Apr 2010
3,024 Posts
Thanks. I don't have a voltage tester. The wires coming out of the regulator were awful small, not much to solder.
TheNiceGuy is offline Find More Posts by TheNiceGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2011, 09:52 PM
T#0
PilotKeeg's Avatar
Steamboat Springs, CO
Joined Aug 2010
623 Posts
One of the most critical pieces of my FPV equipment is my voltmeter, I would go out and get one first thing, they save you from having an "oh s***" moment when you find out that a bat didn't have juice
PilotKeeg is offline Find More Posts by PilotKeeg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2011, 10:07 PM
complet beginer
canada
Joined Aug 2010
67 Posts
the situation might be improved by just redusing the wire lenght. but i have my douts that is the sole reason for the problem. or if you need that wire lenght or something, i would recomed a digital camra, dosent look like it is a digital camra.
yolomojo is offline Find More Posts by yolomojo
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2011, 10:10 PM
T#0
PilotKeeg's Avatar
Steamboat Springs, CO
Joined Aug 2010
623 Posts
it definitely not the wire length that is the problem, I use 3ft of extensions for mounting the vtx on my wing without any problems.

Also, there is no try, only do, or do not
PilotKeeg is offline Find More Posts by PilotKeeg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 02:29 PM
Expat
Japan
Joined Apr 2010
3,024 Posts
Is this what you're talking about?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=10786

Or this?
http://cgi.ebay.com/New-LCD-Digital-...item4cf0f6ab33
TheNiceGuy is offline Find More Posts by TheNiceGuy
Last edited by TheNiceGuy; Jun 25, 2011 at 02:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 03:36 PM
T#0
PilotKeeg's Avatar
Steamboat Springs, CO
Joined Aug 2010
623 Posts
I have one similar to the one you found on ebay
PilotKeeg is offline Find More Posts by PilotKeeg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 03:46 PM
Expat
Japan
Joined Apr 2010
3,024 Posts
Do ones that cheap work OK?
TheNiceGuy is offline Find More Posts by TheNiceGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 03:59 PM
T#0
PilotKeeg's Avatar
Steamboat Springs, CO
Joined Aug 2010
623 Posts
Dont know probably
PilotKeeg is offline Find More Posts by PilotKeeg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 04:13 PM
Expat
Japan
Joined Apr 2010
3,024 Posts
OK, thanks.
If my hunch is correct that the problem is the solder at the power line from the regulator, how can I fix it? I did the best solder possible with my gear. There are just a few tiny thin wires to be soldered onto the servo plug line. I don't know how to solder it any better.
TheNiceGuy is offline Find More Posts by TheNiceGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 06:02 PM
making big holes in the sky..
Scandinavia
Joined Aug 2009
314 Posts
Do NOT USE THE REGULATOR FROM LAWMATE.....
I have burned 2 (I think) vTX 500 on this lousy things. Rangevideo has a warning on there site, and I have tried to get Hobbywireless to do the same...

Use a umbec insted, I have tried a few and this is the best I have found so far
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=16663

It filtering out motornoice as vel so you dont need a exrta filter if you run you FPV-plane on one battery...

If you burned your vTX and you bougth it at Hobbywireless, ask for a replasement. I did and they sent me one for free... I love the guys at Hobbywireless, they have given me SO mush good service...
bajas is offline Find More Posts by bajas
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 11:07 PM
Expat
Japan
Joined Apr 2010
3,024 Posts
Thanks very much!
I bought my LMfrom ReadyMadeRC. HK is out of stock on that (as usual), but RMRC has these 2:
http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=124
http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=337
Either one should work, yes? I think the only difference is 5A vs 3A and weight?
TheNiceGuy is offline Find More Posts by TheNiceGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2011, 02:53 AM
Expat
Japan
Joined Apr 2010
3,024 Posts
Final question here thanks -
IIUC, To get the system working I need this between my lipo and VTX:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=15212
And then this between the lipo and everything:
http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=138
Is this correct?
TheNiceGuy is offline Find More Posts by TheNiceGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2011, 04:12 AM
making big holes in the sky..
Scandinavia
Joined Aug 2009
314 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheNiceGuy View Post
Final question here thanks -
IIUC, To get the system working I need this between my lipo and VTX:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=15212
And then this between the lipo and everything:
http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=138
Is this correct?
Hi
In most cases you need a L-C filter between your lipo (for motor and vTX), but the HK ubec http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=15212
filters in it self. so then its no need for a L-C filter..
bajas is offline Find More Posts by bajas
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Newbie trying to get into FPV. monthos FPV Talk 6 Mar 21, 2010 02:38 PM
Discussion Help! Trying to get back into the hobby rcflyer23 Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 6 Dec 13, 2009 02:40 PM
Help! trying to get into fpv ROCKY2 FPV Talk 26 Nov 25, 2009 01:05 AM
Discussion Trying to get into Heli's and got a few questions! crazychambers Beginner Training Area (Heli-Electric) 18 Jun 03, 2009 01:01 AM
Discussion Trying to get back into the heli hobby, opinions on what bird wanted Sky_Dancer Mini Helis 2 Jul 26, 2008 05:15 PM